We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“not for claustrophobes”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Best Western ARThotel
Ranked #22 of 33 Hotels in Le Havre
Reviewed October 22, 2013

I've been several times to this provinical French port city, and have stayed at several hotels.

The strong points here: a big and comfortable bed, and --as other reviewers have noted-- a central location.

The hotel also plays up its postwar '50s architecture with artfulness, as photos of the elevator (disguised as something else entirely) and doors suggest.

But I can't share other reviewers' enthusiasm. The bed is a decent size, and comfy, but the room hardly had any space for anything else. There's no space to walk. Or even to open fully the window. Luggage and clothing had to be stored next to the bathroom.

The bathroom seemed to have been redone and had modern fixtures. But the state of repair caused concern: the toilet paper holder came detached from the wall, and the rod that held the shower head also came detached.

Stayed: October 2013, traveled on business
2  Thank Franklin_Kildaire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (240)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

23 - 29 of 240 reviews

Reviewed September 17, 2013

We stayed in Le Havre on our way to our river boat in Honfleur, booking on the Best Western site and choosing it for price and location and included breakfast. All of those criteria were proved accurate, but we were unprepared for the quirky art work on the doors of all the rooms, the whimsical elevator which looked just like a shower, complete with tile, shower head, faucets, and faux curtain when the doors closed. The room was spacious and comfortable. It had a very nice buffet breakfast and was well located for a walk on the beach promenade, and the city hall park where the tram stopped, and to restaurants and the Sunday market. We took the tram to the station for our bus to Honfleur. Only down side was the construction site across the street, but there was no activity on the weekend.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank nasus59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 15, 2013 via mobile

Stayed there twice in August. Staff are very friendly and the price is reasonable for France. Rooms are clean but the street it's noisy luckily things calm down at a reasonable time. Unfortunately all rooms have the street so there is no alternative.

Breakfast is excellent.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michael_6829
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 30, 2013

Booking a hotel room in France has always been a hit and miss for us. In some of the hotels we booked in France, it feels like the receptionist thinks they are doing you a favour when they do you service, instead of it being their jobs. That is not the case in this hotel. The staff was very friendly and accommodating. When my husband even asked about the parking, the very nice receptionist even went out with him to show him where he could park. Staff speak excellent English and they always willing to help. The decor of the the hotel is also very interesting. It also very close to everything. It was a bit warm when we stayed there but there was a fan that we used and the room was comfortable enough. There were not a lot of choices for breakfast but it was good enough. All in all, it was a pleasant stay

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kreez21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 12, 2013

I stayed at the Art hotel for three nights in July, just as the hot weather found us.
I'd clearly not done enough research on this place and would not choose to use it again.
No parking. Luckily on street parking is free between 17.30 and 09.00
No restaurant on site but again, plenty close by if you are interested in venturing out.
No air conditioning in the room. At 33 degree heat this was a major oversight on my part.
Rooms very very noisy. Cobbled street with road traffic, bar next door open until late, empty bottles collected twice in three days, paper thin walls and floors to the point I actually heard the man in the room above take his morning pee complete with break of wind in the morning !
In room supplies not replenished at all. Water, tea, coffee, soap, cotton buds, none were replaced after being consumed.


I didnt complain as most of the problems werent solvable.


Receptionist was very pleasant and well spoken in English on my arrival and was helpful with the parking issue.

But all in all, not what id expect from a Best Western.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SJNSussex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 31, 2013

Having been delayed in our travel to Le Havre, the night porter could not have been more welcoming and helpful with directions on the phone, and the warmest of welcomes when we arrived. The experience and surprise continued when entering the lift and eventually our double aspect room. Next morning, we enjoyed a breakfast, with the addition of a warm buffet as well as the expected traditional. 'continental' buffet. An ideal stopover to catch the new Brittany Ferries lunchtime fast-cat service to Portsmouth.

Room Tip: Have a queen size bed in a superior room, to add that extra touch.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Robert W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 1, 2013

I often stay here on business when I am in town, although smaller than some other hotels it has a most friendly and helpful staff, car parking in front of the hotel which after 17:30 is free and it's central to all the services you could need. A wide range of restaurants ranging from traditional French, Japanese, Chinese and Indian, as well as a mix of various bars of every description and tea rooms.

Breakfast is excellent with a wide range of different foods from a buffet with excellent service from the staff too. Great value for money and the place has a nice quirky artistic theme too including the lift fitted out as a shower.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kevin H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Le Havre hotels
0.4 mi away
Comfort Hotel d'Angleterre
Comfort Hotel d'Angleterre
#18 of 33 in Le Havre
169 reviews
0.2 mi away
Ibis Styles le Havre Centre
0.3 mi away
Hotel Vent d'Ouest
Hotel Vent d'Ouest
#5 of 33 in Le Havre
248 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Mercure Le Havre Centre Bassin du Commerce
0.8 mi away
Novotel Le Havre Centre Gare
0.5 mi away
Ibis Le Havre Centre
Ibis Le Havre Centre
#4 of 33 in Le Havre
263 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western ARThotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western ARThotel

Address: 147 rue Louis Brindeau, 76600, Le Havre, France (Formerly BEST WESTERN Art Hotel)
Location: France > Normandy > Haute-Normandie > Seine-Maritime > Le Havre
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Le Havre
Price Range: $88 - $124 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western ARThotel 3*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
in the city center of UNESCO's world Patrimony quarter - right by restaurants and shopping area - minutes away from sea front and beaches restaurant - let's discover L.H. Le Havre in Normandie ! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, getaroom.com, Orbitz, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Best Western ARThotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Le Havre
Le Havre Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing