We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worst hotel ever.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Best Western ARThotel
Ranked #19 of 33 Hotels in Le Havre
1 review
“Worst hotel ever.”
Reviewed August 22, 2011

Bad part of town - lots of traffic noise, drunks under our window, shouting and smoking til very late. Had to leave windows open because it was very warm (no ac). Asked for a fan and were given a broken one with no cover over the blades. Room extremely small and
cramped. Toilet didn't flush fully, shower didn't work properly (the shower head kept sliding towards the wall. When we arrived at 10pm, the attendant was surly and annoyed. No one to help with luggage. Don't ever stay here!

  • Stayed August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lucasstr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

218 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    38
    111
    40
    18
    11
See reviews for
23
123
12
48
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed September 23, 2010

Not my usual style of hotel, but after a 600+ mile drive it was manna from heaven.

I reserved on phone from SW France on the day of my arrival.

The hotel is in the centre of town opposite the old Trade Harbour. My 3rd floor room was clean & comfortable although small compared to my usual choices.

Check in was painless & a large public car park is opposite underground & cost around 6 Euro for the night I also discovered it is locked from 9pm until around 7am. Worth remembering if you have an early ferry to catch!!

The lift done out as a shower, complete with taps & showerhead (Non functioning) was a nice quirky touch.

Good for an inexpensive `downtown` hotel

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jollyboatman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 28, 2010

We booked this hotel using Expedia, thinking it looked fairly boutique-y and cute, but the Best Western name behind it made us feel secure booking with a credit card. We were starting our driving tour of France by picking up a car in Le Havre, and the Art Hotel was a perfect overnight stay to begin our trip!

The room (2 twin beds) was quite affordable, but clean and convenient. The hotel is in downtown Le Havre and is within walking distance of the beach, several restaurants and shops. The staff was lovely and helpful, speaking fluent English but also patient and willing to help us practice our French! The room overlooked a downtown street on one side and a picturesque alley on the other. We were very impressed with the value of this hotel and would highly recommend it to anyone travelling in Le Havre.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank homemadekate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
1 review
Reviewed August 31, 2009

The location is great, near city center and bars/restaurants, 15 minutes walk to the beach. The room is not big, but very clean and I love their design for the bed table.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Isabelle C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
israel
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed July 25, 2009

We have just returned from a trip to Britany. We stayed one night at this hotel. we took the comfort rooms 1 for us and 1 for my father. the rooms were so tiny that we had to put the chair out of the bay window there are mere 40 cm between the end of the bed to the wall. the price was definiyely too high for that room. the only nice thing was the nice Skotish young man in the reception he was very helpful were he could help.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank einavel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ROUZEL, Owner at Best Western ARThotel, responded to this review, October 7, 2010
Dear Guest,
we thank you for your feed back and confirm that our CONFORT ROOM are SMALL DOUBLE ROOMS (140x190cm) with shower only - more dedicated to business travellers on single occupancy
consequently their price is -25% less than our superior rooms
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Le Havre hotels

Rugby, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
265 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
Reviewed September 30, 2008

My wife and I stayed overnight at this city-centre hotel en route from the Channel Tunnel to Brittany. We were travelling with elderly parents. The refurbished rooms were excellent, slightly quirky decor in line with Art Hotel name, but practical. Our third floor room at the front had some road noise early morning, but if we hadn't had the window open, we probably wouldn't have been disturbed. Le Volcan, an electronic night club, is across the road, but any noise stopped before 11pm.
The lift seems to be a shower, which is a bit disconcerting, complete with bathrobe!
The staff were unfailingly helpful and friendly, though in French. There was a kettle and assortment of teas and instant coffee in the room. We had a good rate incl. breakfast through the Best Western site and the breakfast was good with adequate hot and cold choices plus the usual continental breakfast selections.
We parked overnight in the multistorey underground car park just across the road, just a few euros for the overnight stay.
The hotel doesn't have a restaurant and neighbouring eateries were rather pricey and swanky. We ate along the road at L'Acrobate Cafe, 77 rue Louis Brindeau, which served a good fixed price menu for a reasonable price - the four of us ate for about 60 euros including soft drinks.

  • Liked — Friendly staff and smart decor
  • Disliked — Not able to park at the hotel itself. There is no designated unloading area at the entrance.
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Azalel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virum, Denmark
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed July 17, 2007

We had originally booked three nights at the BW Le Havre (mainly because of the good reviews - Dont be fooled). We managed to "escape" after just one night.

The hotel is an old, run down building which has been given a discount make over to make it look nice. We found hair everywhere; bathtub, the bed, you name it.

The only positive thing to be said about this unfortunate hotel is that the staff is nice. They were very helpful and friendly.

  • Liked — Leaving .. oh, and the view ;-)
  • Disliked — (Lack of) cleanliness
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Thomas_fra_Virum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Le Havre hotels
0.5 mi away
Ibis Le Havre Centre
Ibis Le Havre Centre
#4 of 33 in Le Havre
192 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Carmin
Hotel Carmin
#1 of 33 in Le Havre
340 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel le Petit Vatel
Hotel le Petit Vatel
#3 of 33 in Le Havre
306 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Comfort Hotel d'Angleterre
Comfort Hotel d'Angleterre
#20 of 33 in Le Havre
156 reviews
0.8 mi away
Nomad Hotel le Havre
Nomad Hotel le Havre
#2 of 33 in Le Havre
363 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Pasino
Hotel Pasino
#6 of 33 in Le Havre
343 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western ARThotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western ARThotel

Property: Best Western ARThotel
Address: 147 Rue Louis-Brindeau, 76600, Le Havre, France (Formerly BEST WESTERN Art Hotel)
Location: France > Normandy > Haute-Normandie > Seine-Maritime > Le Havre
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Le Havre
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western ARThotel 3*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
in the city center of UNESCO's world Patrimony quarter - right by restaurants and shopping area - minutes away from sea front and beaches restaurant - let's discover L.H. Le Havre in Normandie ! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western ARThotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Le Havre
Le Havre Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing