We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel shame about the bedbugs”
Review of La Chaumiere

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
La Chaumiere
Ranked #19 of 33 Hotels in Honfleur
Reviewed October 28, 2013

We really enjoyed the weekend we spent in Honfleur. This hotel restaurant and the food they served was excellent. Unfortunately that cannot be said for the hotel accommodation as both my partner and I returned with extensive bites from bed bug having slept in one of their rooms for a long weekend. We both suffered and continue to suffer two weeks on considerable discomfort from these bites. Given the high rates this hotel charges to stay in what is a luxury hotel with such surrounding and facilities, we expected the room to be equally of a high standards of cleanliness and hygiene. It is unfortunate that our memories of such a lovely weekend has been spoilt by the continued physical discomfort we now are experiencing.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank PaulHJ459SW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (274)
There are newer reviews for La Chaumiere
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

17 - 23 of 274 reviews

Reviewed September 3, 2013

Had diner on the veranda outside. Setting was fantastic facing on outdoor open fire. Service was excellent, the food perfect. Greated by the owner on arrival and had a friendly chat during diner.
All in all an excellent diner and good value for money too.
highly recommended.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank BeauSejouri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 29, 2013 via mobile

Had dinner evening of 28th. Beautiful place but had to ask 3 times to get an aperitif and poured own wine & water throughout meal. Chef did fantastic food but front of house did seem to struggle. Lamb and Cod were great

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Thank holidayshoes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 31, 2013

We had a meal for ten here and the service was great, such friendliness and a lovely atmosphere. Oysters were so fresh and well prepared - yum! Outside area really well designed. Children welcome at anytime too!

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank S K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 30, 2013

La Chaumière underwent significant changes recently. The outside remains that of a typical farmhouse in Normandy, but the surrounding grounds and the interior have been redesigned with much more modern details. Both styles blend rather well IMO, and the contrast is quite interesting: depending how you look at it, you will feel in a very quiet countryside or in a trendy urban hotel...notwithstanding the industrial structures of Le Havre harbor at the far back of the sea view.

The hotel does not seem to have proper "suites" but our room (#4, overlooking the sea and the gardens) was very spacious and easily accommodated a couple with two young children. The style contrast was everywhere, mixing a lot of raw wood from the farm's old structure with a very modern bath tub fitted with chromatherapy features. Despite its dark-painted walls, the room was quite bright, but the bathroom seriously lacked lighting, to the extent that the miror was almost useless for shaving or doing a make-up.

The hotel's public areas are quite small but the terrace with its modern fountain must be a very enjoyable extension when the weather is warm enough. The restaurant room, with sea view and a big fireplace, also is nice. Breakfast is basic but good, dinner food was quite tasty and reaonably priced, but the wine list is very poor, both in quality and presentation (lack of indications of producers, irrelevant comments on certain bottles).

The staff was very friendly, welcoming and efficient, although service was generally less refined than one would expect in this category of hotel.

Overall a very nice, welcoming place whose few weaknesses should be easy fixes. We will probably come back.

Room Tip: Some rooms appear to be noisy or smallish, but #4 was very nice.
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sanzot-Pignon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 11, 2013

We were staying begin May 2013 with a part of our family to celebrate the 90th anniversary of our Mother and Grand Mother. This small and beautiful hotel has an exceptionnel friendly, competent and proactive team. The rooms are not large but more than OK and very clean. The kitchen is delicious and special requests are taken care of. The location is unique and the lawns and the garden are well taken care of. The pic nic boxes are amazing, full of tasty and fresh food and more than enough. We will be certainly revisit this little shrine.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marcel L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 5, 2013

La Chaumiere is not easy to find, but, once you arrive, it's well worth it. The rooms are spacious and lovely, the bathrooms well equipped, and the restaurant fantastic. The outdoor spaces are just beautiful as well. Had the weather been better, we would have spent more time enjoying the outdoor fireplace. Overall, we loved it!

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KFM9275
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Honfleur hotels
1.2 mi away
La Ferme Saint Simeon - Relais et Chateaux
0.8 mi away
Le Manoir Des Impressionnistes & Spa - Esprit de France
2.0 mi away
Auberge de la Source - Hotel de Charme
Auberge de la Source - Hotel de ...
#1 of 1 in Barneville-la-Bertran
523 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
La Maison de Lucie
La Maison de Lucie
#1 of 33 in Honfleur
539 reviews
1.5 mi away
Les Maisons de Lea
Les Maisons de Lea
#8 of 33 in Honfleur
582 reviews
2.8 mi away
Hotel Le Manoir de la Poterie & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Chaumiere? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Chaumiere

Address: Route du Littoral | Vasouy, 14600, Honfleur, France
Location: France > Normandy > Basse-Normandie > Calvados > Honfleur
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#7 Luxury Hotel in Honfleur
Price Range: $202 - $434 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — La Chaumiere 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your La Chaumiere reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Chaumiere Honfleur
La Chaumiere Hotel Honfleur

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing