We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice, modern convenient hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Novotel Le Havre Centre Gare
Ranked #7 of 33 Hotels in Le Havre
GreenLeadersSilver level
California
Level 5 Contributor
95 reviews
82 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 129 helpful votes
“Nice, modern convenient hotel”
Reviewed September 18, 2010

As expected with the novotel chain, this hotel was both modern and clean. The location was great if you needed to be near the train station in le havre. This hotel was literally across the street (i.e. you can see the hotel from the exit) and only need to cross one road of traffic to get to the hotel.

Rooms were nice, modern, and spacious with beautiful bathrooms, well appointed rooms. There was plenty of space, a small TV, computer desk, closet, etc. Free wifi was included in the room rate. Breakfast was not included but we did not try. The hotel also had a nice restaurant only open on weekdays, nothing on weekends. There was a xbox station for kids and also an imac for those who did not bring a computer able to access the internet at 20 min. intervals, you can relogin if no one is around.

We did not try the hotel food, but it appeared reasonable and not expensive. Near the hotel across a small pedestrian walkway and bridge was a new shopping complex which had bunch of shoppes and restaurants.

There a number of bus lines from train station to take you to the interesting
parts of le havre particularly if you are here for a short stay. If you are looking for a nice, clean, modern and convenient hotel to the train station. this is the place to stay.

we used this as a base to explore honfluer and etretat. i would suggest renting a car if you were to do this as we used buses and the infrequent schedule made these trips into full day escapades as the buses would only run a few times a day between the locations. there should be local car hire places nearby.

Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Trekkersocal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

622 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    141
    313
    119
    36
    13
See reviews for
219
155
29
161
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Leverkusen, Germany
2 reviews
Reviewed September 8, 2010

The hotel is really modern and nice. The rooms are clean and with a small balcony. We had a direct view on the Docks. Breakfast is good. Personal is very helpful. The walking distance to the city is approx 10 min. The Docks (shopping center) is just 2 mins away. They offer a cheap parking ticket (4 Eur/day). Free WLAN is available. Our group (2 rooms) can really recommend the hotel as the price performance ratio is very good.

  • Stayed August 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Schuljunge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Level 6 Contributor
159 reviews
156 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 222 helpful votes
Reviewed September 8, 2010

Very nice building just off the train and bus station, facing the Bassin Vauban and some industrial construction converted into an interesting shopping mall.
We had a suite with large floor to ceiling windows and a small balcony with great views. Mattress and pillows all very comfortable.
However, the room was not clean - it typically looked like this room had not been occupied for months as it was very dusty. Furniture was damaged and room was in need of fresh paint and new carpet. There were 2 very small flat screens TV that did not work well. There was a Nespresso machine in the room but no tea facilities.
We visited this hotel 5 years ago and were a bit disappointed this time. Still, I would recommend this hotel for its great location.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Supermercado
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
amsterdam
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed May 21, 2010

Having young children we are regular visitors to Accor Hotels, and Novotels in particular. We stayed here for one night on our way through to Brittany.

This one is just what you'd expect from a Novotel. It's in a good location, it's clean, the staff are effective at what they do. The rooms have the usual things that a chain like Novotel offer over some of the smaller French hotels - in-room safe, tea / coffee facilities, wi-fi access, kids play areas etc. Parking is a little hassle in that it's in the public car park but it's only a few minutes walk down the road from the hotel and not expensive if you buy the card from the front desk.

I would have no problem recommending the hotel to anyone coming through Le Havre. It's not a town you'd spend much time in as has been said by other reviewers. The hotel is however solid and reliable in terms of what you'd expect from a Novotel if not spectacular. It's very good if you have kids with you as well.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mb5Ams
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
atlanta Ga
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed January 31, 2007

My travel agency made a reservation for me at Novotel on january 12, 2007, the same day my travel agency called them to cancel my reservation, 3 days in advance because I was supossed to check in the 15th, they gave a cancellation number to the travel agent, everything seemed to be ok.

2 weeks later I found out that they charged my credit card with THE WHOLE STAY, I dont even know where the hotel is and I have a cancellation number and they told the travel agent yesterday that the hotel policy is not give refunds.

So, be carefull because I am still fighting to get the transaction void, its over 1000 dollars.

regards.

  • Stayed January 2007
    • Value
Helpful?
6 Thank watcher123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England & France
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed January 26, 2007

I booked this hotel directly on the Novotel website. I thought it was quite expensive, but based on the reviews of this website, I thought I'd pay a bit more to be sure to have a decent hotel.

The hotel was fine, no problem at all. Room was a decent size and spotless, service was good, food was not excellent but very decent and not too overpriced, and the location is perfect for the train station, the ferry terminal and the city centre.

The hotel is in the shape of a triangle, with a hole in the middle, so all rooms have got views with panoramic bay windows and balconies. Not that there's much of a nice view, but it's still nice because it provides fresh air and a lot of light.

There's about 15 free TV channels, of which most are French (including Cine Cinema 1, a movie channel) - but there's also an Italian channel, a German channel (RTL) and an English channel (Sky News). Bed was comfortable but beware of the expensive mini-bar.

There's a bar by reception which also serves food, and a proper restaurant round the other side of the ground floor. On the first floor there's a "gym", which actually only consists of an empty hotel room with weights, a rowing machine and a bike.

Apart from that, the only thing worth mentioning is the parking. You can park in three different places:

1- On the public car park in front of the hotel (along the docks), which is free at weekends only. However, the hotel staff themselves do not recommend this as there have been damaged cars there on several occasions. So it is to avoid.

2- On the hotel's car park at the side of the hotel. It only consists of a row of a few spaces, so may be full during the summer period. It is fully exposed, but is more secure being so close to the hotel. The price of this one is 2 Euros per night.

3- In a secure public underground car park situated behind the hotel. This is the best place to park if you're worried about your car, as it's fitted with security cameras etc. However note that it is closed on Sundays. This one costs 3 Euros per 24hrs.

So whatever you do, I would recommend to pay for your parking just so it's secure. If you go to Le Havre it'll rarely be to visit the town itself anyway, but more as a one night stop to go somewhere else, so paying 2 or 3 Euros for one night's parking and a bit more for a decent hotel like this is worth it.

Remember: it's a good hotel, but it's Le Havre, so don't make a holiday out of it and don't expect luxury either. Although this seems to be the best hotel in Le Havre, I wouldn't go back again unless I have to stay in this particular town. If I am to drive through this region again, I will pick a cheaper hotel in one of the many nicer little towns along the Normandy coast...

  • Liked — The nice, big, clean and comfortable bedroom and the breakfast
  • Disliked — The lack of free secure parking and the fact that it's in Le Havre
  • Stayed January 2007, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
11 Thank MichaelArchangel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hutchinson, Kansas
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
Reviewed December 29, 2006

Stayed here for a week on a business trip. The staff was wonderful at giving directions and recommendations. The location was great and had good parking. The rooms were comfortable in size, very clean and there was a nice little teapot and tea in the rooms. Zero complaints whatsoever. Good value, too.

  • Liked — Friendly desk staff and tea in rooms.
  • Disliked — The provided toiletries were not the best.
  • Tips/Secrets — Bring your own shampoo if you are picky.
  • Stayed April 2006, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank annchgo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Le Havre hotels
0.3 mi away
Ibis Le Havre Centre
Ibis Le Havre Centre
#4 of 33 in Le Havre
192 reviews
0.1 mi away
Nomad Hotel le Havre
Nomad Hotel le Havre
#2 of 33 in Le Havre
362 reviews
0.4 mi away
Mercure Le Havre Centre Bassin du Commerce
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Hotel Pasino
Hotel Pasino
#6 of 33 in Le Havre
342 reviews
0.3 mi away
Kyriad Le Havre Centre
Kyriad Le Havre Centre
#11 of 33 in Le Havre
302 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel Carmin
Hotel Carmin
#1 of 33 in Le Havre
340 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Novotel Le Havre Centre Gare? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Novotel Le Havre Centre Gare

Property: Novotel Le Havre Centre Gare
Address: 20 cours la Fayette | Quai Colbert, 76600, Le Havre, France
Location: France > Normandy > Haute-Normandie > Seine-Maritime > Le Havre
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Le Havre
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Le Havre
#3 Business Hotel in Le Havre
#3 Luxury Hotel in Le Havre
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Novotel Le Havre Centre Gare 4*
Number of rooms: 134
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Novotel Le Havre Centre Gare is a hotel close to the city centre, a UNESCO World Heritage site, near the train station and the Vauban Docks. The hotel offers 134 modern spacious rooms, a restaurant serving modern cuisine and five conference rooms for your meetings and seminars. This hotel is well situated for a business trip or for holidays in Le Havre with your family. Guests also have access to two public car parks and a Wellness centre (Fitness, hammam, sauna, jacuzzi). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, ACCOR, Expedia, Travelocity, Cancelon, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Novotel Le Havre Centre Gare reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Novotel Le Havre
Le Havre Novotel
Accor Le Havre

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing