We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“AVOID. Wish we'd read the reviews first” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of L'Escale

L'Escale
Ranked #86 of 160 Restaurants in Honfleur
Cuisines: French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“AVOID. Wish we'd read the reviews first”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 17, 2014

Wanted a special end of trip dinner so went somewhere with a reasonable price tag. Massively disappointed. Had to wait 40 mins for starter and our mains only arrive an 1 1/2 hrs after we arrived. Starter was lovely but we were so famished hard to savour. I had what was labelled rump steak but I have very strong suspicions that it was the much cheaper cut of onglet - the grain of meat, the cut, the fat content was all wrong. Tough and flavourless. Hubby had lamb chops that had been drenched in dried herbs and which were insipid. Our two year old had the best meal of beautiful scrambles eggs but with a 12 euro price tag! Our six year old langoustines And scallops were nice enough but completely drenched in mediocre creamy sauce and at 24 euros a poor fish for the money. The creme brûlée was lovely. The hosts were really pleasant and accommodating of our (well behaved and rehearsed) children. The total bill was 225 euros and if that wasn't bad enough we were charged an extra 18 euros for a dish we didn't have!!! Do not recommend this place despite it's pretty appearance.

  • Visited August 2014
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank KJo80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

218 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    33
    65
    44
    29
    47
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
22 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Fine Evening”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 14, 2014

I concur with a previous review that said little to fault but little to get excited over either. The food was perfectly fine, the setting nice. I was a little disappointed with their after-service, but maybe they shoudn't be judged on this. We were the last to leave the restaurant, at which point the heavens opened and there was continuous, torrential rain. We did not have unmbrellas or waterproofs, as we were not expecting the rain (something we made sure we had with us for the rest of our holiday). In normal circumstances this would be our fault, but my husband is visably poorly; he has a walking stick and little hair but several scars where he has had several operations to have brain tumours removed. In these circumstances, it would have been nice for the restauranter to have either offered an umbrella for us to return the following day, or for us to have remained in the restaurant a little longer until the rain passed. Neither were forthcoming. I do appreciate it is my own fault for not protecting my husband by taking along an unmbrella in the first place, but a little goodwill would have been nice.

  • Visited August 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Josie-Annie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gypsum, Colorado
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Nice Honfleur Restaurant”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 4, 2014

I am another one who wonders where the terrible reviewers were eating. Four of us had dinner there on June 20,014 as we were staying next door at the hotel for an evening. My wife had a giant bowl of mussels and loved them and as I tried some of them I thought they were great also. I had fish and our friends had the mixed seafood plate that was huge. Only problem was eating the welks as they are really small. The service was very nice and efficient and we had no complaints. Decent wine prices. The owner was there and was very pleasant. We would definitely eat there again.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Beric C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Poole UK
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Relaxing venue, pleasant food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 2, 2014

Like one of the earlier reviewers, I have to disagree with a number of people who are intent on grouching about this restaurant. The food was good and the staff polite and attentive. The location and ambience were just fine. We didn't choose to sit outside where the high level heaters were unnecessary and uncomfortable. We had a quiet stress free table inside. Starters of oysters and moules à la marinières were correct examples. Magret de canard cooked à point and émince de filets de poulet a la normande were tender and flavourful. Adequate range of desserts. Pichet of red vin de pays d'Oc good value and with character. Reasonable price. A relaxing and enjoyable experience

  • Visited May 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank nl118
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Troy, Michigan
Level Contributor
22 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Delightful Meal in Honfleur”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 1, 2014

On our recent trip to Normandy, we stayed in the beautiful harbor town of Honfleur, just outside of LeHavre. We enjoyed a delicious meal at L'Escale, which is located on a plaza just a block from the picturesque old harbor. This area is known for its seafood. We had a wonderful meal, starting with an aperitif (apple brandy, I think), followed by a really good "salad", which was basically vegetables drizzled with olive oil. The main course was a delicious fish stew, Pot au Feu de Mer, which included three different kinds of fish and vegetables in a creamy base, and then finished with a hot apple tart. Of course, the wine was great, too. While we were in a group and didn't have to pay for our meal, in looking over the menu, I'm guessing the entire meal cost under 20 euros. The food was delicious, the wait staff and owners were really friendly and efficient and the atmosphere of the restaurant itself made for a memorable evening.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Shuttleworth1113
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed L'Escale also viewed

 
Honfleur, Calvados
Honfleur, Calvados
 

Been to L'Escale? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing