We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent start to our first visit to France” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of La Cour Sainte-Catherine

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
La Cour Sainte-Catherine
Ranked #3 of 68 Honfleur B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Whitby, Canada
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Excellent start to our first visit to France”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 13, 2013

What a delightful stay we had in Honfleur and a large part of our enjoyment arose because of our stay at La Cour Sainte Catherine. We received a friendly greeting on our first arrival and, by good chance, a free parking spot almost directly in front. Other nights we found free spots further along the street. Our room on the second floor was comfortable and roomier than we encountered in other locations in France and Holland. Breakfast was pleasant and more than sufficient - we returned to Canada with an appetite for fresh baguettes and great cheese, thanks to our stay. The central location proved ideal for touring this lovely town. While we enjoyed the attractions and bustle of Paris, our stay in Honfleur, with its rustic charm, and this great B&B, was an ideal way to introduce us to life in France.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank John P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

495 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    338
    108
    32
    12
    5
See reviews for
87
317
9
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bromsgrove, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 29, 2013

We really enjoyed our stay at La Cour Sainte Catherine, situated so close to the centre of Honfleur. The atmosphere was very relaxed, and we liked our room on the second floor of the Pressoir. Breakfast was served on the ground floor, and was superb. Staying in the centre of town, and being able to walk to the restaurant and explore the harbour was appreciated very much.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RonP1_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 24, 2013

First, staying in Honfleur was a great decision. The bustle of Rouen and Bayeux is fun, but we found peaceful, charming Honfleur to be a gem of a place; it provides lots of good restaurants for dinner, a lovely little port to explore and is quiet at night. What made our visit special was staying at La Cour Sainte-Catherine. From the street, you would never guess that behind the huge double doors there is a lovely courtyard with little tables and chairs for having a glass of wine at the end of the day. Our room overlooking the courtyard was spacious, charmingly decorated and quiet. The continental breakfasts were delicious: fresh breads and croissants, cheeses, fruit tarts made in-house. Busy proprietor Liliane Giaglis was extremely helpful with recommendations for activities, routes to travel and local restaurants. I inadvertently left behind a coat when we moved on from Normandy. At her own expense, Mme Giaglis made sure it was returned to me later during our trip. That’s going the extra mile!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Janet H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orange Park, Florida
Level Contributor
813 reviews
112 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 310 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 24, 2013 via mobile

We had a very hard time finding this place. Once we got there, the location is actually excellent and within walking distance to town. They will charge you 10 Euros for parking but you'll find something on the street. From the outside it looks like nothing but once you enter through the heavy double doors, you step into the past and beautiful bi-level gardens. There are various plants including hydrangeas, roses, rosemary, cypress trees, apple trees that were trained to be like vines on a grape vine.

The owner of the place was not there to greet us and we found someone that was tending the place in her absence that did not speak any English. She took us to our room, which was quite spacious, but simple in decor. The bathroom was small but the shower head was a waterfall and water was so hot that it was great. The bed was very hard and the pillows were very soft and terrible but we managed through the night. We stayed in the room on the first floor that you have to come through the street. Also, bring your shampoo, conditioner and lotions because all you get are two tiny soaps to get you through your shower.
Breakfast was awesome with really good cheeses, baguettes, chocolate croissants, an apple tart, pear tart and lemon meringue tart which were outstanding. The hot chocolate was the best I've ever had. They also served a pear nectar that was so delicious that we tried to find some in town.
Other reviews mentioned the hospitality that they received and that was lacking during our stay there as there was no one to ask any questions about anything. We were basically on our own with no guidance.
Also, book your stay right through the hotel and forget the middle man and save approximately 20 Euros per night.

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank ukienomad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edina, Minnesota
Level Contributor
91 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 17, 2013

Wow, one of our favorite places in France and wished we had planned more than one night in this beautiful little town. This place was a former convent and then cider press. It oozes rustic charm. Sit in the courtyard with several private landscaped nooks with a bottle of wine. The breakfast room is equally charming with delicious bakery goods. We had to taste them all! Our room was large with plank wood floors, a sofa and chair sitting area, and warmed tile floor bathroom. Our room was on the main floor, off the reception desk area.
It is a small establishment and reception was friendly but no one seemed to be around all the time to answer questions and our not speaking French was a bit of a problem.
We highly recommend this B & B and Honfleur!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MbethMinnesota
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
darnestown md
Level Contributor
108 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 17, 2013

This b&b is very charming. Owners don't speak English but are very nice and patient. Parking is free with the Rick Steve's book. Our room comfortably slept a family of four with two singles and a queen bed. Bathroom was nice. Decent breakfast and beautiful courtyard.

However I didn't sleep at all due to the terrible mattress. It is firm but slopes to a V in the middle. I felt like I was on the verge of rolling down a hill. I actually had to resort to sleeping with my head at the foot of the bed next to my husband's feet. He didn't sleep well either. Not sure about the beds in the other rooms. My kids slept fine on their single beds. This is the only place out of 7 hotels on our trip where we had an issue with the bed.

I wouldn't stay here again unless they replaced that mattress. I am going to email the owners and hope they will replace it. Then it would be a really nice place.

Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank goblingoblin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liliane G, Propriétaire at La Cour Sainte-Catherine, responded to this review, August 18, 2013
Bonjour
Thank you for your message.As I said you by e-mail, I changed the mattress 2 days before your coming and I thought that all was ok.
A couple had broken the bed base of the bed and they did not say us at their check out . As the mattress was new, we did not see the problem.
As customers said to us the same thing that you, we have studied soon the problem and we have to contact that the bed base of the bed had been broken.
We changed it immediately and now everything goes well.
We take very care of our bedding and we are very sorry about the bad night which you spent.
I confirm you my proposal offering yourself a new free night in our establishment.
Have a good day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 14, 2013

This place is completely charming - the perfect place to stay while touring sweet Honfleur. One of my favourite breakfasts offered at a B+B: French cheeses and breads, freshly baked pastries, one of the best hot chocolates of my life, it was all to die for! You have breakfast in a wonderful courtyard, which is also the perfect place to have a bottle of wine in the evening and watch the stars. Our room was amazing, carefully decorated to reflect a nautical theme, perhaps each room is different? It had a kitchen area as well, and an amazing shower. The staff were very friendly, and the owner speaks excellent English, which is very helpful when staying in this part of France. It is 10 euro to park your car in their garage, but with a little patience and creativity, we found parking spots on the surrounding streets each night, so we saved that money. I would come to Honfleur again just to stay here!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TravelBugOntarioCan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Honfleur hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel l'Ecrin
Hotel l'Ecrin
#4 of 33 in Honfleur
4.5 of 5 bubbles 463 reviews
0.1 mi away
La Maison de Lucie
La Maison de Lucie
#1 of 33 in Honfleur
5.0 of 5 bubbles 490 reviews
0.3 mi away
La Ferme Saint Simeon - Relais et Chateaux
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN Le Cheval Blanc
0.1 mi away
Les Maisons de Lea
Les Maisons de Lea
#5 of 33 in Honfleur
4.5 of 5 bubbles 522 reviews
2.7 mi away
Auberge de la Source - Hotel de Charme
Auberge de la Source - Hotel de ...
#1 of 1 in Barneville-la-Bertran
4.5 of 5 bubbles 442 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Cour Sainte-Catherine? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Cour Sainte-Catherine

Property: La Cour Sainte-Catherine
Address: 74 rue du Puits, 14600, Honfleur, France
Location: France > Normandy > Basse-Normandie > Calvados > Honfleur
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 68 B&Bs / Inns in Honfleur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia and Priceline so you can book your La Cour Sainte-Catherine reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Cour Sainte-Catherine Hotel Honfleur

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing