We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful winter break.”
Review of La Petite Folie

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
La Petite Folie
Ranked #9 of 71 Honfleur B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Wonderful winter break.”
Reviewed November 20, 2012

This was our fourth stay at La Petite Folie which was even better than before, if that it possible, because of the addition of wonderful breakfasts now included with the apartments. We had a really warm welcome from Catherine who was her usual very helpful self recommending some really good restaurants for us to try and looking after us as friends rather than paying guests.

We honestly couldn't have asked for more from a wonderful and well-equiped apartment (Rouge). Our only regret was that the kitchen facilities weren't really up to making the best of the wonderful local produce - such cheap Coquille-St Jacques. Instead we had to eat out at different restaurants every night - not really a hardship somewhere like Honfleur.

We couldn't rate the apartment and the welcome more highly and will definitely be back to visit our friends Penny, Thierry and the ever efficient and welcoming Catherine in their wonderful home as soon as possible.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

593 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    540
    34
    12
    4
    3
See reviews for
75
408
6
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed November 13, 2012

La Petit Folie in Honfleur was the perfect choice for our home base to explore the D-Day sites in France. Honfleur is a beautiful town on the coast and close enough to make all the D-Day sites accessible. We knew that we would be well taken care of at La Petit Folie when our delightful hostess, Penny, sent us a confirmation e-mail with directions, parking information, and everything we would need to have the perfect dining experience in Honfleur. La Petit Folie is stunningly decorated and our vibrant and cheerful room, the Chambre Kiosque, had a lovely view of the garden. We received a warm welcome from Catherine and at breakfast the next day, Penny helped with our touring itinerary while Thierry, Penny’s husband, created driving directions for us. We made a dinner reservation at Le Briard, one of Penny’s recommendations, and it was superb.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tivoli C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed November 5, 2012

We had the idea to cover over to Normandy for a weekend, and decided to spend one night at La Petite Folie. We were very well received at the place, and received a lot of clear information on the things to do in Honfleur. Our room was really beautiful and spacious with a view on the other side of the hotel. I would personally recommend to stay a few minutes in the room on the basement to enjoy peacefullness. We also had a very nice breakfast with plenty of options, including the smiles and laughs of the owners.
To be recommended...

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank papillon_vlinder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed November 4, 2012

We were four couples staying two nights in late September 2012, three in the B&B and one couple next door. Unfortunately our arrival time did not suit Management (Penny) but we were able to leave our bags and return after 4:00 pm as requested. We were not well received and asked to wait in the Lounge while others were looked after. Fair enough, but then we were rudely treated. Bad start. Two couples were assigned rooms on the 3rd floor and the third couple, due to poor directions and mis-located luggage ended up in the Blue room on the second floor. After one night they were required to move to the third floor. You want to be on the second floor (two floors up), not on the third floor where the rooms are more like garrets. The rooms were mostly well appointed, the breakfasts very good, as were the directions and advice regarding restaurants. The location in Honfleur is also good.

This building is a fire trap with one open staircase from main floor to roof. This is a winding staircase with no intermediate landings. The wood stairs are in poor condition and the stair railings do not meet any of the usual access, safety or building code standards. If you are not in very good physical condition, and if carrying your bags up and down three flights of stairs is at all difficult, then don't stay here.

Catherine is a gem. Penny needs to go to charm school!

Room Tip: Blue room overlooking garden. Make sure shower floor tiles are all intact.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
11 Thank gsc809
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
British Columbia, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed November 2, 2012

Originally, we were booked to stay at another hotel in Honfleur but when we came across La Petite Folie & read all the wonderful reviews, we changed our booking immediately! We stayed here for four nights.

Our room, Kiosk was pretty & spacious. It had a wide entry hall which became a place to store luggage, jackets & shoes. There was a cozy alcove where a chaise lounge provided the perfect spot to read or just relax. Two windows faced the lovely garden. It was very quiet & peaceful here. There was a large tiled shower in the bathroom. Very nice!

A generous breakfast was served in the lovely dining room where a communal table was set for 8 people. Small tables were set in the sitting room for the over-flow or late risers! It was very pleasant having breakfast with other guests!

Our host, Penny and her assistant, Catherine were charming & very helpful with suggestions for what to do in & around Honfleur. They were happy to make dinner reservations for us, especially for the busy Saturday night.

Also, we arranged for parking (fee) in a private garage just down the street. It was very convenient.

We highly recommend La Petite Folie!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
Level 6 Contributor
121 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed October 11, 2012

We spent 3 nights in the Suite Bleue on a recent trip to France. This is a perfect location for a day trip to Bayeaux, Le Mt. St. Michel or any of the other charming towns nearby. Honfleur has delightful little shops,restaurants and a great Saturday market.
Our room was spacious, beautifully decorated and had a lovely ensuite bathroom. The garden, living room and dining room were equally lovely. It was an easy walk to the free parking lot. On arrival we were warmy greated by Catherine who also provided us with some wonderful restaurant suggestions. We enjoyed 3 great breakfasts with the other guests. At four o'clock the check in time is a little late if you are arriving from an over night flight but an opportunity to enjoy one of the outdoor cafes on arrival and yes it is a long way to the 3rd floor or fourth if you count the main floor and yes the steps are steep but this is all very clear on the web site and it was a good way to work off the very indulgent meals we had.There did not appear to be a fire escape from our floor which I found more disconcerting than the stairs.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MegCanada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 28, 2012

We spent 2 days at La Petite Folie and it was truly a "grand" experience. WE wished we had reserved a few more days. Penny, the owner, is a wonderful, engaging, energized and bright lady who was prepared to go the extra mile to make our stay memorable (Dinner suggestions & reservations, sightseeing etc.). We were more impressed with your B&B than the 3 Relais et Chateaux we stayed at in France.
A GPS system is advised to find her address in a maze of one-way streets in Honfleur.
Her 'tea-time" and /or Breakfast get-togethers were very entertaining. Food was amazing, rooms were beautiful! There is no elevator in the B&B so be prepared to climb and carry your suitcases up a number of flights (2 or 3). Thank you Penny and Catherine (her assistant) for a very special and memorable time in Honfleur. You are the BEST!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Janette A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Honfleur hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel l'Ecrin
Hotel l'Ecrin
#5 of 33 in Honfleur
493 reviews
0.1 mi away
La Maison de Lucie
La Maison de Lucie
#1 of 33 in Honfleur
523 reviews
0.1 mi away
Les Maisons de Lea
Les Maisons de Lea
#7 of 33 in Honfleur
559 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
La Ferme Saint Simeon - Relais et Chateaux
0.1 mi away
Best Western Le Cheval Blanc
0.2 mi away
ibis Styles Honfleur
ibis Styles Honfleur
#9 of 33 in Honfleur
834 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Petite Folie? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Petite Folie

Property: La Petite Folie
Address: 44 rue Haute | Saint Catherine Quarter, 14600, Honfleur, France
Location: France > Normandy > Basse-Normandie > Calvados > Honfleur
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 71 B&Bs / Inns in Honfleur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Perfect for couples, and located in the heart of Honfleur just steps from the Old Harbor and walking distance to shops restaurants and the Saturday morning food market. 5 double bedrooms all with private bathrooms at the Bed and Breakfast. 5 gorgeous apartments in historic buildings recently renovated and available for short term stays. -Primarily dedicated to a romantic getaway and for security reasons, children under the age of 10 are not accepted. -We have stairs and do not have an elevator. -Free parking lot closeby (NATUROSPACE). Optional paid,locked parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your La Petite Folie reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Petite Folie Hotel Honfleur

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing