We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“pass this one up”
Review of Hotel La Diligence

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel La Diligence
Ranked #26 of 33 Hotels in Honfleur
Reviewed September 24, 2011

Stayed in Hon Fluer will in France. The hotel looks great from the pictures, however, we found the rooms to be small, dirty, and old furniture (not antique but beat up). I didn't sleep well in this room at all. There are other options in Hon Fkuer as we checked them out for our next trip. Try another. The front desk personnel were helpful snf friendly and the outside appearance looks great until you open the door.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mitchall m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (203)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

60 - 66 of 203 reviews

Reviewed August 7, 2011

Strange combination of eastern western styles. Nice big room, small bed. Above all: We literally sticked to the tiled floor. Would not recommend it.

  • Stayed: July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lvdh1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 13, 2011

This is a very tired looking hotel in need of a total refurbishment. Rooms look as if they haven't been decorated for years. Faded wallpaper, paint, carpets and bedlinen. The roof even has a green plastic cover to keep the rain out! I wouldn't go there again and would definitely not recommend it. The only good point is the location - only 5 mins to the harbour. Last but not least 2 charges were added to our bill which were not ours.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank anganddegs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 1, 2011

we stayed with a group of 13 total which they accomodated easily - we booked last September and I was pleased (as the leader of the group) with the communication process. Rooms are a "motel" style looking onto a very pleasant courtyard with very nice fittings and facilities - new towels every day and clean and tidy. breakfast was usual crooisants etc.Location was 10 gentle minutes from the vibrant port and all the shops and restaraunts - all in all , a very pleasant 3 day stay.

  • Stayed: April 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank scrote59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 10, 2009

On arrival we booked in to the Hotel and were shown to two double rooms, one for my husband and myself the other for our daughter and her 2 year old son. We asked if it was possible for one of the rooms to be a twin but was told no. The rooms were clean, if rather dated, one in particular was dingy and in need of decoration. Carpets would have been nice.
The breakfast was Continental and as expected. However there was only ever one member of staff trying to look after several couples, he did very well making coffee, tea clearing tables and doing the washing up.
The bar was very limited, on our first evening we ordered wine but there wasn't any so they had to go to the Supermarket across the road to buy some. Out of the four nights of our stay the bar was only open once on our return from having supper.

  • Stayed: November 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank colbaby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 23, 2009

We stayed here in early July, and were pleasantly surprised by the quality of the room. The bed was comfortable, everything worked well, and the room was clean. A little hard to find, although it is on one of the main roads. Park across the street in the market parking lot until you register, you can use their parking lot afterwards, as the rooms are at the back of the reception area, and the driveway provides easy access. A very nice setting, the courtyard is alive with flowers. Reception was a little slow though, but check-out was very efficient (different person). We did not eat at the hotel, as we find it cheaper to find a small bakery in the morning. Most hotels breakfasts in France are overpriced, so, unless you're stuck in a remote location, or are a big eater, avoid paying the 8 to 18 Euros they expect. The hotel is just a short walk from the harbour, which is very pretty, and full of dockside restaurants and shops. A very nice stay.

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jeanlap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 9, 2008

Having stayed at the hotel 2 years ago we were expecting a decent stay. We had booked a 4 bedded room, as we have 2 young children, and were offered a superior 4 bedded room. On turning up at the hotel we were taken to their anex rooms which were across the road, away from main hotel, and led up a three flights of stairs, with loose banisters and broken windows on the landings. On entering the room, whilst looking recently decorated and with new flat screen TV, there was strong smell of drains and paint. In the bathroom a brick had been removed from the bath panel. No fore alarm, smoke alarms or fire escape and staff rooms all round.
On check out complaint was met with rudeness and the comment that the hotel was full and it was upto them if any compensation was to be offered for our terrible stay. Reception person begrudgingly offered a paltry 10euro discount, no appology.
Anyone booking the 4 bedded superior room - Don't do it.

  • Stayed: August 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kentishCanterbury
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Honfleur hotels
0.7 mi away
Ibis Honfleur
Ibis Honfleur
#7 of 33 in Honfleur
995 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Entre Terre Et Mer
Hotel Entre Terre Et Mer
#28 of 33 in Honfleur
166 reviews
0.3 mi away
Best Western Le Cheval Blanc
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
La Fraichette
La Fraichette
#15 of 33 in Honfleur
128 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel du Dauphin
Hotel du Dauphin
#20 of 33 in Honfleur
294 reviews
0.3 mi away
Mercure Honfleur
Mercure Honfleur
#10 of 33 in Honfleur
844 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel La Diligence? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel La Diligence

Address: 53 rue de la Republique | Place Albert Sorel, 14600, Honfleur, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Normandy > Basse-Normandie > Calvados > Honfleur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 33 Hotels in Honfleur
Price Range: $63 - $134 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel La Diligence 3*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situé à 300 mètres du port, l'Hotel La Diligence se trouve à Honfleur, à proximité de l'église Sainte Catherine. Il dispose d'un jardin avec du mobilier et d'une connexion Wi-Fi gratuite. Les chambres de l'Hotel La Diligence présentent un cadre élégant avec des poutres apparentes et des éléments à colombages dans un style normand ancien des plus authentiques. Elles offrent une vue sur la cour et comprennent aussi une télévision ainsi qu'une salle de bains privative. L'Hotel Diligence possède une réception ouverte 24h/24 et sert un petit-déjeuner dans la salle prévue à cet effet. Sous réserve de disponibilité, vous pourrez profiter du parking gratuit sur place. L'hôtel se tient à 8 minutes en voiture de l'autoroute A29 et à moins de 5 minutes de route de la côte. C'est le quartier préféré des voyageurs visitant Honfleur, selon les commentaires clients indépendants. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Cancelon, Hotwire, Orbitz, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel La Diligence reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Diligence Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing