We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely :)”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Best Western Le Cheval Blanc
Ranked #15 of 32 Hotels in Honfleur
Reviewed August 10, 2013

Me and my family stayed at this hotel for 5 nights in July and it was lovely. The receptionists were helpful and friendly through our stay, the rooms were clean and of a high quality. The rooms were a bit hot but we managed to get some fans from the reception which helped. Both rooms had a harbor view and the hotel was nice and quiet and the location was excellent! We didn't have breakfast at the hotel so I can't comment on that, there are plenty of little restaurants around the harbor which serve breakfast for about 4 euros. I definitely recommend this hotel and I can't wait to go back!

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a harbor view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CeriMouse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (672)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

167 - 173 of 672 reviews

Reviewed July 26, 2013

We parked a bit down the road in the paid parking location, because we didn't know what to do for parking. It was only 8EUR a day, so I was Ok with that. The location was great. My room overlooked the harbour and you could see the inner harbour area from the window. The room was much tinier than my other French hotels this trip. No AC, so that was tough, but they VERY nicely provided a fan, which made a night and day difference. Bed was a little small and not too comfortable. It was Ok overall.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tannershamrock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 2, 2013

You just can't beat the location. Every room (I think) has a spectacular view of the harbor. Public parking is free, just a short walk away. The town itself is a delight, with galleries, boutiques, and restaurants to satisfy everyone. We stayed two nights, and were quite satisfied.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bob L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 30, 2013

Our room overlooked the harbour and you could walk to all the restaurants and around the center town. The location was perfect!
We loved everything about this hotel.
The staff were very friendly and helpful. They advice us a very good restaurant "Le Hamelin".
Private parking is near by but you have to book it few days before.

That sure we'll return in this hotel for the next stop in Honfleur

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Norm_in231
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 29, 2013

We felt deceived. We were in room 106, a standard room, and though it was clean, its quality was well below what I expect from a 3*** hotel: totally without charm, irregularly sized, cheaply furnished, stuffy, narrow, dark. The floor was a fake plastic wood, the furnishings were c 2000 cheap modern stuff, downscale from ikea. The walls were painted dull white, and, as an afterthought, someone had tacked a couple of 5x7" prints high up on one wall. The bathroom was small and cramped, even by French standards. We had paid extra for a view of the harbor, and we had that, but because of how the room was laid out, it was situated at the end of a narrow 4 x 8 space next to the bathroom. We asked to be switched to another room--we were there for 3 nights--but even though we were willing to pay more, we were told that it was impossible. So we were stuck with this crappy room. Other rooms were better, more recently updated (we checked them out) so we just got unlucky. Some of the staff were very pleasant and friendly, the petite dejeuner was satisfactory, and the hotel is historic (you'll see it in impressionist paintings of Honfleur). But I will think twice about staying at Best Westerns after this. It was one of the worst rooms I have had in over a decade of travelling to France.

Room Tip: Avoid 106 and ask to see your room before you agree to stay there.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KHThomas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 24, 2013

Clean, right in the center of things. Very small rooms with nice bathroom. Friendly staff. No restaurant but dozens within walking distance. OK for short stay. Narrow street. Pay parking about a block away so we had to walk our luggage there. But when leaving we were able to pull up and quickly load the car

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Suturedoc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 21, 2013

I was not sure what to expect from this hotel as some reviews seemed a bit unenthusiastic. I was very pleasantly surprised though as it was much better than I had thought it would be. The decoration of the hotel was excellent throughout, very clean and well maintained. It also had a lift, which while small, worked well. We had upgraded to a superior room and had views out over the harbour. As with many French hotels, the room was not large, but fine for us and well equipped, having a mini bar, safe and tea / coffee making facilities. The bed was comfortable and we slept well, though there was some noise from the street outside and the floor above us creaked a bit. The on suite shower room was first class. The room was not equipped with air conditioning but we did not find that to be a problem.
Breakfast was excellent with a good selection of hot and cold food. All the members of staff we met seemed very friendly and helpful. The location of the hotel is just about as good as you can get, being right on the harbour and close to all the restaurants, art galleries and shops. Parking has been mentioned several times by other reviewers and I can see why. The streets of Honfleur were not made with cars in mind. There is a pay and display car park just round the corner from the hotel which we used for loading and unloading our cases. I think this would be expensive and rather inconvenient for a long stay as there is a time limit on the length of stay. There is free parking about 500 yards from the hotel and the hotel does have its own secure parking at 8 euro’s for 24 hours. This is also about 500 yards away. We used the hotels parking and it worked fine for us, though people with limited mobility may find it a problem.
I would certainly use this hotel again if I return to Honfleur, I think it provided very good value and a comfortable stay in this lovely picturesque fishing port.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank riverside7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Honfleur hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel l'Ecrin
Hotel l'Ecrin
#5 of 32 in Honfleur
556 reviews
0.6 mi away
Tulip Inn Residence Honfleur
0.8 mi away
Hotel Le M Honfleur
Hotel Le M Honfleur
#17 of 32 in Honfleur
345 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Mercure Honfleur
Mercure Honfleur
#10 of 32 in Honfleur
862 reviews
2.9 mi away
Auberge de la Source - Hotel de Charme
Auberge de la Source - Hotel de ...
#1 of 1 in Barneville-la-Bertran
566 reviews
0.8 mi away
Le Manoir Des Impressionnistes
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Le Cheval Blanc? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Le Cheval Blanc

Address: 2 quai des Passagers, 14600, Honfleur, France
Location: France > Normandy > Basse-Normandie > Calvados > Honfleur
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 32 Hotels in Honfleur
Price Range: $96 - $281 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western Le Cheval Blanc 3*
Number of rooms: 35
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline, getaroom.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Best Western Le Cheval Blanc reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Cheval Blanc Hotel Honfleur
Cheval Blanc Honfleur
Cheval Blanc Hotel Honfleur

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing