We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location”
Review of Hotel La Diligence

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel La Diligence
Ranked #25 of 33 Hotels in Honfleur
Stockton-on-Tees
Level Contributor
16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Good location”
Reviewed July 1, 2008

We stayed here for two nights in June, and the hotel itself is a small courtyard surrounded by rooms on two floors. The rooms are clean and tidy and our bed was very comfortable, but the decorator seems to have a liking for the colour pink. The staff are very friendly and there's a small bar which also has an entrance from the street, so you get a few locals in there adding to the atmoshpere. The very best thing about this place is it's location. It's a little more than five minutes walk to the harbour, so it's perfect for reaching the restaurants and bars which are plentiful. Would stay here again.

  • Liked — Locations
  • Disliked — The pink decoration
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wifey01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

178 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    25
    69
    52
    21
    11
See reviews for
26
101
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
wales
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed April 18, 2008

We stayed for 2 nights at Easter. Hotel room good - spacious
with a recently refurbished bathroom. Parking was a nightmare -
no chance on site so we were forced to park a few streets
away and walk.A real mismatch of decor/surroundings-
some still vaguely french intermixed with oriental -thai??.
However this did not spoil our stay - location was excellent
an easy walk to Honfleurs lovely bars and restaurants.
We would return should we revisit Honfleur.

  • Stayed March 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kateWales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 18, 2007

We turned up in honfleur on the day and got a room in this hotel that night based simply on how it looked. The rooms weren't huge but were pretty nice and perfectly clean. The place just had a nice atmosphere tho and the staff were great. Also a great location for getting breakfasts in closeby patisseries or walking to the harbour for dinner (2mins).

Thoroughly recommended!

  • Liked — the location
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank colinmcgray
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampshire England
Level Contributor
83 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed June 24, 2007

This hotel is pretty good value for money. It just up the road from the old harbour (2 minutes walk) and has good car parking. It's a small hotel and the room we had was on the ground floor. It was quite spacious although a bit dark. It did have a large bathroom. Everything was clean and there was a nice little bar. Staff were extra friendly and helpful. Breakfast was 9 euros (including the orange juice) and was ok but better value breakfasts can be had down at the harbour. Joseph the manager spoke good english and was always on hand if required. The hotel also incorporates what looks like a newly opened internet cafe/bar next door. Good if you want to keep up to date with your e-mails.
Overall it's basic but clean, friendly and not too expensive. Everything in Honfleur is within walking distance so you can park the car and enjoy some of the excellent restaurants and bars in the town. (L'Hippocampe was our favourite, on the old quay).

  • Liked — Spacious & Clean
  • Disliked — Too dark
  • Stayed June 2007, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank steviec1211
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
109 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed April 6, 2007

my girlfriend booked this hotel so my expectations were neutral. when i saw the rooms i didnt have any reason to change my mind: they're basic (a little run down in fact) but they were clean and as long as you aren't spending much time in them, they're fine.
however the staff were VERY friendly, not at all what ive come to expect from French hotels (i spend a lot of time in then). when i discovered that i had cleverly left my lights on all night (in fact they probably werent on all night as the battery ran out) they found some jump leads, brought round the hotel van and got me started.

so if you want luxury, pay for it in a luxury hotel. if you want a cheap place to stay (we paid 85 euros for a double on a holiday weekend) this is ok.

  • Stayed April 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank fearanti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed July 3, 2006

We arrived after the 1pm check-in time and the room was unavailable. With a baby and the heat it was not the best situation to be in. We were kindly offered another room to freshen up. After a 5am start we just wanted to unpack all our luggage and a 9month old baby. The room was at the top of the building, three flight of stairs and in the roof, it was a very hot room and no lifts!. Probably not the best room for a family. There is a supermarket across the road and a very short walk into the town. Honfleur is beautiful.

  • Stayed June 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Honfleur hotels

England
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed March 29, 2005

Stayed in early 2004. We were misled by the photo into thinking this would be a really nice little hotel for a short break. Dark, dingy room in annexe to main hotel, with dreadful decor. Breakfast very basic. We won't be returning. Car parking fine though, and there is a Champion supermarket right opposite. Honfleur itself is well worth a visit.

  • Stayed February 2004
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Robert_Smith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Honfleur hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel du Dauphin
Hotel du Dauphin
#20 of 33 in Honfleur
279 reviews
0.6 mi away
La Closerie Honfleur
La Closerie Honfleur
#18 of 33 in Honfleur
370 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel l'Ecrin
Hotel l'Ecrin
#4 of 33 in Honfleur
486 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Best Western Le Cheval Blanc
0.7 mi away
Ibis Honfleur
Ibis Honfleur
#7 of 33 in Honfleur
934 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Monet
Hotel Monet
#11 of 33 in Honfleur
402 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel La Diligence? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel La Diligence

Property: Hotel La Diligence
Address: 53 rue de la Republique, 14600, Honfleur, France
Location: France > Normandy > Basse-Normandie > Calvados > Honfleur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 33 Hotels in Honfleur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel La Diligence 3*
Number of rooms: 27
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Priceline, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Hotel La Diligence reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Diligence Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing