We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wait until spa reopens - a bit of a disappointment”
Review of Hotel Vent d'Ouest

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Vent d'Ouest
Ranked #5 of 33 Hotels in Le Havre
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 13, 2013

We were disappointed during our recent 2 night stay due to the fact that the spa is still being refurbished. Grading would have been higher if we could have tried that out. Staff were friendly and hotel was clean and comfortable despite the other renovation works. We didn't eat there so cannot comment on that. Some small negatives: TV had only one English language channel and that a rather limited European station; Wifi worked near the door of the room but not at the desk; Tea and coffee were not replenished after 1st day; only Earl Grey tea; no milk; only 4 coat hangers - OK for a couple of night but not for a longer stay with more clothes. All in all a bit of a disappointment and rather pricey.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Edward H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (248)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

21 - 27 of 248 reviews

Reviewed May 29, 2013

Centrally located, this nautically-themed hotel was just right for my 2 day stay. Management apology for any noise from the large-scale renovations/building of a spa were rather worrying, but in fact I never heard a thing. Liked the decor - good sized room and very generous bathroom.
Excellent breakfast and very helpful and kind staff. Only carp would be thin, undersized towels, and very tatty carpet on stairs, but I expect this latter will be remedied when the building works are finished, as everything else was neat and smart. Handy for the mouthwatering market in Les Halles, beach, port and very good restaurants etc.

Room Tip: My "Admiral" room looked out over St Joseph's - a post-war, soaring, amazing buildin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Suzie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 24, 2013

A nice surprise, very nice hotel with design, nice room, only the bathroom was a bit small, room 304. Staff very friendly, room service was good. Breakfast buffet very good with all you need and fresh orange juice! Only missing a good italian coffee! Free wifi with good connection.

Room Tip: There is no elevator.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tiger2669
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 10, 2013

Having read the superb reviews on TripAdvisor, we booked a room for two (and our dog!) here and at every turn, we were pleased. From the initial contact on the phone and subsequent confirming emails prior to arrival, the staff was extremely courteous and helpful and quite patient with my French (although i imagine they all speak English fluently). Upon arrival, everything was as promised and the room was charming and impeccably clean. The bed was excellent, the linens lovely. Flat screen TV with wide selection of channels and a feature we loved, a mecanized roll-down metal shutter over the window that made late sleeping a breeze. Great attention to detail that gave a sense of well-being to our time at the hotel. We requested and promptly received an extra down comforter for our bed.

The all you can eat Breakfast the next morning was also superb. Croissants, pain chocolat, delicious breads, fresh squeezed OJ to die for, meats, fresh fruit etc. (Breakfast, i believe is 12 Euro each).

In sum, it was a great experience and I encourage anyone who is looking for a clean, lovely, welcoming hotel to try this one. They are in the process of constructing a spa on the premises. Which reminds me that there is construction going on -- we were spared thanks to being there on a holiday but if you're going, do inquire as to the effect that will have on your stay. Also, something we encountered which we never had before (I don't think this happens in the U.S. or not often at least) is that after a certain hour (perhaps 11:00 PM), the front desk closes and entry into the hotel is by code. I am not sure if there are provisions made for an emergency contact but I would imagine there must be. Still, worth checking perhaps.

Room Tip: There is also construction in process as to the elevator, so check your floor location if the steps...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank anita z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 18, 2012

We found this charming hotel while looking for a place to celebrate our wedding...
Everything was excellent! we booked the Admiral room, and 8 other standard rooms for our guests. It was the first time the hotel organises a wedding in their premises, and we felt so lucky to be the first!

The rooms are extremely charming, well decorated, and the personnel is just fabulous and very attentive to the guests. A huge change from the grumpy faces in Paris.

The lunch was amazing, and the cuisine very refined.The hotel is located a few hundred meters from the see, and just 5 min by taxi from the main train station. It's a 5 min walk from the city center.

No need to mention how immaculately clean it was, and how warm you feel inside. It was a great choice for us to spend 3 nights there, before and after our wedding in Le Havre. You simply cannot do better in the city. If you are looking for warmth, it's the place.

Room Tip: In addition to the rooms, they have appartment studios for rent. Too bad they were all taken when we...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MC_Feghali
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 14, 2012

Booked this hotel after reading good reviews about it on trip advisor and we were not dissappointed! We arrived ath the hotel at 8.00am after our ferry and on the off chance of a early check in arrived at the hotel which to our delight was not a problem we were given the keys to our room. The room was lovely with a nuatical theme through the hotel. Weather was good so the balcony was an added bonus. Breakfast which was included in the rate was great with a large selection. Stayed an extra night because we liked the hotel so much! Also the hotel offer free passes to an outdoor pool olny a few minutes away which was great as it was reallt hot during our stay. Cant wait to go back!

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank happyt24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 14, 2012

This lovely small hotel was personable for a short stay with a comfortable room for two and had a good breakfast( Cafe au Lait and a croissant became my addiction every morning in France).Our hotel was close enough to explore the center of this busy city and visit a gravelly beach nearby. Etretat, made famous by the Impressionists was an easy drive on our second day which we enjoyed. Picked up food for a picnic along the way at a local market on our way. Etratat was wonderful to sketch and just take photos of, wonderfully shaped cliffs reaching down into the sea. Also visited Honfleur which also has charming old buildings also painted by the Impressionists but there were a lot more tourists here. It thinned out by 5PM making it more inviting and restive to stay for dinner. We enjoyed the good seafood available in the restaurants. Enjoyed use of internet in our rooms, a need we had to connect with family while touring France for 6 weeks

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank OttawaLinda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Le Havre hotels
0.5 mi away
Hotel Pasino
Hotel Pasino
#6 of 33 in Le Havre
366 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Carmin
Hotel Carmin
#1 of 33 in Le Havre
373 reviews
1.1 mi away
Novotel Le Havre Centre Gare
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Mercure Le Havre Centre Bassin du Commerce
1.1 mi away
Nomad Hotel le Havre
Nomad Hotel le Havre
#2 of 33 in Le Havre
438 reviews
1 mi away
Les Voiles
Les Voiles
#1 of 2 in Sainte-Adresse
207 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Vent d'Ouest? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Vent d'Ouest

Address: 4 rue de Caligny, 76600, Le Havre, France
Location: France > Normandy > Haute-Normandie > Seine-Maritime > Le Havre
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Le Havre
Price Range: $121 - $197 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Vent d'Ouest 4*
Number of rooms: 35
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Agoda and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Vent d'Ouest reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Vent d Ouest

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing