We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Exceptional”
Review of Sa-Qua-Na

Sa-Qua-Na
Ranked #2 of 165 Restaurants in Honfleur
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $105 - $151
Cuisines: French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Reservations
Description: SaQuaNa in Honfleur is a starred restaurant in which Delphine and Alexandre Bourdas wished to put what they like, what they learned during their travels and meetings. This place finally expresses their personalities. After long months of renewal, the restaurant opened again in October 2016 in a small building just a step away from the port of Honfleur. Delphine and Alexandre Bourdas wish that the human dimension and the joy of sharing a good meal are at the heart of their restaurant.
Surrey, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
294 reviews
138 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 248 helpful votes
“Exceptional”
Reviewed April 4, 2013

We ate on Good Friday evening.
Firstly, theres only about 12 tables, so you must book well in advance.
Secondly, there was no real choice of menu, everything is set. 5 courses were £68euros per person, or you could have the tasting menu, which I think was 9 courses. This suited us, but there didnt seem to be any other choice. Not sure if the menu is more varied at other times, but it may not suit people who are particularly fussy about certain foods (as most of our friends are).
You must have an aperitif, in order to be served the 'nibbles' that go with it to start. The meringue straw was very unusual and worth a try.
We were then served an amuse bouche, which was like a very sweet yorkshire pudding. Very nice.
Then 2 different courses of fish. I have never tasted fish so perfectly cooked.
Then a course of beef, again perfectly cooked (dont go if you prefer charred remains !).
We asked for wine recommendations which were a bit different from the norm, and were pleased with what was provided.
The ingredients and flavours and service were all exceptional.
Our only concern, was that there was a baby of about 9 months on the table next to us. I know the French have a different approach, but when youre buying an expensive meal, I prefer not to have to enjoy other peoples children. However, I have to say that luckily the child was exceptionally well behaved throughout the meal.
We really enjoyed our visit, and although expensive, we thought we gained value for money. Would certainly love a return visit.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank GN&CB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

582 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    468
    69
    22
    14
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
California
Level 5 Contributor
88 reviews
77 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“This a definite “wow” place”
Reviewed February 20, 2013

Honfleur – Dinner at Sa Qua Na, on Rue Haute. This a definite “wow” place, owned by Chef Alexandre Bourdas and his wife. He cooked for Michel Bras in Japan, and here modern French cuisine, respect for beautiful local ingredients, and Japanese inspiration meld into a fantastic 2 Michelin star dining experience. Some of the most perfectly prepared seafood and fish dishes we have encountered, wonderful meat dishes, a fabulous cheese course, and light, beautiful desserts. Despite the amazing quality, it manages to be almost casual with a very modern and open décor and warm service (his wife has the front). We would definitely return; in fact, this place alone is worth the trip to Honfleur and it may have been the best meal of the entire trip.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank AGinCalifornia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westende, West-Vlaanderen, Belgium
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Excellent”
Reviewed February 8, 2013

Great food, great restaurant, relaxed atmosphere and very nice people!
Enjoyed every minute of our evening.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank AnnPJohnM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ireland
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Simply wonderful”
Reviewed October 25, 2012

Sa Qua Na will steal your heart. On one of the lovely streets in Honfleur, beautifully thought-out food is served in modern surroundings. A bit of an asian influence going on and everything served is breathtaking in its delicacy, taste and presentation. Sa Qua Na has a Michelin star and it's only a matter of time before a second arrives. Go, and you will never regret it. Simply wonderful.

  • Visited March 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Roly100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Level 6 Contributor
388 reviews
143 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 278 helpful votes
“Amazing lunch - come hungry, there is a lot of food”
Reviewed October 13, 2012

Had a lovely lunch at Sa-Qua-Na in October 2012. Nearly everything we ate was absolutely delicious. The skate fish was honestly the most perfectly cooked fish I have ever eaten. My only complaint was the foul - I could barely cut through it and chewing was even worse. But everything else on the menu was so incredible that even this misstep didn't harm the incredible dining experience. The dining room was beautifully decorated - very clean lines. There are lots of customized plates and utensils and even the tables are specialized with rods that come out to hold the cheese tray. Service was excellent and personal, maybe a bit more casual than I had expected.
The menus are not inexpensive, but you really do get an incredible amount of food for the price - forget the number of courses listed, there are a lot of others that are included - so many that at first I thought we had ordered the wrong menu. Take it very easy on breakfast and come hungry!
I thought this restaurant was a great value and an incredible culinary experience. Would love to go again.
Have a wonderful meal!

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank TravelCuties
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sa-Qua-Na also viewed

La Riviere-Saint-Sauveur, Honfleur
 
Honfleur, Calvados
 

Been to Sa-Qua-Na? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing