We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“beyond all expectations, stunning”
Review of La Maison de Lucie

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
La Maison de Lucie
Ranked #1 of 33 Hotels in Honfleur
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
197 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 146 helpful votes
“beyond all expectations, stunning”
Reviewed July 5, 2013

A true gem of a Hotel, set in a narrow street in Honfleur, who could know how wonderful this Hotel is? At first, it is very tricky to get there, up a tiny narrow road, but Francoise is on hand to help and guide you! Parking is about 100 yards away, but you may not need the car for a day or so.
The Hotel is, quite simply, stunning. An eclectic mix of Oriental and traditional French, with superb interior spaces, especially the small conservatory area. The Courtyard is so beautiful, pray you get good weather so that you can have your breakfast served outside. Otherwise, the Hotel's lobby and bar are transformed with snowy tablecloths, and you are all dotted around having breakfast indoors!
Our room, 8, has a private terrace, and that is why we went for it. It is small, but the terrace makes it worthwhile. The decor is lovely, but the mixer taps in the shower are demonic to adjust! That is a minor niggle. I didn't even mind burning my foot.
It is everything you could want from a hotel. Centrally located, clean and beautifully furnished. As for breakfast, it was a superb collation of bread, home made jams, and each day a little treat. Baked apple, rice pudding, and a pot au chocolate on the days we were there. You can request a cooked option of eggs as well.
But what makes it a cut above is Francoise and his team. They are helpful yet unobtrusive, and Francoise has perfected the art of being laid back and friendly which puts you at ease straight away. Look out for the Cameos in the bar` they have a story, and it is very sad that the man who created this amazing Hotel died without having seen it become such a success.
This is a wonderful experience and I urge you to go.

Room Tip: Room 8 although small, has a lovely private terrace
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank new_horizon1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

503 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    422
    60
    12
    6
    3
See reviews for
47
369
5
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (74)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Derbyshire
Level Contributor
66 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed July 4, 2013

Stayed here for 2 fabulous nights, wish it was longer. The lanes are very very narrow so driving can be a bit scary. Once parked in their own private garages you can forget it and enjoy Honfleur.
The hotel itself is everything you would imagine a French property to be and more. I absolutely fell in love with the house and the town. The rooms are stunning and finished to a very high standard and I cannot fault anything at all.
When we go back to Honfleur (which we will) I will have no hesitation staying at La Maison de Lucie.

Room Tip: We stayed in the newer side but I imagine all the rooms are lovely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lauralou911
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
england
Level Contributor
64 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed July 1, 2013

from the moment we arrived we felt very welcome and appreciated! customer service is clearly a high priority here, all the team were eager to help and ensure our stay was relaxed and enjoyable. when we sat at a table in the beautiful courtyard someone would appear as if by magic with cushions for the chairs and to enquire if we would like anything - this discreet and friendly service was a recurring theme throughout our stay.
the property is magnificent and clearly well known in the area, we saw a number of curious tourists who came to peek into the courtyard! the owners purchased it around 10 years ago, and have since restored it to it's present-day splendour. the fittings and furniture are good quality and comfortable, and the towels and bed-linens etc were lovely and fresh and clean. it's a short and easy stroll from here into the main harbour area for shops and restaurants, the streets are not car-friendly so it's easier to just leave the car parked.
we stayed in a small 1-bed duplex suite that is just apart from the main building, and the peace and serenity there were perfect for us! we would have preferred the bathroom had a walk-in shower, rather than over the bath, but the sloping roofline means this probably isn't possible! we had breakfast each morning in the shady courtyard, it was a great way to begin each day. we would not hesitate to return here.

Room Tip: the suite is perfect!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dsw_no1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
50 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed June 23, 2013

The joys of Honfleur have been covered many times in the reviews here and I agree with them all so I won't add to them.

It is right to say that Honfleur is not a car friendly town but I can't comment on the parking and car access issues at this hotel as we arrived on cycles - to be recommended. I booked the room over the phone while we were en-route and was assured that there was no problem about storing the bikes or the timing of our arrival. On arrival we were shown swiftly to a quiet spot where we could store the bikes overnight and lock them to a post - probably not necessary here but required by my insurance company. Our panniers and bike bags were whisked from us and carried to our room for us.

We were in room 11 which was delightful with a double aspect view onto the road at the rear and toward the Pont Normandie (part view). The room was spacious and stylish and had plenty of space to put our bags etc.

We arrived on a warm day in bright sunshine so were in some need of the shower and bath which were first class.

After a tour of the town and harbour we ate out at a superb restaurant probably no more than 50 metres from the hotel and after a good nights sleep had breakfast out in the courtyard in the sun - bliss.

We opted for the basic breakfast but it was just the job to fire us up for the next days cycling. A range of home made jams, good croissants and a selection of bread with freshly squeezed orange juice.

The price was outside our usual price bracket but we felt that it was worth it for the position close to town and the overall experience. We had a great stay and we'll be back.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mulange
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hudson River Valley, New York
Level Contributor
66 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed June 19, 2013

Honfleur itself is wonderful. Narrow, winding streets lined with half timbered houses. The Maison de Lucie is easy to find because there are signs pointing toward many of the streets. We had not reserved parking ,but were able to park for just a few euros in a very close by public lot. The hotel is just a couple blocks walk from the old harbor, and the town is very walkable. Rooms were charmingly furnished, bathrooms quite luxurious, public rooms in keeping with the rest. One of my few criticisms: There is virtually no light in the rooms so you cannot read at night unless in the well lit bathroom--in that sense, fairly typical of the other French hotels we stayed at this trip. Definitely a good place to stay when visiting Honfleur.

Room Tip: There is no lift, so if you have heavy luggage you might prefer a ground floor room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Grayhill102
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
Level Contributor
121 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed June 16, 2013

This is the kind of accommodation which made you travel in the first place. Wonderful and warm service, an excellent location, exquisite old-world decor, comfortable in all ways and with the most charming breakfast you can imagine (sit by the fireplace in the lounge and enjoy). True, the parking is not a wonderful thing, nor is driving anywhere in Honfleur anything but a chore; but you can work around this. Honfleur has a number of superb restaurants; it's well located for touring the Normandie area; and it can be breathtakingly beautiful. We love visiting Honfleur - and we ADORE La Maison de Lucie.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank phototheworld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Corona Del Mar
Level Contributor
29 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed June 15, 2013

La Maison de Lucie was originally a private chateau in the heart of Honfleur. You will feel like you are a personal guest in a private home when you stay there. The boutique hotel is luxurious yet comfortable. Don't miss the wonderful breakfast...it's served in various rooms in the main floor of the hotel and also in the gated courtyard...we preferred the atrium room with the glass ceiling overhead.

We spent 2 nights in the top floor suite and it was luxurious and quiet. The view was spectacular in all directions from the 5 windows in the suite. There is off site parking, but due to the narrow one way streets, it's advisable to let someone from the hotel park your car. Honfleur is a charming walking village located on a hill leading down to the yacht/sailboat marina.

Francois, the manager, was very accommodating while being efficient. He reserved dinner for us the 2 nights we were there at 2 wonderful restaurants. He really listens to your food preferences and budget.

It was 10 years ago when I last stayed in Honfleur and will return to Maison de Lucie on my next trip.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CaliforniaLady46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Honfleur hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel l'Ecrin
Hotel l'Ecrin
#5 of 33 in Honfleur
4.5 of 5 bubbles 479 reviews
0.3 mi away
La Ferme Saint Simeon - Relais et Chateaux
0.1 mi away
Les Maisons de Lea
Les Maisons de Lea
#6 of 33 in Honfleur
4.5 of 5 bubbles 539 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Auberge de la Source - Hotel de Charme
Auberge de la Source - Hotel de ...
#1 of 1 in Barneville-la-Bertran
4.5 of 5 bubbles 474 reviews
0.6 mi away
Le Manoir Des Impressionnistes & Spa - Esprit de France
0.2 mi away
Best Western Le Cheval Blanc
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Maison de Lucie? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Maison de Lucie

Property: La Maison de Lucie
Address: 44 rue des Capucins, 14600, Honfleur, France
Location: France > Normandy > Basse-Normandie > Calvados > Honfleur
Amenities:
Spa
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Honfleur
#1 Romantic Hotel in Honfleur
#6 Family Hotel in Honfleur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — La Maison de Lucie 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your La Maison de Lucie reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Maison De Lucie Hotel Honfleur
La Maison De Lucie Honfleur

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing