We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Short break”
Review of Hotel Romantica

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel Romantica
Ranked #13 of 72 Honfleur B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 18, 2013

Lovely hotel in rural surroundings.
Pool was excellent as were the staff and since we had our young grand daughter with us they were really good to her.
A good view over the Seine estuary.
The restuarant at the hotel was superb and food excellent.
Only a few minutes drive from Honfleur which is a really beautiful town with plenty of cafes and restaurants.
Nice walks along the beach.
Overall a lovely hotel.

Room Tip: Best rooms would be on the front of the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TonyH096
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (227)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

14 - 20 of 227 reviews

Reviewed July 2, 2013

We chose the Hotel Romantica because it had two swimming pools, both of which were lovely but the hotel was fantastic and we really enjoyed our visit.

The hotel is situated on a small hill and overlooks the Seine Estuary, our room faced west and we had lovely sunny evenings with a great view of the Seine. Our room was clean and comfortable and it was serviced every day with new towels to replace the ones we left in the bath.

The staff could not be more friendly and helpful and nothing was too much trouble.

The restaurant offers a varied table de hote menu from which you can choose a selection of courses with a reasonable selection of wines on offer.

The hotel is located approximately 3 miles from Honfleur and about 4 miles from Treauville. There are beaches you can access in both directions but I would say just a little too far to walk to unless you are a keen walker. Easy bicycling distance but remember the hotel is on a hill...
There is good parking within the hotel grounds

Overall we highly recommend this hotel and we will certainly be going back.

Room Tip: We had two rooms and both were very good and faced the Seine so I would ask for a room with a river...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bill B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 27, 2013

Good location , well placed for for ferries and beaches , nice room and modern bathroom and really good warm swimming pool, staff nice but a little pushy to sell the breakfast for 11 euro each, Its close to deauxville/treauville with heaps of restaurants along the piers and lots on offer for seafood lovers.

Room Tip: 10 minutes drive to nearest restaurants if you dont want to eat in the hotel restaurant.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 898dec898
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2013

During a short break over Easter we decided to include a trip to see the Normandy landing beaches and found this hotel in the area. The views from the dining room and bedroom we had were stunning. The bedroom was cosy and the bed was comfortable. The indoor pool was lovely and bathrobes and extra towels were provided. Unfortunately the restaurant was closed on the night we stayed but we were aware of this when we booked and it gave us the opportunity to try a nearby local restaurant which was very good. The only fault we could comment on was that there was a very unpleasant musty smell in the hallway leading to our bedroom. Fortunately we couldn't smell it in our room but it really was quite noticeable. Apart from that we would like to stay at the hotel again and try their restaurant as the menu looked good and we enjoyed the buffet breakfast they put on in the morning before we left.

Room Tip: They have quite a few ground floor rooms for people who have difficulty with stairs and they are clo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kim P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 14, 2012

Although we take a short break in France each year, we rarely return to the same hotel twice as we like to experience different areas, but we were happy to return to Le Romantica after an absence of 5 years (and would happily return again) because it is quite simply one of our favourite hotels - not posh or pretentious, but comfortable, friendly and conveniently situated roughly mid-way between Honfleur and Deauville/Trouville. It is also an ideal base for visiting many of Normandy's multitude of attractions. We booked through Great Escapes on a half-board basis because our previous visit had shown that the food is excellent and we could enjoy a decent bottle of wine without having to worry about driving back to the hotel afterwards. The rooms are comfortable though not spectacular and our bathroom had a shower, though I note from other reviews that some have a bath. On both our visits, we have had a balcony with a view across the Seine estuary to Le Havre. There are swimming pools outdoors and indoors, though we only used the indoor one which we had to ourselves on one occasion - note also the interesting mural on the wall at one end!! Our only criticism was that the room was rather hot at night - there is no air conditioning, but we prefer to open a window anyway. As another reviewer has pointed out, anyone with a mobility problem should make prior enquiries about access as the approach to the main door is via a flight of steps and there is no lift internally. Fortunately, this did not affect us and we thoroughly enjoyed our visit.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Cymro36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 17, 2012

We wanted a place to stay for a few days between Deauville and Honfleur without breaking the bank but with free parking facilities; we found this lovely little hotel restaurant and had a super time. Plenty of room for parking, spacious and cosy room with balcony overlooking the Seine estuary, comfortable bathroom, 2 spotless swimming pools. The buffet type continental breakfast was generous: there were eggs to cook to your liking, slices of 4 different sausages and 3 types of cheeses among which some Pont l'Eveque, delicious homemade yogurts, some viennoiseries and some bread with butter and jam and of course there was the usual orange juice and hot drinks. We had dinner in the restaurant one evening and enjoyed it very much. Lovely surroundings, excellent service and food. Not cheap but well worth the price. My husband had oysters and big prawns and wonderful beef, I had an assiette of cochonnailles including regional sausages and superb chicken foie gras followed by perfectly cooked magret de canard. The assiette de fromages normands was excellent too. Altogether this was a fantastic meal served by waiters who were very professional and friendly. We would recommend this hotel to any one travelling in the area who wishes to experience some of the culture of Normandy.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Albatros747
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 16, 2012

The Le Romantica is a good looking hotel, not very old but in traditional Norman style. It is well signposted from the Honfleur - Deauville road. The views are as good as you can get, granted that the port of Le Havre is across the estuary, but do not imagine it as a beach hotel. It is set on a gentle hillside firmly in the country and has a pleasant garden.

Public ares were comfortably furnished, and a pleasant change from the antiseptic insides of many modern French hotels with their minimalism and gaudily painted metalwork. There were no lifts, but there were ground floor rooms, so people with disabilities might might want to check with the hotel if there is any flat level access. The usual entrance was via several steps.

Staff were generally pleasant and attentive even though (recovering as I was from ill health) I was occasionally prone to over-reaction. The single rooms were quite spacious, though starting to look ready for a refurb, and the wardrobe space was limited. I liked the traditional style wooden French beds, and found the mattresses firm but good.

For such an inexpensive hotel it was surprising to see TWO good pools. Sadly on account of 2012's awful early summer we didn't try the outdoor one. The indoor pool was a good enough size for swimming laps and a constant 1.45 metres in depth. It is, if anything, TOO well heated. Free wifi is available, though you have to sit in the reception area to use it.

On the one occasion we ate dinner in the restaurant it was exceptionally good, and though not cheap, it was far better than what most of the tourists restaurants around the harbour in Honfleur were offering. A memorable piece of beef (and I rarely use that word in relation to food) with beautifully cooked vegetables.

The breakfast was pricey at 11 Euros, though the low room price did soften the blow a little. It was the usual buffet type (though you can have a small continental breakfast in your room for 9 Euros). Quality was good but not exceptional, though I have to say full marks for including local cheeses.

Now for the less good points:

I do wish they would sort out their smoking policy since it is the only thing which prevents me from rating the hotel as excellent. The problem is that there is no visible policy at all, and by its actions the hotel seems even to encourage (or as one employee put it, incite) people to smoke in rooms. We were told guests are supposed to smoke on the balcony. Fair enough - good compromise. However there is nothing anywhere to say this, and the hotel provides ashtrays, not on the balconies but in the rooms themselves. The guest brochure says you can't cook food in your room or wash clothes, but about smoking - nothing. So despite requests as marked on our booking form our single rooms both smelled badly of smoke when we arrived and had not even been ventilated. The generally excellent customer service degenerated at this point into a verbal shrug of the shoulders.

In spite of that, after a couple of electronic fragrancers were produced we slept well and comfortably, and after the second night the fragrancers were not needed.

If you are expecting a shower, in at least some rooms you will be disappointed. Low sloping ceilings over the baths make it impossible to stand up and use the shower head. This makes the shower head suitable only for washing hair.

So overall, despite one or two quibbles, I would say that if you prefer somewhere quiet and relaxed to the high priced bustle of nearby Honfleur and Trouville/Deaville don't hesitate, though you do need a car.

Room Tip: The sloping roof may make standing up in the bath impossible, so if you must have a shower request a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ritorno
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Honfleur hotels
4.6 mi away
Ibis Honfleur
Ibis Honfleur
#7 of 33 in Honfleur
994 reviews
4.3 mi away
Ibis Budget Honfleur
Ibis Budget Honfleur
#13 of 33 in Honfleur
1,008 reviews
4.5 mi away
La Closerie Honfleur
La Closerie Honfleur
#21 of 33 in Honfleur
388 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.2 mi away
Best Western Le Cheval Blanc
4.2 mi away
ibis Styles Honfleur
ibis Styles Honfleur
#9 of 33 in Honfleur
899 reviews
3.7 mi away
Hotel Le M Honfleur
Hotel Le M Honfleur
#17 of 33 in Honfleur
344 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Romantica? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Romantica

Address: Chemin du Petit Paris, 14600, Honfleur, France
Location: France > Normandy > Basse-Normandie > Calvados > Honfleur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 72 B&Bs / Inns in Honfleur
Price Range: $53 - $92 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Romantica 3*
Number of rooms: 35
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Romantica reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing