We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“food had no taste...”
2 of 5 bubbles Review of La Tortue

La Tortue
Ranked #12 of 163 Restaurants in Honfleur
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $20 - $41
Cuisines: French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Families with children, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Highchairs Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Ghent, Belgium
Level Contributor
135 reviews
64 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“food had no taste...”
Reviewed September 22, 2013

When in Honfleur, we choose this restaurant because of the pretty decent reviews on TripAdvisor. How much of a dissappointment can it be???

We selected the extended menu of 28 euro, which consisted of a starter, an intermediate course, a main course, cheese and a dessert. We must have had bad luck, because we cannot understand at all that this restaurant get's such a good score. The presentation of the dishes was creative and nice, but the general evaluation is that that food had LIMITED to NO taste at all.

We started off with a fish soup, served with croutons, cheese and cream. Nice ingredients for a fantastic dish, but not so: the soup had no taste at all. The next course was an apple with cinamon with Calvados. We had difficulty to find the Calvados in the dish...

The make course was hake, and again the presentation was quite nice, but the taste of the dish was poor.

Then came a selection of 3 local cheeses, which were very good.

As dessert, I had a duo of Chocolate which was reasonable; my wife had an Ile Flotante which was huge, but again, lacked taste.

So this seems to be the story of our dinner... "lack of taste". Judging from the other TA reviews, we must have had bad luck and a chef that lost his tasting capabilities in that week. We paid 86 euro for 2 people.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Garfield963
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

727 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    399
    210
    60
    32
    26
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Peterborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Beautiful french food in a tucked away little restaurant off the port of Honfleur”
Reviewed September 20, 2013

My husband and I ate here and I can say I have never had such a wonderful meal in France. The starter was tasty and not too much, the main of which I had the fish was the most luscious fish dishes I have ever tasted. We ended the meal with a typical fruit type salad but with the extras of cream and ice-cream. Although La Tortue (the turtle) is not cheap it is well worth the money for the experience and the very attentive staff. Will go again when we return to Honfleur.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank FullerFamily2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Outstanding”
Reviewed September 17, 2013

Small but perfectly formed with choice of fixed price menues. Everything was just outstandingly good - the food, the wine and the service, cannot recommend it highly enough.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank waysider321
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Des Moines, Iowa
Level Contributor
31 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Should be the #1 restaurant in Honfleur!”
Reviewed September 15, 2013

We ate here on our third night in Honfleur after trying a couple of the other top rated restaurants. La Tortue was fantastic - our best meal experience in Honfleur! The upstairs and downstairs have different decor, but both are terrific. I was initially surprised by the simplicity of the menu - really only four choices on it. However, I quickly realized that you could not go wrong. This was one of the best meals we had during two weeks in France. Service was excellent, food was amazing. The food was truly built as an experience - for example, how the dishes were layered in anticipation of your experience as you worked your way through them. Very carefully thought, well planned, executed perfectly.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank matto34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“A delicous oasis from the bustle of Honfleur”
Reviewed September 14, 2013

Rarely does a restaurant have such charms that it can overcome its own indecorous, though accidental, surroundings. We stumbled onto this restaurant in steamy August as part of our jaunt through Honfleur courtesy of a Uniworld river cruise. We had started lunch with powerfully delicious oysters at La Lieutenance (Place St. Catherine) but were outdoors so we sought to conclude our meal at La Tortue -- seemingly to avoid the unseemly heat. Unfortunately the only seating was upstairs in the normally lovely tiny second floor diningroom in the rear. With only an open window and no fan or A/C (in Honfleur -- zut alors!), the atmosphere was positively stifling. But, and here's the miracle of it, the food, le service, and the visit from the chef-owner brought more humility and hominess than a thousand btus of coolent. The fresh fish, the peasant fish chowder, and the very appealing desserts were among the best of our meals in all of France. This is truly a destination restaurant with the "chops" to rise fair above the tourist fare that insinuates itself in many a seaside village. And if you're lucky enough not to visit in August, all the better.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Stirring S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Tortue also viewed

 
La Riviere-Saint-Sauveur, Honfleur
Honfleur, Calvados
 

Been to La Tortue? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing