We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful place to stay steps away from the center of Honfleur” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of La Petite Folie

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
La Petite Folie
Ranked #2 of 68 Honfleur B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Massachusetts
Level Contributor
31 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Wonderful place to stay steps away from the center of Honfleur”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 16, 2013

Beautiful room overlooking the garden of this wonderfully renovated house on a quiet street in Honfleur. Penny and her staff are warm and welcoming with good knowledge of where to eat and what to see in this beautiful medieval town.
The room on the third floor was spacious, well appointed, with wonderful antiques. The bathroom, although a bit on the small side, was modern with all necessary amenities. The shower was spacious.
Breakfast was beautifully served in the dining room at a large communal table. The choices were endless including all the wonderful French breads, croissants, pastries and homemade jams.
There is a large inviting living room with a fireplace, games, reading material and ability to make tea or coffee.
Make sure you pack only what you need for your stay here in a small bag as there is no elevator and no one to bring your things to your room up one or two flights of stairs.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kandk_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WTravelGirl50, Owner at La Petite Folie, responded to this review, November 21, 2013
Hello my friends from Massachussets and thanks so much for writing.

We are so pleased that you enjoyed yourselves and that you also enjoyed the fabulous Sa Qua Na two star restaurant; one of my favorits and just steps from La Petite Folie

Its true we do not have an elevator (part of the charm of a 1800's house) but are so pleased that you enjoyed your room, the surroundings and the breakfast selections and being in the center of town.

Thanks also for heads up to folks that it is best to reserve on lower floors and that we are always happy to store unnecessary items securely on the ground floor that you may not require during your visit with us in Honfleur.

Be well, thanks again and enjoy the upcoming Holiday season to its fullest

With kind regards, Penny, Thierry and Catherine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

589 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    538
    34
    11
    3
    3
See reviews for
75
406
6
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
St. Andrews, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
255 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 10, 2013 via mobile

We booked the Jasmine Apartment for 2 days in mid Nov. All was as promised. The apartment was very comfortable, fancy TV, good wi fi and nice bedrooms good decor, nice sofa and dining room. Kitchen was good.

Make sure you read all the instructions sent in advance. They contain lots of good info on when to arrive and where to park. You NEED to know and follow these instructions. The owners welcome was very overwhelming and perhaps a little OTT on ocaision. The owners have a high attention to detail and this is reflected in the quality of the place. Perhaps the welcome was just a little too familiar for my style.

Only issues for me were

There is only 1 toilet and bathroom. Very nice decor but would have preferred 2 wc. We were family of 4. The appartment is big and comfy but the toilet is small.

Also the Breakfast could have been higher quality. Maybe a nice good quality yogurt. And Fresh milk rather than long life !! The bread and croissants were ok. Also fresh coffee please!

euro300/night for 2 bedroom large apartment.

Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank GolfDuck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buckinghamshire
Level Contributor
39 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 3, 2013

A very stylish B&B in the centre of Honfleur.

We had a room at the very top of this beautiful house (Studio Atelier) which was bright and fairly spacious. The house itself is fabulously stylish but still feels like a welcoming home. Breakfast was served at a communal dining table with a different cooked option each morning.

The owners were away when we stayed but the lady who looked after us was great, very accommodating and helpful with great suggestions for local restaurants.

A fabulous little oasis of peacefulness during our gastronomic, indulgent weekend.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bluejules2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Delray Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 28, 2013

Articulation fails when mentioning La Petite Folie! Peter and I fell into this amazing little oasis in
Honfleur, and even now, two weeks after our return, our heads are into another visit. It was
like ringing the doorbell next door, and we were graced not only by the excellent care of Penny
and Catherine, but by the friendly atmosphere around the breakfast table. It was like having
our friends and neighbors join us to share every day's experiences and plans. We'd even
consider returning in A French Winter, just to re-stock on the joy we experienced in this
delightful B&B.

Room Tip: If you don't mind a 5-minute walk down the lane, ask for the separate duplex apartment, ground...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank joaniekins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scottsdale, Arizona
Level Contributor
42 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 21, 2013

My wife and I are fortunate to be able to travel frequently and every once in a while we really hit a winner. Such is La Petit. Madame Penny, the owner and ex-pat American, spent over 2 years and big bucks (euros) re-doing and restoring a wonderful old 3 story town home. She filled it with antiques and now invites people to stay there. Close by the harbour and wonderful restaurants (just ask) it is a perfect place to stay. Best of all, are the people. Madame Penny is bright, fun, witty and full of information about the town. However, Madame Catherine, her associate speaks great english and cannot do enough for you. She also fixes a dynamite breakfast. We spent 3 nights there and wished it would have been six.

Room Tip: All of the rooms are large and comfortable and each is different. We had a walk in shower!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Alan K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pennsburg
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 19, 2013

Catherine, Penny and Hunny Bunny make you feel like you just returned home after a long trip. The suggestions as to wher to eat-Le Gambetta,L,Homme de Bois and Cote Resto, where romantic with fireplaces and drop dead amazing melt in your mouth food. Their ideas of what to do are not in any guidebook. For example, they suggested a hike to Cote de Grace. It is a chapel on top of a hill where the tows people go every year to pray for the fisherman. Inside the beautiful small church there are boats hanging down from the ceiling. All around the top moldings are pictures of boats. It was so magical.

Finally, the unsolicited service will warm your heart. Catherine and Penny rearranged my drop off of my rental car to an hour closer point, and got me more convenient train tickets to Paris. They truly let me relax in their amazing home. Thank you!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 15, 2013

La Petite Folie was a wonderful experience in every way. The house is perfectly situated near the Honfleur harbor and there is a free parking lot within a 5 minute walk. The house is beautifully and comfortably furnished---the dining room and living room are particularly inviting. The huge delicious spread at breakfast is a great way to start the day. But perhaps, what makes La Petite Folie stand out is the unique and engaging personality of Penny, who disarms and charms every guest. Penny has an amazing knack of truly making her guests feel welcome and putting everyone at ease. Breakfast time was always filled with good laughs and interesting conversation with her and the other guests. Rounding out the hospitality team are Penny's husband Thierry and their incredibly pleasant and talented colleague Catherine. All three had suggestions for activities and terrific restaurant recommendations. When we left Honfleur headed toward Bayeux, Penny called ahead to a colleague at a hotel there to find a restaurant recommendation for us, and of course booked it as well. Thank you, Penny, for a memorable vacation.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Barbara A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Honfleur hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel l'Ecrin
Hotel l'Ecrin
#4 of 33 in Honfleur
4.5 of 5 bubbles 463 reviews
0.1 mi away
La Maison de Lucie
La Maison de Lucie
#1 of 33 in Honfleur
5.0 of 5 bubbles 490 reviews
0.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN Le Cheval Blanc
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
La Ferme Saint Simeon - Relais et Chateaux
0.1 mi away
Les Maisons de Lea
Les Maisons de Lea
#5 of 33 in Honfleur
4.5 of 5 bubbles 521 reviews
0.9 mi away
Ibis Honfleur
Ibis Honfleur
#7 of 33 in Honfleur
4.0 of 5 bubbles 870 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Petite Folie? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Petite Folie

Property: La Petite Folie
Address: 44 rue Haute | Saint Catherine Quarter, 14600, Honfleur, France
Location: France > Normandy > Basse-Normandie > Calvados > Honfleur
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 68 B&Bs / Inns in Honfleur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Perfect for couples, and located in the heart of Honfleur just steps from the Old Harbor and walking distance to shops restaurants and the Saturday morning food market. 5 double bedrooms all with private bathrooms at the Bed and Breakfast. 5 gorgeous apartments in historic buildings recently renovated and available for short term stays. -Primarily dedicated to a romantic getaway and for security reasons, children under the age of 10 are not accepted. -We have stairs and do not have an elevator. -Free parking lot closeby (NATUROSPACE). Optional paid,locked parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your La Petite Folie reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Petite Folie Hotel Honfleur

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing