We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fine but minimalist”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
ibis Styles Honfleur
Ranked #9 of 33 Hotels in Honfleur
Huntsville, Alabama
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Fine but minimalist”
Reviewed August 14, 2011

This hotel is in a great location about a block from the Vieux Bassin in Honfleur. It is close to the city center, with restaurants and shopping nearby. Be sure to ask for a map of town when you check in. I got mine when I checked out, and it would have been useful.
The hotel staff was friendly, welcoming, and helpful, and most spoke at least some English. The decor is modern and bright colors--the lobby sort of looks like a play room. The rooms were comfortable but minimalist. My traveling companion called them "austere." The hall lights go on when the elevator (tiny!) opens or when someone opens a room door. The stairwell lights function in a similar fashion.
The beds were good and had adjustable reading lamps. Good pillows and duvets. The flat screen TV had a few channels in English--CNN International, BBC (poor reception), and CNBC. Maybe one of the sports channels, too. Rooms were relatively small and basic, but you probably aren't going to spend much time in the room anyway. They had all the necessities but not much else. Our room had a "hanging space" but no closet and no dresser. The lone night stand was just a shelf. We had a "twin" room, which means 2 single beds. There was no nightstand on the other side, but there was a small table that could be moved close enough to use. The bathroom had a toilet, sink, and tub with a shower. The problem was that the yellow acrylic shield for the shower didn't come out far enough to keep water from getting all over the floor. The hotel supplied 1 tiny bar of soap and 2 "shot glasses" of soap/shampoo.
As in many French hotels, you had to put your key card in a slot for the lights and TV to work. We only had 1 key, so if 1 of us left, the other either had to get up to open the door or stay in the dark if the other took the key.
The continental breakfast was good. It even offered an electric juicer so you could squeeze your own orange juice. You serve yourself. There was a selection of French bread, croissants, and sweet rolls, as well as sliced ham and Swiss cheese, yogurt, apples and oranges, and cereal. As did other hotels we stayed in, this one had a coffee machine where you push the button for your choice--espresso, cafe au lait, etc. Good coffee. Newspapers were available in English, French, and German for breakfast patrons. The breakfast room doubled as a bar, although not really one that people spent a lot of time in. The desk clerk also was the bartender. The makings for hot tea were available in the lobby--with a hot water pot and a big bottle of Evian.
Parking was the big issue--a problem city-wide. This hotel probably had better parking options than most others, unless they have their own lots, which a couple do. I wish I had known what to expect, although I knew it was going to be a problem. We could park in the street immediately in front of the hotel, in paid street parking. You have to look around for the horodateur machine, which is how you pay to park, put in your 1 or 2 Euro or Euro cent coins, press the green button to get your ticket, and then put the ticket on the dashboard in your car window where the city's parking police can see the date and time your payment expires. It costs up to 8 Euros a day to park on the street, but you must have coins. It does not give change, but you will get extra time if you pay more than is called for. From 6 p.m. until 9 a.m. street parking is free. One night we came back to find that the police had blocked off that part of the street for a Wednesday night market. They also do that on Saturdays, although there were signs about that. We had to go to the privately owned big lot across the street. That costs up to 12 Euros a day, but you can pay with a credit card. You get a ticket when you enter. Instead of paying when you arrive, you pay when you leave by going to a similar type of horodateur machine, putting in your ticket and your credit card (or Euros). It will then mark your ticket paid and give it back to you. As you exit, you put your ticket into another machine to get out of the gate. This lot was full a couple of times we were there. But we didn't face the problem of getting blocked by the laundry truck in that lot either, as we did when we used the street parking.
This hotel is just fine. It is clean and comfortable, with all the basics, but it's not luxurious. Not for people who want to be pampered--there aren't a lot of frills. It does have air conditioning, although we didn't need it, given the unusually cool temperatures in August 2011. The hotel has a 3 star rating. The staff were very helpful and pleasant. I would stay there again.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Francofille35801
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

849 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    255
    479
    95
    15
    5
See reviews for
179
518
18
40
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
1 review
Reviewed August 12, 2011

Excellent city hotel, spotlessly clean, friendly staff, good continental breakfast, free wifi, highly recommended

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ox_Mike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Level 6 Contributor
279 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
Reviewed August 8, 2011

Honfleur All Season has been renovated some month ago and it's nice !
Rooms are superb and modern, the serive is perfect, newspaper are available, free cafe welcome you, breakfast is included and nice, you can put your luggage in a room all day long the day you leave . no noise around hotel, in the city center, what else ?
one problem : when your neighbour slush, you hear it clearly

  • Stayed August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bentz_mickael
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed August 7, 2011

This is a great spot to stay if you are taking a ferry in Le Havre. It is only 25 mn drive away and so much prettier. The hotel is very very well located, only 2 min walk from the port and is in great nick. The price of the room is particularly good if you are travelling as a familly.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view on the Normandie bridge
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Euroboyeric
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, UK
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed July 24, 2011

Just had a brilliant stay with the family at the All Seasons Honfleur. The hotel has been renovated, and the decor is bright and modern. The rooms, although small are immaculately clean and very well appointed with free water, premium TV channels and comfortable beds. We stayed there with 3 children aged 5 and under, and they could not have been more helpful. There were toys and games in reception and the children were each given a welcome pack. Our family room consisted of 2 double rooms with a secure lobby which we could lock so that the rooms adjoined: it work very well for us. Apparently they also have duplex rooms for families with the children sleeping on a mezzanine. There were some additional nice touches in the hotel: Free buffet breakfast with a nice selection of items, a free pram to borrow for our baby, and free tea, coffee and water in reception until 10pm. The only negative was that I asked for some hot water to make a baby bottle at 10.15, but was told that this would not be possible because the 'kettle' service stopped at 10pm (this is France after all, and they love their silly rules!). Apart from this small issue which was resolve by a bit of negotiation in French, the staff were really excellent and very friendly. Honfleur itself s beautiful and well worth a visit. We were recommended a family restaurant called 'Le Relais Des Cyclistes' by the hotel: Although it was not much to look at, the food was really amazing, and the staff could not have been more accommodating of us and our 3 small children.

  • Stayed July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank macklinhelsi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lima, Peru
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed June 13, 2011

We stayed in this hotel by accident, as we messed up our reservations in a partner hotel. This hotel was a delightful surprise: very well located in the centre of Honfleur, brand new and spotless regarding service and cleanliness. Rooms had free wifi, and had all the basic needs catered for including free breakfast. The best surprise was the price. It was much cheaper than any of the hotels we had so far stayed in, the cleanest and with excellent front desk service.

Room Tip: Near lifts
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HoracioLima_Peru
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 6 Contributor
136 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
Reviewed May 29, 2011

Although small the hotel is modern and very clean. Great rate for a one night with breakfast, location is opp the car park.

  • Stayed June 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Verien
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Honfleur hotels
0.6 mi away
Ibis Honfleur
Ibis Honfleur
#8 of 33 in Honfleur
957 reviews
0.1 mi away
Mercure Honfleur
Mercure Honfleur
#10 of 33 in Honfleur
816 reviews
0.2 mi away
Best Western Le Cheval Blanc
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Ibis Budget Honfleur
Ibis Budget Honfleur
#14 of 33 in Honfleur
961 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel l'Ecrin
Hotel l'Ecrin
#5 of 33 in Honfleur
502 reviews
0.5 mi away
La Closerie Honfleur
La Closerie Honfleur
#18 of 33 in Honfleur
377 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to ibis Styles Honfleur? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about ibis Styles Honfleur

Property: ibis Styles Honfleur
Address: 3 quai de la Tour, 14600, Honfleur, France
Location: France > Normandy > Basse-Normandie > Calvados > Honfleur
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Ski-In / Ski-Out Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Honfleur
#7 Romantic Hotel in Honfleur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — ibis Styles Honfleur 3*
Number of rooms: 48
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, ACCOR, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, Agoda, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your ibis Styles Honfleur reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
All Seasons Honfleur Hotel Honfleur
De La Tour Honfleur
De La Tour Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing