We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Start To A Great Vacation”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Carmin

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Carmin
Ranked #1 of 33 Hotels in Le Havre
Certificate of Excellence
Harpswell, Maine
Level Contributor
99 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Great Start To A Great Vacation”
Reviewed November 2, 2013

We arrived in Le Havre at about 4:00 o'clock in the afternoon. We had flown into Paris that morning and we were at the end of a long day. The two, I assume, owners were just a delight. They got us into our rooms quickly and efficiently. We were told to park in the street in front of the hotel as we would not need to worry about a parking ticket until 9:00 the next morning. They gave us directions to the beach where we would find a number of restaurants. It was an easy walk. After dinner when we returned they were quite gracious in chatting with us in the lobby as my buddy and I enjoyed a taste of the B&B brandy that we had bought at the Benedictine Abbey earlier in the day. They even provided us with proper glasses. They also told us about a town that we should visit on our way to Omaha beach the next day. The breakfast was fine and so were the rooms. As I said, all-in-all a great start to our vacation in France.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MadMaxie40667
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

324 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    229
    86
    6
    2
    1
See reviews for
51
138
18
76
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bristol
Level Contributor
80 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed October 8, 2013

I was staying in Le Havre for a conference and really enjoyed those 3 nights at Hotel Carmin. After some delays leaving Paris, the owners were massively helpful and made sure that, despite the fact reception is not 24 hours, I could get to my room without trouble. My (very late) arrival was no issue, got to my room as instructed and was pleasantly surprised at how big and clean it all was. The hoetl is also really quiet, despite a central location and brilliant if you need to use the tramways. Breakfast were nice and fresh, with a friendly owner to boot. Really nice stay, it was rated highly by so many others and as often the case there is a good reason for it, it's a nice place!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Yann1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dover UK
Level Contributor
60 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed September 22, 2013 via mobile

This is a terrific hotel. Le Havre not the loveliest of towns at first sight, but the hotel is an unexpected delight. Welcome, room, advice about dinner, breakfast especially, all impeccable. The owners take a real pride in the job, and the result is the best hotel, regardless of class, that we've been to in a long time. Pity we'd booked the return for the next day...

Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank PandGDoverUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LACHANT, Gérant at Hotel Carmin, responded to this review, February 26, 2014
Google Translation
Madame,
Nous vous remercions d'avoir choisi l'HOTEL CARMIN pour votre séjour au HAVRE. Proche de l'HOTEL DE VILLE (2 stations de tram depuis la gare, et à 10 mn à pied de la plage) , la situation centrale de l'établissement , vous permet de vous déplacer facilement. Votre confort demeure notre priorité, que vous soyez ici pour tourisme ou affaires. Nous sommes ravis que la décoration sobre de votre chambre vous ait séduite. A très bientôt ....
.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leuven
Level Contributor
55 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed August 29, 2013

The hotel is extremely well situated in the city centre, at 15 minutes walking from the beaches, and 1 minute from the City hall and the restaurants, brasseries and bars which are located in the surrounding streets.
Don't expect la grande luxe but nice, very clean and comfortable rooms and a very warm welcome.
Breakfast is served from 6.30, so perfect for business travelers.
Parking place is easily found in the street of the hotel (but do keep the hours in mind).

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Goya B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
26 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed August 29, 2013 via mobile

From the warm welcome to the exceptional room this is a loverly hotel. The location is great to explore and the staff provide a map if places of interest. The rooms are big and immaculately clean with and ensuite shower. Breakfast in the morning was excellent and overall price was good.
There is also a great restaurant 2 mins away in the road to the beach.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chesterkk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow, Russia
Level Contributor
39 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed August 10, 2013

The location of the hotel is just perfect. 7 minutes on tramway from the train station, 10-15 minutes walk to most interesting places in the city. If you would like to go to Etretat (absolutely marvellous), the bus stop is in front of the hotel. Plenty of good restaurants in the same street.
My room was clean and nicely decorated, the bathroom is large (especially for French standards). It was very pleasant to have electric cattle in the room and to enjoy a cup of tea after sightseeing.

Both owners are very friendly and with a wonderful sense of humour. I liked Havre very much and if I come back I would definitely choose the same hotel.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cigalle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bremen, Germany
Level Contributor
20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed July 29, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for four nights having booked a room for 3 as we were travelling with our 12 year old son. A very friendly welcome from the two owners. Our room was spotless and had a lovely big bathroom. We often left the room relatively late in the morning but were not disturbed by the cleaning staff and returned from a day at the beach to a pristine room. Free WLAN worked without a hitch. The two owners were always on hand to offer tips on restaurants and attractions in the area. We would like to thoroughly recommend this hotel and will definitely return next year.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank stevec98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Le Havre
0.3 mi away
Hotel le Petit Vatel
Hotel le Petit Vatel
#3 of 33 in Le Havre
267 reviews
0.9 mi away
Nomad Hotel le Havre
Nomad Hotel le Havre
#2 of 33 in Le Havre
286 reviews
0.6 mi away
Ibis Le Havre Centre
Ibis Le Havre Centre
#4 of 33 in Le Havre
150 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel Pasino
Hotel Pasino
#7 of 33 in Le Havre
332 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Vent d'Ouest
Hotel Vent d'Ouest
#5 of 33 in Le Havre
208 reviews
21.8 mi away
Hotel le Grand Pavois
Hotel le Grand Pavois
#1 of 10 in Fecamp
601 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Carmin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Carmin

Property: Hotel Carmin
Address: 15 rue Georges Braque, 76600, Le Havre, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Normandy > Haute-Normandie > Seine-Maritime > Le Havre
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Le Havre
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Carmin 3*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
You are looking for calm and relaxation, stay in one of the 21 rooms of Citotel Le Carmin. As mentioned in its name, red is the guideline of our decoration by little spots and without exaggeration. All our rooms with access by elevator are different. You may choose either a classique room (bed of 140cm) or a Comfort room (queen size bed) or a Superior room (king-size bed). Our Tips:Tea and coffe facilities in your room. On site catering. a bottle of water ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotwire, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Carmin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Minotel Le Havre
Le Havre Minotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing