We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quaint Hotel 2 min walk from Honfluer Centre”
Review of Hotel La Diligence

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel La Diligence
Ranked #26 of 33 Hotels in Honfleur
Marsworth, null, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Quaint Hotel 2 min walk from Honfluer Centre”
Reviewed November 9, 2013

Smashing and quirky hotel right near Honfleur harbour takes 2 mins to walk down, plus they have a car park, when for wedding anniversary break and would return for sure, highly recommend. Also not too expensive, they have a bar and do breakfast.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Brandon A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

178 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    25
    69
    52
    21
    11
See reviews for
26
101
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bexhill-on-Sea, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed September 17, 2013 via mobile

Had read some bad reviews on this hotel but we think these are unfounded. Hotel is in a great location, five minutes walk to the harbour. Spotlessly clean, rooms, the standard, was a reasonable size with a bath, and breakfast fine. Would stay here again as love Hornfleur,

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pat A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shropshire
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed September 2, 2013

Well located less than 5 minute walk to the harbour area with it's large choice of restaurants. We were allocated a room in the courtyard, it was of reasonable size and 'brightly' decorated, although a little dated. The bed was comfortable and we enjoyed a good nights sleep. Bathroom was large but as mentioned in other reviews, no shower curtain and just the thinnest of curtains on the window that faced the courtyard. We returned to the hotel after dinner and decided to have a nightcap in the bar but waited over 5 minutes while one staff member watched football on TV and the another stood in the doorway texting on his phone, disappointing. Breakfast was ok with the usual choice of cereals, fruit, cold meats, etc. The La Diligence is not particularly cheap for what it was but then again you have to pay to be close to the centre.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ShropshireMo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
west sussex
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed August 31, 2013

Only 5 minutes walk from the harbour / shops, Nice room , separate toilet, which is useful. Free car parking on site, although can be a bit tight. quiet location. Can't complain about the cost, You get what you pay for.

Room Tip: We had room 9, which was on the first floor, Very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank stickbean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fareham, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed August 31, 2013

Stayed for three nights and can't fault the place ( in it's price bracket ) The rooms are clean and tidy, the breakfast is not bad value & the staff are very friendly. Very close to the sights of Honfleur.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank thepompeypaul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newport, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
74 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed August 15, 2013

Fabulous location, car park not the largest and requiring some shuffling with people watching in front and behind in oder to get the car out again the following morning, thanks to idiotic parking by other car owners. room VERY expensive for what it is, no view of the courtyard, just of corrugated rooftops out of a small window at head-height. The room was in desperate need of redecoration, the wallpaper was ripped and peeling, there were holes in the walls and ceilings and loose tiles in the bathroom, the one tile was merely propped up against the bath panel. There was also no shower curtain over the bath which meant a shower flooded the whole floor. Breakfasts were incredibly expensive, so we skipped those. We also believed on laterooms that the room we booked was a "superior" room, when in fact we were put into a "standard" room so watch out for that!

HOWEVER, the bad was HUGE and very comfy and it is perfectly located for the harbour, just a short stroll away, but I wouldn't stay here again.

Room Tip: Don't have any room under 10(ground floor and can be tricky to get out of the door with cases if...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JacquelineIreland_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rye
Level 6 Contributor
200 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
Reviewed July 5, 2013

This is the second time we have used this hotel for a one night stopover in Honfleur. It is in a great location, walking centre to everywhere, and free parking, though you can't pre-book so need to get there early! Also there is free wi-fi in the room, with a code from reception. The rooms are fine, but very small toilet and bathroom (we were in the standard room) but for a night it's fine! It could do with a shower curtain or glass door for the shower, which is in the bath, as otherwise you can soak the bathroom! The light in the bedroom isn't great (difficult to see to put make up on!) but for a night, it's absolutely fine!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kathy27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Honfleur hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel du Dauphin
Hotel du Dauphin
#20 of 33 in Honfleur
283 reviews
0.3 mi away
Best Western Le Cheval Blanc
0.2 mi away
Hotel l'Ecrin
Hotel l'Ecrin
#5 of 33 in Honfleur
493 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
La Closerie Honfleur
La Closerie Honfleur
#18 of 33 in Honfleur
375 reviews
0.7 mi away
Ibis Honfleur
Ibis Honfleur
#8 of 33 in Honfleur
943 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Entre Terre Et Mer
Hotel Entre Terre Et Mer
#27 of 33 in Honfleur
156 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel La Diligence? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel La Diligence

Property: Hotel La Diligence
Address: 53 rue de la Republique, 14600, Honfleur, France
Location: France > Normandy > Basse-Normandie > Calvados > Honfleur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 33 Hotels in Honfleur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel La Diligence 3*
Number of rooms: 27
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel La Diligence reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Diligence Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing