We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
  
Ways to Experience Le Vieux Bassin
from $308.59
More Info
from $447.73
More Info
from $740.61
More Info
from $89.21
More Info
Reviews (3,496)
Filter reviews
3,496 results
Traveler rating
2,133
1,146
179
27
11
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
2,133
1,146
179
27
11
Show reviews that mention
All reviews watch the world lots of restaurants le vieux beautiful harbour old port glass of wine people watching surrounded by restaurants seafood sunny day impressionist painters harbour area narrow streets picture postcard french town walk around lovely place
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
7 - 12 of 3,496 reviews
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Yes indeed a pretty port, worth visiting if in the area but would not recommend staying there as it almost a fatality of selfie-hunting over-tourism addicts! Many restaurants (mostly all with the same menus), and many art galleries as expected (some rather good). A quaint place to visit - but would recommended off season!

Date of experience: July 2019
Thank AlexandraAmiens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

My wife and I did a tour bus with Norwegian Cruise Line from the port of Le Havre-about a 30 to 35 minute bus ride. This represented my second trip to this picturesque little port town, having been there previously in 1978.The famous view, inspiration for many impressionist painters is looking towards the Quai Ste Catherine (strret fronting tall colorful buildings with fishing boats in the foreground. Quaint restaurants and shops line ther Quai Ste Catherine street. Recommend you sit at one of the cafes while sampling meats and cheeses with a glass of wine or beer while taking in the view. My wife and I chose Le Perroquet Vert (the green parrot) at #52 Quai Ste Catherine which even showcases a small green parrot outside the upper level when we were there in early August of 2019. We noticed that this spot is a very popular summer destination for the French, and obviously very popular with tourists. My second trip 41 years later did not disappoint . Highly recommended. One more thing, we opted for this shore excursion over a shorter 3 to 4 hour one in Paris, so as to spend more time in a smaller French town.

Date of experience: August 2019
Thank bobbyza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Really pretty old port although still very busy as we arrived the beginning of September. Lots of restaurants and galleries. Sadly the restaurants are all very similar and quite expensive. All of them serve moules frites which we tried a few times and the mussels were delicious and sweet but all the restaurants seem to serve frozen chips, not just with mussels but everything else. St Catherine’s church is worth a visit and we found a bar with fantastic live music, Le vintage cafe and they do food although we were only there for a drink and the music. It’s very picturesque so enjoy a stroll, a meal and a Kir Normande and a spot of people watching

Date of experience: September 2019
Thank Nannyknowsbest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

My wife has wanted to visit Honfleur for some time so I decided to drive there from La Rochelle via Arromanches-les-Bains on our way home and stay the night (Motel Les Bleutes..great value). We enjoyed a stroll around the old port and had an evening meal at Le Bistro du port (Good value set menu..but wine expensive).

Date of experience: September 2019
Thank busterSolihull
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 5 weeks ago via mobile

We much enjoyed visiting Honfleur, it is very pictoresque. Unsurprising there are so many picture galleries, there is something interesting to paint around every corner. Many shops and restaurants particularly around the Bassin although the shops are pricey.

Date of experience: September 2019
Thank 10Alpaca10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews