We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quirky place to stay with great breakfasts”
Review of La Boulangerie

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Rouen
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
La Boulangerie
Ranked #2 of 28 Rouen B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Cheshire
Level 6 Contributor
156 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
“Quirky place to stay with great breakfasts”
Reviewed September 12, 2013

Aminata is a friendly and very welcoming host at this small bed and breakfast.

La Boulangerie is approximately 20 minutes’ walk from Rouen train station, there is a Metro stop about 250m away but we did not use the Metro so cannot really comment. The route from the main train station is straight and in parts the pavement is narrow and there are cobblestone roads along the way – something to keep in mind if you are pulling heavy luggage.

The rooms are located up a steep narrow spiral staircase with a hand rail along one side. Aminata is obviously used to guests struggling to carry luggage up and down these stairs and was very quick to help.

Our room was located on the top floor and was airy, light and had dual aspect windows looking out onto two streets that run alongside the property. In one corner of the room there was a bath with shower over and a sink, this is tastefully partitioned from the rest of the room by thin voile curtains. The en suite toilet is in a separate room adjoining the bedroom. The room is decorated in light blue/greens and cream colours and contains a mix of new and antique furniture along with a flat screen television, tea & coffee tray and bottles of hand/bath soap.

The area the bed and breakfast is located in is quiet and residential, the quickest route to the city centre is to shortcut through the gardens (Jardin de l’Hotel-de-Ville) alongside the town hall which lead down to Monastery of Saint-Ouen (which for reference is closed to visitors on Fridays) this takes around 5 minutes and slowly slopes downhill, from there a further 5 minute walk will take you to Rouen Cathedral.

Breakfast was fresh and filling, strong coffee (or your choice of hot drink), orange juice, toasted and untoasted baguette along with a selection of preserves and croissants or pain au chocolat. The produce is clearly of excellent quality and is without doubt the best we've ever had touring France. It is served in the Boulangerie on the ground floor which seats up to six people.

The wall leading from the Boulangerie to the guests entrance/exit is filled with white tiles most of which have been decorated with pictures or messages of thanks by previous guests.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TeaRoseBakery
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

223 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    175
    39
    7
    1
    1
See reviews for
45
119
10
16
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed September 9, 2013

The room is simple but everything you need, and the bed is comfy. The B&B is located in an easy to find part of Rouen, 20 mins stroll to the river and within walking distance of lots of restaurants. The host is wonderful, welcoming and helpful. The breakfasts are lovely and the best pain au chocolat I have eaten (of course, the B&B is part of a boulangerie!). Great for an overnight stay on route to another destination.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lozrod
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed August 29, 2013

the location is really nice, close to the city centre but not noisy. there was a great guide to resturants and they gave us some good tips about things to do. we had a nice breakfast in their kitchen which was very nicely decorated, whats more when patrick left his toy elephant behind it was posted home to us (see pic) what lovely hosts.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank annpannn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southend-on-Sea, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 22, 2013

We stayed as a stop-over enroute to the Vendee region in mid July and then 2 weeks later in early August. Delighted to have discovered a B&B in central Rouen that was so welcoming to families and we would definitely stay here again. It is a quirky narrow house with a steep staircase but the rooms were spacious. The children loved the idea of a bathtub in the bedroom behind voile curtains and were thrilled with the lollipops that awaited them on arrival. Aminata was an excellent hostess, organised parking for us and provided a map of the city centre. A great location but just a warning that the streets of Rouen are tricky to drive down with a large care loaded with bikes!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KKY2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level 6 Contributor
240 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 156 helpful votes
Reviewed August 21, 2013

My husband and I had a great stay here. We were warmly greeted and shown to our room, which was very spacious and clean. We had the room Patte d'ours, which had a very comfortable bed, shower, sink, and private bathroom (which you can't see in the pictures but is there, in a separate closet-type room with a door). Breakfast the next morning was great. We sat in the charming front window and felt like we were having a little tea party. The food options were croissants, bread with jams, and yogurt. The location isn't the best if you like to be in the action, but it's an easy walk to the main tourist area of town. We walked back in the dark and, while we didn't have any incidents, I wasn't sure if we were completely safe. There was not a single other person around, and I always feel better being around crowds while walking around at night.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lov_2_travel_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 19, 2013

We stayed as a family of four on 7th Aug and loved it. Aminata is enthusiastic, friendly and lovely. The rooms (we had 2 which are almost like a little flat) were spacious, attractive and personal. The breakfast was great. Excellent attention to detail. Would recommend highly, especially if you are looking for a break from bland, corporate hotels!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank laura r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ballarat, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed August 12, 2013

My wife and I spent 3 nights in this quaint B&B at the end of July. Located in a residential area a short 10-15 minute walk from the centre of town and also the railway station, this place has loads of character and quirky charm, not the least being the fact that it doubles as a boulanger's shop in the mornings.

Negotiating the steep and winding stairs to our room under the roof might prove challenging for some, but we managed rather well. The room was quiet, comfortable and well presented with atmospheric views of the surrounding roof tops and narrow streets. The breakfasts were typically French with, as you would expect, an excellent choice of breads. The coffee was also excellent. A particular highlight for us was our charming host Aminata who provided great service and helpful advice. She just would not give in when I tried to insist in carrying our heavy cases up the stairs!

I note that some previous viewers have mentioned the walk through the gardens into town. if this is a problem I would recommend taking the Metro Tram that stops a short 3-4 minute walk away from this accommodation. We used it several times coming home at night and also to reach the Botanical Gardens on the other side of Rouen.

I would have no hesitation in recommending La Boulangerie to anyone wishing to stay in a place with charm and character in a quiet location but still close to town.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank clovis_dm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rouen hotels
0.7 mi away
Hotel de Bourgtheroulde, Autograph Collection
0.4 mi away
Mercure Rouen Centre Cathedrale Hotel
1.3 mi away
Novotel Suites Rouen Normandie
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Ibis Rouen Champ De Mars
0.4 mi away
Hotel Morand
Hotel Morand
#18 of 51 in Rouen
305 reviews
0.6 mi away
Mercure Rouen Champ de Mars Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Boulangerie? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Boulangerie

Property: La Boulangerie
Address: 59 rue Saint Nicaise, 76000, Rouen, France
Location: France > Normandy > Haute-Normandie > Seine-Maritime > Rouen
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 28 B&Bs / Inns in Rouen
Number of rooms: 4

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing