We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very pleased”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of La Chaumiere

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
La Chaumiere
Ranked #19 of 33 Hotels in Honfleur
Atlanta
Level Contributor
20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Very pleased”
Reviewed October 8, 2007

After a long overnight flight , driving from Paris and stopping a few places along the way, this hotel was a site for sore eyes. We arrived around 5 pm. The grounds were beautiful, loved the look-half timbered, Normand style. Staff was very friendly! The room was big, even by American standards ( I booked in advance, and I think it was the largest) Unfortunately, the restaurant was booked and we asked for a place for "take out" this was lost in translation! The staff couldn't figure out what we wanted. Try miming take out-it;s hard! We did not feel like dressing up and going into town so we did France's version of take out-baguette, brownies and cookies from the town bakery, (closing time) next door, the meat market sliced fresh ham and cheese, bottled cokes and brought it all back to the hotel. It was divine! Soaked in the large and slept for about 10 hours straight! The hotel granted us a late checkout and we were free to walk around Honfluer and off to the D-day beaches. We could have stayed another night. Overall, excellent, comfortable stay.

Stayed July 2005
Helpful?
3 Thank Memphisbelle70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

240 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    88
    59
    53
    20
    20
See reviews for
35
156
Solo
0
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed April 20, 2007

This site warned me and I did not listen. I love normandy and the pictures indicated a true normandy experience at a Relais et Chateaux. They had a few employees multi tasking but not enough employees to provide a "Relais level" service. The menu had no "sense of place" and no Normandy dishes on the menu which was disappointing. Orange juice at breakfast would be freshly squeezed at such establishment, instead out of a bottle or can... They take business for granted in my opinion or they would have someone in charge to see what the client sees. Despite the terrible views of a commercial harbor, the place has potential as an escape from Paris.Not a Relais et chateaux experience and overpriced.
The staff was working very hard and willing to please but they can do so much...

  • Stayed April 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
7 Thank obottois
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Honfleur hotels

Glasgow, UK
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed March 12, 2007

After some wonderful stays at Relais & Chateaux hotels we expected a lot from this one. Its website extols its ambience, its beautiful location between beach and country. What it doesn't say is that the beach, and all of the hotel's sea views, face directly on to one of Europe's largest oil refineries, at least two miles long and in full view across the estuary of the Seine.

We had been warned that the room was small, but was the only one available for the length of our stay. We were not prepared for quite how small it was, and for its location. There was only 50cm between the foot of the bed and the wall. On one side was the gents lavatory serving the restaurant, on another the kitchen, where work started at 6am and ended after 11. The third faced the main corridor between reception, the staircase to the upper floors and the restaurant. The only compensation was the window wall which faced the garden, but the terrace was populated with chairs and loungers within half a metre of our room and so the other guests (loud) conversations were plainly audible to us at all hours (and presumably vice versa).
Complaints revealed another very pleasant suite, at 650 Euros, but it had an uninterrupted view of the refinery and there could be no reduction to offset our disappointment.

The restaurant was OK, not as good as any of the restaurants we visited in Honfleur although twice the price, and when we suggested that we would not take the lunch or dinner included on our demi-pension rate, we were quickly told that there could be no refund for meals not taken.

We did not seem to be the only disappointed guests and the otherwise pleasant reception staff seemed to be half-expecting our complaints. The senior manager, Bruno (?), possibly a scion of the owner, was no help at all, joking about our predicament but usually keeping well out of the way.

We even thought about cutting our losses and moving to the sister establishment Ferme St Simeon, but reviews of it on TripAdvisor suggest we had a lucky escape by staying where we were.

Stayed September 2006
Helpful?
7 Thank Roger,Glasgow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, NC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed October 1, 2006

We just finished a wonderful 4 night stay at La Chaumiere. While quite small, the hotel had commodious common areas inside and out. The staff were particularly helpful and accomodating, and even enjoyable. Our room, while fairly simply furnished, had an excellent view over both cows and water-not uncommon in Normandy-and the quiet, idyllic setting was a fair trade for not being within walking distance of town.
We and our travelling companions also visited and dined at their "parent" La Ferme de St. Simeon, and all agreed that we had made the better choice, even the restaurant. I would think a car would be necessary, although we did see some taxi's come and go.

  • Liked — The setting and the restaurant
  • Disliked — I liked it all
  • Tips/Secrets — The meadow view is also a water view
  • Stayed September 2006
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jeem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed July 5, 2006

The hotel is in a quiet loation just south of the town center. While the food was excellent, the hotel overrall did not measure up to the standards one would expect from a Relais & Chateaux. The room was small with two twins pushed together, a twenty year old hair dryer attached to the wall in the bathroom, an old fan and a ten-inch tv. (there is no lounge and we wanted to watch the world cup so we went into town)
I would at least expect a modern hairdryer, privacy shades for the first floor room and given the heat, a new more powerful fan (a local shoe store had a better fan than they provided!). None of these things cost more than 30 euros which made us feel they were resting on the laurels of their membership to R&C didn't feel the need to bother with the details. I realize that most of Europe has two twins pushed together, but still, I was not expecting that from this hotel. If they can't be bothered with even the small details, then they shouldn't charge so much.

The head person was wonderful and extremely helpful, but the rest of the staff did not speak english and did not make much effort to help when we asked them questions.

The food was excellent but they had one menu for both lunch and dinner. The breakfast is over priced, I would go early into town, park on a side street and have breakfast there.
Beware not always easy to find parking in town and not all the meters work.

The location is nice and quiet but it is out of town. The town itself is very quaint but faces an oil refinery so it is actually better not to be on the beach or face out of town. The sister hotel sits on a cliff facing the oil refinery.
Our opinion of Relais & Chateaux has plummeted and we will never stay in one again (we did not have a great experience at a R&C hotel in Italy)

  • Stayed July 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank SxxM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SW Herts England
Level Contributor
17 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed August 1, 2005

This hotel, built in the traditional Normandy half-timbered style, is expensive, but it is worth it. ‘The best of everything and everything of the best’ seemed to be the motto. The staff were very efficient and welcoming. No room numbers – they know who you are. We had a vast and luxurious bedroom and a marble bathroom to match with a whirlpool bath plus separate shower.
There was an excellent restaurant, looking out over the Seine estuary. Outside there was a pleasant lawn for afternoon tea or pre-dinner drinks and on the other side of the hotel a grassy slope led to the tennis court and then to a private access to the sandy beach from which, at any but the highest tides one can take a (longish) walk into Honfleur.
I tried to think of a criticism but frankly, I couldn’t.

  • Stayed July 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
16 Thank ExEmGe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Honfleur hotels
0.8 mi away
Le Manoir Des Impressionnistes & Spa - Esprit de France
2.0 mi away
Auberge de la Source - Hotel de Charme
Auberge de la Source - Hotel de ...
#1 of 1 in Barneville-la-Bertran
458 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hotel l'Ecrin
Hotel l'Ecrin
#5 of 33 in Honfleur
472 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
La Ferme Saint Simeon - Relais et Chateaux
1.4 mi away
La Maison de Lucie
La Maison de Lucie
#1 of 33 in Honfleur
494 reviews
1.6 mi away
La Fraichette
La Fraichette
#16 of 33 in Honfleur
108 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Chaumiere? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Chaumiere

Property: La Chaumiere
Address: Route du Littoral | Vasouy, 14600, Honfleur, France
Location: France > Normandy > Basse-Normandie > Calvados > Honfleur
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#6 Luxury Hotel in Honfleur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — La Chaumiere 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Travelocity, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and Cheap Tickets so you can book your La Chaumiere reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Chaumiere Honfleur
La Chaumiere Hotel Honfleur

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing