We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A cozy place”
Review of L'Absinthe Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
L'Absinthe Hotel
Ranked #12 of 33 Hotels in Honfleur
Certificate of Excellence
Littleton, Colorado
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“A cozy place”
Reviewed June 29, 2014

Our holiday in Normandy was met with many days of rain..but when you stay at Hotel L'Absinthe you have the cozy warm sitting room which makes the outside less troublesome. We had a very quite, wonderfully decorated room. The bathroom was equipped with everything one would want. Breakfast was very filling and no problem to request another "cafe au lait" . The sitting is truly a wonderful place to read, sip tea, and let the world pass you by! We will return to Hotel L' Absinthe.

merci beaucoup

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kelso11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

180 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    96
    70
    12
    2
    0
See reviews for
31
104
2
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, Washington, United States
Level 5 Contributor
72 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed June 22, 2014

On a road trip with our French friends we did not have any preconceived notions about where we were staying--our friends made the booking, but this is a delightful place, right at the marina with several restaurants in the near vicinity and all of Honfleur's charm at your feet.
The room was exceptionally clean, quiet and comfortable with plenty of closet space, fluffy robes and a deep jet-studded bathtub with bath fizzies on hand made for a very relaxing night.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ann M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville, Florida, United States
Level 6 Contributor
128 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed May 27, 2014

My first trip to Hon Fleur and I am afraid the bar was set quite high! One night for business and I had a remarkably comfortable and quiet room with a fabulous jetted tub! As other have noted, it's all about the location...waterfront, street front, you can walk to everything. After a stroll through the town, returned for one of the best dinners I had in France! Good food, good sleep...can't beat this!

Room Tip: My room was on the 2nd floor, far right at the top of the stairs...and it was very quiet!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PMDow42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Level 6 Contributor
187 reviews
89 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 139 helpful votes
Reviewed January 17, 2014

we stayed on dec 31st to jan 1st and had a single and a double room ( No. 2 & 3 ). Free wifi and a cosy entrance hall with fireplace and coffee/tea. The location is on a busy street but 10m off and the rooms where calm. Surprisingly modern and matching brownish colours, very welcoming. The bathroom was spacious with a separate shower. We enjoyed our brief stay. One point to say, the reception seem to have a staffing problem, it was tough to to find somebody for check-in. Ringing the bell did not help, I made a phone call to get somebody to come.
Very good, they have a garage not far away, so no stress to find parking.

Room Tip: the rooms with a view are towards the street, if you like it calm choose the side-street rooms as we...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank R113
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lija, Malta
Level 6 Contributor
74 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed October 19, 2013

Very clean, well kept and nicely furbished hotel. But the KEY is the location. Had a lovely view of the harbour. It is close to all the key things one wants to do in Honfleur, walking, shopping, restaurants. Loved our time there. Breakfast room is great. It helps you to wake up slowly but cheerfully. Great experience.

Room Tip: I would go for the harbour view room, priceless any time of the day!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank meconti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 6 Contributor
193 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed October 10, 2013

We stayed 2 nights in the annex. As others mentioned, the view was nice. The room was nice and the bed was comfortable, but because there was no A/C, we needed the window open to be cool enough to sleep. Unfortunately, there was a lot of traffic on Friday and Saturday nights. When the regular traffic settled down, the garbage trucks began their dumping (and backing up) for what seemed to be hours. Perhaps the main part of the hotel would be quieter.

Room Tip: Good luck!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JK_SATX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, VA
Level 4 Contributor
47 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed October 1, 2013

We recently stayed at L'Absinthe. Our room was absolutely beautiful with very upscale boutique bathroom and attractive contemporary furniture, even though the building is historic. A very nice quality continental breakfast was served in a very pleasant little room.

Be advised, though, that it is really impossible to approach this hotel by car. Your best bet is to immediately pull into the big parking lot at the entrance to the Honfleur harbor. It's just a short walk over to the hotel from there. Beware the large, low stone block on the lefthand side as you drive into the parking lot after taking a ticket!!!! We absolutely didn't see it and did some damage to our rental car.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank VAVoyager1008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Honfleur hotels
0.1 mi away
Best Western Le Cheval Blanc
0.3 mi away
La Maison de Lucie
La Maison de Lucie
#1 of 33 in Honfleur
527 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel l'Ecrin
Hotel l'Ecrin
#5 of 33 in Honfleur
504 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Les Maisons de Lea
Les Maisons de Lea
#7 of 33 in Honfleur
574 reviews
0.1 mi away
ibis Styles Honfleur
ibis Styles Honfleur
#9 of 33 in Honfleur
851 reviews
0.2 mi away
Mercure Honfleur
Mercure Honfleur
#10 of 33 in Honfleur
817 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to L'Absinthe Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about L'Absinthe Hotel

Property: L'Absinthe Hotel
Address: 1 rue de la Ville, 14600, Honfleur, France
Location: France > Normandy > Basse-Normandie > Calvados > Honfleur
Amenities:
Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 33 Hotels in Honfleur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — L'Absinthe Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your L'Absinthe Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
l Absinthe Hotel Honfleur

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing