We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Modest but clean and efficcient”
Review of Antares Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Antares Hotel
Ranked #25 of 33 Hotels in Honfleur
Tallinn, Estonia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Modest but clean and efficcient”
Reviewed August 14, 2012

We're 5 friends travelling Brittany and Normandy. Stayed there for one night only.

Hotel in general

Compared to our destinations Deauville and Trouville, it looked from different opera. But not in a bad way. So do not expect the same atmosphere as in these romantic towns. The location was 18 km from these destinations and that was comfortable to cover by our own car. The interior was quite neutral and clean.

Staff

Very little staff encounter. Just getting the key and paying the bill, that's pretty much it. Cards were kindly accepted though and service was nice.

Room

Big compared to France average. We had room for three and it accommodated us well. Costed 150 euros. The design of the rooms was simple and rooms were clean. View was ok, to the bridge.

Food and drinks

We skipped breakfast and went to Trouville fish market instead for oysters and wine. We recommend you do the same. 48 oysters + 2 bottles of wine for around 80 euro. Yam!

Kids

Well we did not bring any :) Nevertheless the rest seemed to have travelled with the kids and at least Spa area was great to hang around with them.

Garden

No big garden, rather a big terrace with chairs and tables. Looke all right to enjoy a quick drink before going out in the evening.

Sea/Spa

Spa was nicely designed, lovely wooden floor. Sauna + steam sauna and quite decent sized pool though not for sporty swim. A little scandinavian spa atmosphere was present...

Parking

Free and sufficient space. In total - we recommend it for sleeping the night over if you wish to visit Deauville and Trouville.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Endrik R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

554 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    66
    206
    164
    74
    44
See reviews for
138
287
5
17
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Brussels, Belgium
Level 6 Contributor
190 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
Reviewed June 8, 2012

I've been here 5 days. it's a good position if u wish to travel around normandy.
The hotel rooms are clean and well organized (of course it's not a 5 star hotel) but if you're not used to a 5 stars hotel it's good. There's an additional price of 10€/day if you're travelling with your pet as we did.
The lounge and the bar were quite welcome, if the weather it's good you've outside tables too.
Parking should not be a problem because in the back they do have a hudge parking space.
The location isn't really close by the city center but if you've a car you can easily reach it in less than 5 minutes; if you're going by feet you should consider at least 15min downhill to go and 15min uphill to come back.
Spa facilities are ok (pool and dry sauna). The negative point is that Jacuzzi was missing and the Hammam it's definitively too hot (around 90/95°C) where it's almost impossible to get in.

Room Tip: don't take the rooms on the side street. take the ones on the back side where the parking lot is...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alberto D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
305 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 116 helpful votes
Reviewed April 27, 2012

Modern. Little character but OK. Tendency to dark décor. Rustic impression with wooden floors and straw chair seats. Somewhat of a Spartan feel. Few amenities. Clean. Small rooms – no shower curtains – toilet paper not tissue – hairdryer but no safe or tea/coffee facilities etc – flat screen TV with NO English channels – free WiFi internet in public areas and nearby rooms – large free car park – no restaurant – only breakfast (few eateries nearby – nearest is Macdonalds !!).

At least 20 minutes walk out of town. Honfleur is a cute port – the restaurants concentrate on ‘mussels & chips’ or squid or rabbit or tripe etc – all the local dishes.

A family hotel – so lots and lots of screaming kids.

Room Tip: Try to get as big a room as possible
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mike99Marg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
73 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
Reviewed October 18, 2011

Stayed for 2 nights with 7 friends on a walking weekend.
The Hotel is good and has the bonus of a 24 hour bar. (Although a 25cl bottle of 1664 cost 4 euros!)
The staff are very good and the breakfast was excellent but it is really a bit too far from the centre of town.
They said it was about 15 minutes from the port and centre of town and it might well be for Usain Bolt but we took at least 25 minutes walking fast and its not a very nice walk either.
Apart from that no complaints and everything was O.K.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Choofie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berkshire, England
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 5, 2011

The hotel looks like it's had some money spent on it in parts which is very nice.
On booking the hotel it looked like it was in a quiet part of Honfleur but was'nt it's by a very busy road.
The room we had was quiet dark with only one small lamp and two bed side lamps,
The bathroom was poor with tiles being removed and not replaced and it had no shower curtain which made the floor very wet so it smelled damp in there.
The room and bathroom was dusty.
The hotel was also supposed to be within walking distance to the centre of town?
when we asked for a taxi we were told that the hotel taxi driver was on hoilday and the local taxi's were not nice to people to use.
On a good note the breakfast's were very good but a little expensive at 11 euro each.
The staff were very frendly in general & helpful.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jill167
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed August 30, 2011

We booked the duplex family room (4 people) which was very clean, good size and good value. The pool and spa area area are of a very high standard and we used them a lot during our 2 night stay! Can't comment on breakfast as didn't have it but overall we'd definitely recommend this hotel which is an easy 20mins walk into Honfleur if you follow the road opposite the entrance rather than main road as other reviewers have suggested!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank meesters
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed July 18, 2011

Just back from a weekend in Honfleur, staying at Antares Hotel. Honfleur is a beautiful fishing port but the weather was completely miserable for the entire weekend - rainy and windy. We were so glad of the indoor swimming pool, sauna and hammas! The pool and spa areas were clean and nicely finished; the swimming pool water was warm; and the sauna had relaxing music playing softly so you could unwind. The pool has steps into it, but is deep so is not suitable for children unless they can swim or have arm bands.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
Helpful?
1 Thank LondonEv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Honfleur hotels
0.6 mi away
La Closerie Honfleur
La Closerie Honfleur
#18 of 33 in Honfleur
377 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hotel Le M Honfleur
Hotel Le M Honfleur
#17 of 33 in Honfleur
321 reviews
0.4 mi away
Ibis Honfleur
Ibis Honfleur
#8 of 33 in Honfleur
959 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Best Western Le Cheval Blanc
2.7 mi away
Adonis Les Hauts de Honfleur
Adonis Les Hauts de Honfleur
#1 of 1 in Equemauville
408 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hotel l'Ecrin
Hotel l'Ecrin
#5 of 33 in Honfleur
504 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Antares Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Antares Hotel

Property: Antares Hotel
Address: rue St Clair | la Riviere Saint Sauveur, 14600, Honfleur, France
Location: France > Normandy > Basse-Normandie > Calvados > Honfleur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Spa Hotel in Honfleur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Antares Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 76
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Cancelon, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Antares Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Antares Hotel Honfleur

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing