We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This is not a 3 star hotel - do not recommend this hotel. It is terrible.”
Review of Castel Albertine

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Castel Albertine
Ranked #30 of 33 Hotels in Honfleur
Reviewed October 25, 2010

Calling this place a 3 star hotel should be a crime. I have stayed at other 3 star hotels in France and they were nothing like this place. If they ever gave negative stars, this is the first place on the list.

Other than the location, this hotel has absolutely nothing going for it. There is onstreet parking that is free and there is a locked parking lot for 10 euros a night. Park on the street. There are plenty of street lights.

Upon entering the lobby, the stench of smoke was everywhere. This is advertised as a non-smoking hotel and it certainly is not. When we approached the man at the reception desk, oh my was he put out that he had to talk to us. We were such an inconvenience. The man on the desk the next day was equally as disagreeable. In the course of the month that I've been in France, this hotel had the monopoly on rude male reception staff. No one has came close to these folks. The only bright spot was the charming lady who checked us out in the morning. We left very early because the rooms were just so hot.

Wifi was supposed to be available in the 'far' parlor. What wifi? I went to the wifi room and tried to connect for 30 minutes with no luck. Again, stinky smokey room so I really didn't want to stick around any longer.

Trapsed up 3 flights of stairs to our rooms (no lift or assistance here). My room was in the attic, under the corner of the roof. Slanted ceilings made standing up a challenge and I'm only 5 foot 6 inches tall. There were 3 small windows in the room; non opened except for a small slit at the top. I felt like I was in a castle lookout tower. They sprang for pricy window shades for these windows, so what's the deal here?

And hot? It was unbelievable. I wanted to rip the windows out of the sashes. We asked the unfriendly, unhelpful man at reception if he could turn down the heat. We received a withering glance and were dismissed.

The room was filthy with exposed wiring in the corner of the baseboard - made me feel really safe. The carpet was horrible, the bed rolled to the middle and was the most uncomfortable bed I've ever slept in. The linens were gray and the headboard (cloth) was greasy looking and had a cigarette burn in it. I wanted to sleep in the car.

And the bathroom. What can I say. Filthy, smelly, moldy; tiny goes without saying, but I can live with small. I cannot live with filth. And there was this weird plastic skylight-thing bolted to a bit hole in the ceiling above the shower. On the oppositte side of the plastic, it looked like it ws covered with bugs. It wasn't well secured, so I could only hope that it didn't fall in. I put one of the see-through towels on the shower floor because there was no way I was standing on that floor.

Avoid this hotel at all costs. Sleep in your car, sleep anyplace but this place. If I could I would give it all zeros across the board.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank fannyfrance2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (89)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

28 - 34 of 89 reviews

Reviewed October 18, 2010

The location of this hotel is very good and from the outside you are deceived into thinking it is a very nice hotel. As soon as I entered the lobby I realised that it was in serious need of updating. Everything about this hotel is shabby, carpets, curtains, woodwork, everything. The room was dirty, especially the bathroom and I didn't feel as though I would like to take off my shoes, which I didn't! The bed was small and very uncomfortable, the headboard had grubby marks from other peoples heads!!

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Poshcow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 5, 2010

We booked this hotel for two nights, and stayed ONE night. It was totally misrepresented, small and cramped, hot with no window only a skyligh. It was like an attic room with the sides slanted inward. It was unbearable hot as the temperatures were in the high 80s outside, hot and stuffy inside with NO air conditioning or windows, unbelievalbly terrible. We had to go up several flights of stairs, no elevator of course! The manager or attendent (the only person we saw) was not friendly to say the least and we were totally overlooked. When we asked for a different room, he said there was none!

When we asked why the wireless computer service was not available as advertised, his answer was...."I am not a computer expert and I don't know" to us that was not acceptable for the price we paid, and he was very rude. We had to ask him to turn on a light in the lounge area so we could see our computer and he was reluctant to do so. This wireless service was advertised on their website also the rooms looked beautiful and were advertised as such, with a big window, clean and efficient, totally misrepresented in every way! When we arrived they put us in a room then changed us to another one was as bad as the first. He said they made a mistake and put us in the wrong room so we were moved supposidely to OUR room. . It was unbelievable hot and we would have left but we had driven all day and would have to pay for one night anyway with no computer service to find another hotel at the time.

We choose this place because it had parking and was in town, well that is the only thing in our view, that this place has going for it. We did not see any staff only this rude guy who would not even look at us when we approached him. I do not think two people in their 60s especially us would intimidate anyone. We would not recommend this hotel to anyone. We left at 4am to get out of there with about an hour of sleep, most terrible experience of all our ten years of traveling to Europe.

Stayed: August 2009, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Sedina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 29, 2009

What a gem of a place Honfleur is but how dissappointing the Castel Albertine. Booked on-line for it's location near to the port, outwardly this looks a nice accomodation but looks can be deceptive. A Grand Hotel in it's youth no doubt but a very very faded lady now. Ghastly room, damp, cold and a bathroom to avoid. Reception were as cold as the room and it being the tail end of September thought it outrageous we should want the heating on, much less supply a portable heater. Thank goodness it was only one night.. Breakfast was mediochre and we heard complaints made about the coffee. We shall return to Honfleur without doubt and have selected our choice for a longer stay. Avoid the Castel Albertine if you want comfort and cleanliness.

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pelicanproductions
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 27, 2009

Room was at top of 2 steep flights of stairs (no lift) and was generally grubby, certainly not up to 3 star standard.

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BrightonSherbert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 25, 2009

When you make reservations for this hotel and have a car, make sure that you also reserve a parking space with them. When we arrived we were told all spots taken, park on the street, which was very crowded and we only found a spot by chance. The man at the front desk must have been the same one everyone else has written about because he was very rude, However, to his credit, he did find us a parking spot in their gated lot. I guess he knew how upset we were with not being told when we reserved our room 4 months in advance that we also needed to reserve a parking spot.
Otherwise the room was very nice, breakfast was fine and location was a bit of a walk to the harbor but it was right down the main street.

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dkfCT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 3, 2009

Stayed in this hotel for one night ont he way to Brittany from Calais. Honfleur is beautiful and the hotel is only a short walk from the harbour. Staff were all very friendly and courteous and the rooms were clean.

We will be visiting Honfleur again next year and will use this hotel again.

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jaaaybeee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Honfleur hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel La Diligence
Hotel La Diligence
#26 of 33 in Honfleur
203 reviews
2.3 mi away
Adonis Les Hauts de Honfleur
Adonis Les Hauts de Honfleur
#1 of 1 in Equemauville
416 reviews
0.4 mi away
La Maison de Lucie
La Maison de Lucie
#1 of 33 in Honfleur
551 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Mercure Honfleur
Mercure Honfleur
#10 of 33 in Honfleur
844 reviews
0.4 mi away
Best Western Le Cheval Blanc
0.3 mi away
La Fraichette
La Fraichette
#15 of 33 in Honfleur
128 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Castel Albertine? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Castel Albertine

Address: 19 cours Albert Manuel, 14600, Honfleur, France
Location: France > Normandy > Basse-Normandie > Calvados > Honfleur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #30 of 33 Hotels in Honfleur
Price Range: $74 - $111 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Castel Albertine 3*
Number of rooms: 26
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Castel Albertine reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Castel Albertine Honfleur
Castel Albertine Hotel Honfleur

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing