We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Overpriced”

Satie House and Museum (Maisons Satie)
Georgetown, Malaysia
Level Contributor
45 reviews
23 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Overpriced”
Reviewed June 10, 2013

This was weird like Satie was. If you don't know anything about the man and his work you will not learn anything by going to the museum. They don't actually tell you much about his life, work or music. It cost 11 euro and there is an audio guide included but it is not much help- only some of it was in English.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank mandocc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

301 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    125
    113
    30
    14
    19
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Oxfordshire
Level Contributor
39 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Very French”
Reviewed May 29, 2013

The house has been coverted into a musical themepark-like experience with the headphones provided giving snippets and music as you walk through infra red zones. There is a white piano playing by itself and other odd experiences. At the end there is a filmshow. I believe that the museum is trying to get across to visitors the character, life and music of this highly colourful man and the experience is not unpleasant.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank flyswatter8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salt Lake City
Level Contributor
32 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Absolutely magical”
Reviewed May 26, 2013

I didn't know what to expect, but I was charmed by this small, technologically inventive museum. As I write this, I am listening to a CD I bought of the music used in the museum. I had to laugh at another reviewer who complained that the museum didn't have Satie's piano. I went to 13 museums in a trip that lasted 3 weeks, and although they were all good in their own ways, the Satie was the only one that was FUN. In addition, the French-speaking staff both times I went to the Satie (once for the museum and later to buy a souvenir) had really good English. I am a hard sell on souvenirs, but I bought the CD as a long-time memory maker. Just down the street toward the harbor is a terrific small restaurant called La Gambetta. You can't go wrong. In addition, the Eugene Boudin museum in Honfleur was my favorite of the art museums I visited. It is very light and airy and peaceful.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank utahtexan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairn
Level Contributor
67 reviews
22 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Visit to Satie's house”
Reviewed May 19, 2013

A very interesting house down a tiny street. The house and museum and very different to other museums! Quirky!

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank marie-nairn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orange, France
Level Contributor
71 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“You've got to experience this!”
Reviewed May 5, 2013

This is one of my favorite museums in all of France. Sometimes the displays don't work like they should. The museum staff do not speak English and are not helpful even when speaking French. And, the museum is not set up for anyone who has trouble with stairs. But, this museum gives you a wonderful introduction to the very funny, very strange, and very charming composer who wrote beautiful music and had it performed in the most bizarre ways.

Go without hesitation! Then try to find a winged pear that you too can ride to heaven.

IMPORTANT: You must walk around in each room to make full use of the audio-guide. Some rooms have several audio narratives which only come on when standing near its source. There are no signs to tell you exactly where to stand. Seek and ye shall find ... wonder.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Jacques59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Satie House and Museum (Maisons Satie) also viewed

 

Been to Satie House and Museum (Maisons Satie)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing