We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just across the street from the marina”
Review of La Voile Bleue

La Voile Bleue
Ranked #10 of 371 Restaurants in Le Havre
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $19 - $29
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Basingstoke, England, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Just across the street from the marina”
Reviewed September 2, 2013

Great very friendly and helpful staff. Food was great and the staff very attentive. Great atmosphere.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank John R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

466 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    287
    123
    27
    17
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Normandy, France
Level 6 Contributor
368 reviews
171 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 202 helpful votes
“Very pleasant experience, good food, excellent service”
Reviewed August 31, 2013 via mobile

The restaurant is pretty small, and thereby active and pleasant (and a bit noisy). The atmosphere is fun and very relaxed thanks to the female owner, who has time for a kind word with everyone.

The place looks like a home away from home, which it is for many regulars.

The food is good, in very kind proportions, and very warm. Service is excellent, and the staff go out of their way to answer any special requests you may have.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Dutch-Mikey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Trip advisor rating fully justified”
Reviewed August 23, 2013

We went to France on a short bargain break with Brittany Ferries' Fast Cat from Portsmouth and as we would arrive at lunchtime, we wanted somewhere good to eat that wasn't difficult to find. This is the beauty of searching for a place on Trip Advisor, so that valuable time isn't wasted walking about aimlessly looking for somewhere. We set the Sat Nav, disembarked the ferry and within a few minutes we found a parking space right in front of the restaurant and we were early enough at midday to get a nice table outside. The sun was shining in a clear blue sky and the ambiance of the restaurant's position on the sea front across from the yacht marina, boded well for a good start to our short trip.

When we had eaten a lovely meal, with the attentive service of the vivacious and helpful lady patron, there really couldn't have been any better beginning. My wife loves fresh seafood and had a wonderful dish piled high with crab, oysters, prawns and whelks, which she declared the best she had eaten in some time. I had a great salad of green leaves, peppers, tomatoes, with avocado, prawns, local ham, smoked duck? and a tasty dressing. My mother had the delicious fish soup and our two children were very happy with what looked like homemade chicken nuggets avec frites. Their children's menu included ice cream and a soft drink. A carafe of house red and great coffee to finish left we adults feeling very mellow and contented.

This is a simple restaurant without pretensions. The food is selected from a menu chalked onto a blackboard, the outside one set like an easel and rather amusingly carried table to table. The lady patron has such a happy, smiling and obliging personality that this combined with the delicious freshly prepared food using local ingredients, makes for a memorable dining experience.

The next time we find ourselves in Le Havre, we will definitely eat there again.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Sotonian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Magnifique, miss it at your peril”
Reviewed August 18, 2013 via mobile

Welcomed by the the vibrant patron Muriel and then La Voile Bleau just got better. Food brilliant, and yes the Gambas are that good. Two excellent steaks for Chloe and Katie which were devoured out of sight, whilst the oldies had the Gambas. Didn't do the desserts as we had no room left because we indulges in starters. A plate of smoked salmon arrived that could have been used as a starter for the whole table. Major word of warning, make sure that you reserve a table to avoid disappointment. The food is that good!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Shamrock107
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belgium
Level 6 Contributor
128 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
“You have to eat here when you visit Le Havre”
Reviewed August 13, 2013

The hostess is so vibrant and loud, you van not do anything else then enjoy.
Only take an starter when you are a very big eater. a very very big eater.
I took the salmon on toast, it was one of the greatest salmons I ever tasted.
My hubby took the fish platter and couldn't finish it and he can eat like I have never seen before.
It's al very fresh and the atmosphere is brilliant.
If you get you check, you are stunned of the low amount you have to pay.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Chantal H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Voile Bleue also viewed

Le Havre, Seine-Maritime
Le Havre, Seine-Maritime
 
Le Havre, Seine-Maritime
Le Havre, Seine-Maritime
 
Le Havre, Seine-Maritime
Le Havre, Seine-Maritime
 

Been to La Voile Bleue? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing