We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming! A real gem in a stunning courtyard setting, a few minutes walk from the beautiful harbour”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
La Cour Sainte-Catherine
Ranked #2 of 68 Honfleur B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Great Missenden, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Charming! A real gem in a stunning courtyard setting, a few minutes walk from the beautiful harbour”
Reviewed February 23, 2014

We discovered Honfleur last year whilst driving around Normandy and couldn't wait to return! We brought our 3 children (24, 22, 11) and another family back to explore further.
The experience started with gasps from everyone as we walked through the big heavy gates into the most beautiful courtyard. Then we were shown round various rooms, all enormous with lovely bathrooms and spare beds everywhere - the spare beds don't detract from the room and are swallowed up in the enormous space. There are sofas and big tv's in all rooms, and the wifi worked perfectly everywhere.
The furnishings are a wonderful eclectic mix, the decor and colours are tasteful and classic, and as an interior designer with an eye for detail I was more than delighted. Even odd pieces of Ikea furniture here and there seemed to blend in - whereas normally I would have bulked at it! All the rooms are newly refurbished with lovely pastel colours, alongside ancient beams and exposed stone brickwork walls. I was panicking I'd booked too many rooms, but what they were doing was letting us pick what rooms suited us from those available. The housekeepers are delightful, though they don't speak much English, but we smiled and nodded and the whole experience was so friendly and utterly charming.
Liliane, the owner, speaks enough English to answer every question and was there at breakfast and throughout the day.
The location is fantastic, so quiet but just a few minutes stroll into the busy town for eateries, shops and amazing art galleries. We regularly nipped back to the hotel as it was so close.
The only thing I would change is the pillows on the bed as I don't like synthetic, and a feather or down pillow would have been more luxurious. Because despite the B & B title, this genuinely felt like a boutique hotel in every other way. We stayed in the purple suite which had a beautiful big window over the courtyard and a huge amazing bathroom with enormous shower and claw foot bath. The floor was smooth concrete with rugs by the bed and in the sitting area, and was charmingly rustic and simple. I imagine this would be nice and cool in the summer and a nice change from creaky floorboards! Our friends rooms were equally delightful, all massive and beautifully but simply furnished.
Breakfast was plentiful, with jugs of coffee, tea and hot chocolate, lovely jams and apple juice, and Martines superb home made tarts.
Would we return? In a heartbeat. For the location, the ambience, the charming decor and it's huge rooms, the beautiful courtyard and for being so very clean. Au revoir La Cour Sainte-Catherine!

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Floppo1964
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

503 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    345
    109
    32
    12
    5
See reviews for
89
322
10
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Santa Rosa, California
Level Contributor
34 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed February 22, 2014

Stayed at this inn in September of 2013. Much appreciated the courtesy of proprietor, Liliane, who, upon our notification, did not charge us for the first night when we were no show due to a railroad strike. Our junior suite was spacious and comfortable for the two of us. Also enjoyed theFrench style breakfast next morning. Parking at courtyard across the street was very convenient. Location is quiet and within short walk of the harbour, restaurants and shops. Definitely recommend this quaint establishment.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MirTravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed February 10, 2014

If you are not used to stay in B&B like us, you better try this beautiful place. We have stayed in two opportunities, and were given two different rooms, and cleanliness remains unchanged. Breakfast is included and its good quality too.

Room Tip: Ask for the rooms at the last floor if you don't have problems for walking up and down the stair...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Isa128
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairns
Level Contributor
28 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed January 8, 2014 via mobile

What a beautiful setting as you enter through the large wooden gate into the garden. We were quickly greeted with a very warm welcome & shown around the premises & our room, all without a word of English, though this was never a problem. The room was huge & very comfortable. Breakfast was served with the wood combustion heater giving a warm, homely ambience. Simple spread but delicious & plentiful, even tried the pomme ciderie made on site! Would recommend for a romantic getaway. Very friendly hosts.

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Ggirl74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crystal Lake
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed January 6, 2014

We really enjoyed staying at La Cour Sainte-Catherine. The room and the courtyard are so charming and the host, Liliane, couldn't have been nicer. If you have an opportunity to stay here, I wouldn't miss it.

We left Paris early in the morning and went to Giverny, Rouen and then on to Honfleur. The B&B was a little difficult to find with our Garmin but definitely worth the trouble. When we arrived, I asked Liliane if there was a laundromat nearby so I could do some laundry. I couldn't believe it but she actually offered to do our laundry for us. I told her I didn't want her to go through all that trouble and she said, "no problem, the machine does all the work".

The room itself was very spacious and the bed was quite comfortable. Even thought the place doesn't have air conditioning, there are windows that open and the cool ocean breeze come in.

By far the best breakfast we had in all of France. Everything was delicious, from the fresh baked bread, to the cafe au lait, to the fresh baked pastries. Even the little jars of jam were yummy.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jmcpmc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crewkerne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed December 1, 2013

What a lovely rest we had at La Cour Sainte-Catherine. This is a very central location, far enough away from the centre to be beautifully quiet, but near enough to feel that you are in the hub of things. Delicious Continental breakfasts served around the roaring wood-burner. The bed was extremely comfortable and the room warm and cosy - so perfect for a November visit. We would not hesitate to recommend La Cour Sainte-Catherine to anyone wanting a bit of rest and relaxation.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Fairways B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Florida, USA
Level Contributor
93 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed November 20, 2013

After a morning arrival at CDG, securing our rental car, with a side trip to Giverny, we were so pleased that we chose charming and historical La Cour Sainte-Catherine, Honfleur for our perfect first night stay in France. Check-in was hospitable, simple and gated parking just a block or two up the street. Our quiet and private ‘apartment’ (overlooking the courtyard of course) has to be the most quaint and lovely of the entire property. Although we were obviously exhausted, we couldn’t resist exploring the wonderful harbor area just a short walk from our doorway. Since the weather was cold and rainy, breakfast was available in the dining room rather than the open courtyard. But no matter, it was most satisfying, friendly and generous. We had time after breakfast to visit the amazing Ste. Catherine Church, just down our street. The unique church is well worth visiting; a charming contrast to the many Gothic cathedrals yet to come. Don’t be in a rush to get to the D-day sites, take time to explore Honfleur, and La Cour Sainte-Catherine is the perfect place to stay.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank robbgrimm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Honfleur hotels
0.0 mi away
Hotel l'Ecrin
Hotel l'Ecrin
#5 of 33 in Honfleur
4.5 of 5 bubbles 479 reviews
0.3 mi away
La Ferme Saint Simeon - Relais et Chateaux
0.1 mi away
La Maison de Lucie
La Maison de Lucie
#1 of 33 in Honfleur
5.0 of 5 bubbles 503 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Best Western Le Cheval Blanc
0.2 mi away
Les Maisons de Lea
Les Maisons de Lea
#6 of 33 in Honfleur
4.5 of 5 bubbles 539 reviews
2.7 mi away
Auberge de la Source - Hotel de Charme
Auberge de la Source - Hotel de ...
#1 of 1 in Barneville-la-Bertran
4.5 of 5 bubbles 474 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Cour Sainte-Catherine? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Cour Sainte-Catherine

Property: La Cour Sainte-Catherine
Address: 74 rue du Puits, 14600, Honfleur, France
Location: France > Normandy > Basse-Normandie > Calvados > Honfleur
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 68 B&Bs / Inns in Honfleur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets and HRS so you can book your La Cour Sainte-Catherine reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Cour Sainte-Catherine Hotel Honfleur

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing