We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“stay here if available!”
Review of La Petite Folie

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
La Petite Folie
Ranked #10 of 72 Honfleur B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 20, 2013

amazing accomodations with fabulous and oh so helpful staff ! room with 2 beds and bath was HUGE! staff, amenities, breakfast were outstanding! though on a crazy pedestrian laden street and a wee bit hard to find parking, all turned out beautifully and wouldn't have wanted to stay any where else! side trip to etretat where monet painted his famous cliff pictures is a must! hike up the cliffs to see spectacular views, and the village too is quite charming! and of course honfleur itself is picture perfect! even saw the tall ships armada- a once in a 5 year event- take place! excellent pizza at parasol- just down the street from hotel! a wonderful stay/lifetime experience! thanks penny and catherine!

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank julie f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (604)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

116 - 122 of 604 reviews

Reviewed June 13, 2013

My husband and I were venturing to Normandy for the first time. Honfluer was recommended as the best place to stay. We lucked into La Petitie Folie by looking at the reviews on Tripadvisor. The stay was even better than expected. Our room was next door in the apartments section. Luxurios details and smart decorating made this 14th century wonder feel comfortable and special. Even more, was the personal touch given by the innkeepers. Penny Vincent made our stay feel like a home away from home. Penny gave us spot on restaurant recommendations and touring tips that made our visit so special. Sa Qua Na is a newly annoited 2* Michelin restaurant that is a 3 minute walk from this convenient location. Head out for the day to Deauville/Trouville beaches and markets. Drive over to Bayeux for the WWII sites, but stay in Honfluer. The ancient fishing village is lively and quaint. You won't regret it.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CampNapa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 13, 2013

My wife and I stayed 2 nights at La Petite Folie this May and thoroughly enjoyed the accommodations and especially Penny, Thierry and Catherine. Our room was very nice, modern in styling and rather spacious. Penny was extremely helpful in planning our trips, directing us to some great restaurants and answering our questions. One small example -- we were discussing Calvados and where to buy a bottle. Instead of trying to describe possible choices, she said "follow me" and we went to a store, we had a delightful tasting and went back with a couple of bottles. The hotel is in a great location -- steps from the harbor and museum and Honfleur is a lovely place to stay.

Room Tip: We opted for the 3rd floor room with the modern decor. Three floors might be a problem for some...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Saul P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 9, 2013

My husband and I really enjoyed staying at La Petite Folie. Honfleur itself is wall to wall charm with great shops and scenery and La Petite Folie was a great place to stay in this fantastic area. Penny was a warm host and helped us with restaurant suggestions and guidance in the area. We really felt welcome in her home. Catherine, who works in the Inn, was really super!!! She was always helpful and cheerful. We had a comfortable room and bed (Chez Rene room), and everything was impeccably clean with lovely decor. The breakfast was delicious and varied daily. We wouldn’t hesitate to book here again and would definitely send family and friends. It was a great stay!!! Great for couples!!!

Room Tip: We stayed in the Chez Rene room which faced the backyard and was very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jennie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 29, 2013

My husband and I just spent 4 nights at La Petite Folie. We wanted to see the D Day Beaches and also the coast of Normandy. Honfluer was a great location as only 1.15 hours to D Day tour and much prettier than Caen or Bayeux as it is on the harbor with cobblestone streets and lots of good restaurants. Honfluer was perfect. We stayed in the apt Anis. Very chicly decorated and perfect for a couple with a small kitchenette, living rm area, bedroom. B'fast was delivered to our door every morning at 8:45am--breads and baked goods + fresh apple juice or applesauce or yogurt. We were so impressed by how attrctive the apt was--much better than we had hoped for--and the apartments are so well run by Penny and Terry and their very accomodating managress, Catherine. We would recommend La Petite Folie to anyone. Very well managed, very attractive, very service oriented. Total home run.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MAG724
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 29, 2013

What a delightful time we had in the lovely home of Penny & Thierry, who along with the lovely Catherine, made our stay in Honfleur a memorable event. You just can't beat this for location and ambience with hosts who go out of their way to make you feel as comfortable and welcome as you would at home. In fact, this is home in Honfleur. Wonderful breakfast and treats abound. Very tastefully decorated and top notch amenities in a residence that shows love and care. Highly recommend La Petite Folie to all who would seek the treasures to be found in Honfleur and Penny knows where they all to be found.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Zeke1313
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2013

The location of this B&B/Inn is just steps from top restaurants and shopping. The rooms are generous in size with modern baths and include all amenities expected in high end
accomodations. The owners are so very helpful and personable. The breakfast was great with so many choices. I cannot say enough good things about the Petite Folie!

Room Tip: Keep in mind when booking that all rooms are on the second and thirds floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ssmith9179
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Honfleur hotels
0.1 mi away
La Maison de Lucie
La Maison de Lucie
#1 of 32 in Honfleur
554 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel l'Ecrin
Hotel l'Ecrin
#5 of 32 in Honfleur
552 reviews
0.1 mi away
Les Maisons de Lea
Les Maisons de Lea
#8 of 32 in Honfleur
607 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Best Western Le Cheval Blanc
0.7 mi away
Le Manoir Des Impressionnistes & Spa - Esprit de France
2.9 mi away
Auberge de la Source - Hotel de Charme
Auberge de la Source - Hotel de ...
#1 of 1 in Barneville-la-Bertran
551 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Petite Folie? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Petite Folie

Address: 44 rue Haute | Saint Catherine Quarter, 14600, Honfleur, France
Location: France > Normandy > Basse-Normandie > Calvados > Honfleur
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 72 B&Bs / Inns in Honfleur
Price Range: $178 - $208 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the heart of Honfleur just steps from the Old Harbor and walking distance to shops restaurants and the Saturday morning food market. 5 double bedrooms all with private bathrooms at the Bed and Breakfast. 5 gorgeous apartments in historic buildings recently renovated and available for short term stays. -Primarily dedicated to a romantic getaway and for security reasons, children under the age of 10 are not accepted. -We have stairs and do not have an elevator. -Free parking lot closeby (NATUROSPACE). Optional paid,locked parking. Attention we have stairs and do not have an elevator. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your La Petite Folie reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Petite Folie Hotel Honfleur

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing