We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming and Beautiful”
Review of La Chaumiere

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
La Chaumiere
Ranked #18 of 33 Hotels in Honfleur
Reviewed May 5, 2013

La Chaumiere is not easy to find, but, once you arrive, it's well worth it. The rooms are spacious and lovely, the bathrooms well equipped, and the restaurant fantastic. The outdoor spaces are just beautiful as well. Had the weather been better, we would have spent more time enjoying the outdoor fireplace. Overall, we loved it!

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KFM9275
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (285)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

24 - 30 of 285 reviews

Reviewed November 4, 2012

By which I wonder: why would you be negative if you know what you are looking for?
(For clarity: we only stayed 1 night in traveling ahead to Bretagne)

Very well-decorated; very clean; the price is what you pay for a five-start hotel; the place is not to close to the city-center which is exactly what we assumed to be (calm & relaxing); @ the same time, it is close enough to be there in 5 minutes; the staff is friendly; the food is excellent (and actually not expensive at all if you look at the quality you get); the views are wonderfull;

So, a place to stay for sure if you are in the neighbourhood

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lialis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 2, 2012

I am surprised to see so many negative comments here. Yes this hotel is pricey, at least the rooms, because I thought the restaurant was reasonable value for money. And yes, the rooms are smallish. But, this place, inside and outside, is so beautiful and decorated with good taste, comfortable though smallish bedrooms (but with the best matress I have ever known apart from Palacio Garvey in Jerez in Spain), with a really good restaurant, then I forgive all of the above. I will definitely go back.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Maximu5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 15, 2012

Chose the hotel as looked a good place for a pampered last night of our trip, and near Honfleur which is a lovely destination.

Some of the more balanced reviews below are/remain spot on - there are positives and negatives:

+'s

-A lovely old building (Norman longhouse upgrade?) with real character and charm.
-The staff were very helpful and attentive - none of that haughtiness one can encounter.
-The restaurant ambience and food were excellent, as were the wines. Continental breakfast was good.
-The gardens are well situated to view the estuary (and Le Havre if that is to your taste) and slope down to the beach.

It is with the gardens that the conundrum of this place is tipified. The theme is a little different, an acquired taste even, & grounds are landscaped down to the sea; but are simply not finished and there is no sign that they ever will be. The beach access is over a building site of debris and the Japanese style water feature at the front of the hotel is a candidate for the title of least likely body of water in the world to support acquatic life. Just get it finished for God's sake!

-'s

-The rooms are pleasant and reasonably equipped but (on the ground floor at least) just too small for the price we paid. No aircon, no shower.
-No bar area (except outside) so a late-ish cognac post dinner risks disturbing other guests already retired. This is all the more odd as there appear to be 2 office/reception areas in a hotel that is restricted by its architecture - one of which could easily be used as better public space.
-It's not very close to Honfleur compared to the competition, and the complimentary cycles would be a nice ride but a chore to secure in the town whilst exploring. The taxi firm introduced charged us E18 each way which seemed a heck of a lot for the journey.
- The same colours that work well in the light and airy dining room (dark brown panels juxtaposed with ancient oak) feels like being in a coffin in the inner hall areas.

One other strange thing - we were recommended to "the best French food in Honfleur" at Cap 42, booked a table (despite the appearance suggesting more a cafe than a restaurant) and then went back to the hotel - only to find the owner of Cap42 sitting behind reception at the hotel. This may or may not be the best food in Honfleur (we cancelled our table and ate in the hotel instead) and, to be fair, there is a bike with an advertising placade for it in the hotel's front garden, but the way this occurred was a tad surprising, and users of this site rate it 42nd in Honfleur.

All in all, we really wanted to like this place. Where the owners' plans have been completed eg in the dinning room the place has all the feel of a Relais venue, but they need to get the final touches done asap or they will continue to rack up reviews by frustrated guests who have also been surprised by the shortcomings of the place - and feel the price is too high for the experience.

Room Tip: Go upstairs, judging from other peoples pictures and our cramped conditions on the ground floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lesjackos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 27, 2012

Very nice 'cottage', well-equipped with direct access to the sea, sun-bathing area, bike rental, Kayak rental,etc..

Decent restaurant (wines are expensive).

Offered a free cider around 17h.

Rooms are of a modern design, it is true, but they offer comfort, they are quiet and you enjoy it.

Free parking.

Do not understand why people were disappointed here

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank XavierMelisse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 10, 2012

I have to agree that this is not of Relais standard. Having said that many aspects are nice. The positive first. We liked the decor and modern styling. We had a superior room and it was large and spacious with a big bathroom. It also had a good coffee machine and ours had a make up mirror. The staff were friendly and really went out of their way to make us comfortable and look after our son, heating up his milk for him and providing a cot in room. The garden was big and comfortable to sit out in.

On the negative side, there doesn't seem to be enough staff to provide the Relais service one expects. The friendly receptionist also doubled as the bell hop and was too slight to carry our huge bags up the stairs to our room. On our first night, we waited 20 minutes for a menu and then were served our amuse bouche before the drinks arrived (after 30 mins we still didn't have a drink) and they forgot our water twice. Breakfast is not served until 8, not so good for an early start, and then there is no choice. It is a plated continental breakfast. Not bad but not fantastic. The food in the restaurant is very good and the chef is very charming and made substitutions for us but it is not exptional. The walls are very thin so you can hear people talking in reception when you are in trying to sleep. The garden leads to the beach but is very boggy in places and rough round the edges. Also the beach faces the oil refinery and would not be somewhere to sunbathe. Overall, it is nice boutique hotel, that were you paying 100 euros less a night for half board, would have great reviews. However at the prices charged it needs more staff, a better level of service, to be quieter, to finish the garden and to make the food not just good but exceptional.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Constantia1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 23, 2011

Dreadfully disappointing hotel with a very misleading pretty exterior. Our bedroom (number 5) was truly awful - modern to the point of being stark and soulless. Many features one would expect were missing, for example a light in the shower, mirror for applying makeup, a shelf for toiletries, slippers for walking on cold floor and not even a wash basin in the toilet!
It was also depressingly dark in our part of the hotel as dark brown paint everywhere. What are their interior designers thinking of? We could not have stayed another night.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Abigail58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Honfleur hotels
0.8 mi away
Le Manoir Des Impressionnistes & Spa - Esprit de France
1.2 mi away
La Ferme Saint Simeon - Relais et Chateaux
2.0 mi away
Auberge de la Source - Hotel de Charme
Auberge de la Source - Hotel de ...
#1 of 1 in Barneville-la-Bertran
540 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Les Maisons de Lea
Les Maisons de Lea
#8 of 33 in Honfleur
597 reviews
1.4 mi away
La Maison de Lucie
La Maison de Lucie
#1 of 33 in Honfleur
551 reviews
2.8 mi away
Hotel Le Manoir de la Poterie & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Chaumiere? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Chaumiere

Address: Route du Littoral | Vasouy, 14600, Honfleur, France
Location: France > Normandy > Basse-Normandie > Calvados > Honfleur
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#7 Luxury Hotel in Honfleur
Price Range: $137 - $530 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — La Chaumiere 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and Cheap Tickets so you can book your La Chaumiere reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Chaumiere Honfleur
La Chaumiere Hotel Honfleur

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing