We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Highly recommended- Peace and luxury”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
La Ferme Saint Simeon - Relais et Chateaux
Ranked #3 of 33 Hotels in Honfleur
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 14, 2014

We just returned from La Ferme for a night and had a fabulous experience. Upon check-in you are greeted with an apple infusion accompanied by a tartlet- The staff is very attentive and helpful with your luggage. The restaurant was full so we walked into Honfleur which was quite pleasant. The room was spacious and beautiful- The shower was great- Mostly enjoyable was the very comfortable bedding and the surroundings. The view is gorgeous and the country feel of the place conjugates luxury with simple pleasures- Definitely worth the dollars- We will return for sure!

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Carole04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,171)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

175 - 181 of 1,171 reviews

Reviewed June 14, 2014

Basically I would highly recommend one not stay here but if you want the details on the bad and the little good, feel free to read on....I would add that this property is a Relais & Chateaux. I used to think that that association meant something but honestly it doesn’t seem to mean very much in terms of property quality and service anymore. Perhaps the chain is just milking fees out of its members and doesn’t have much quality control? Or it's like tenure (sorry to be political)....once you become a member, you can't really lose it?! Anyway, the extremely inconsistent quality control (this is among a few different R&C properties over the past few years) seems to be my experience.

First, it is a historic location with the actual property itself literally part of the history of impressionist painting. You have a view over the bay (even though the others side is extremely industrial now with multiple refineries, etc.).

The meals were also very good but had at VERY high cost. Our dinner was great but EXTREMELY expensive (we live in New York City and know what an expensive meal is but this was even very expensive as compared to a top NYC restaurant)….at that price it should have been extremely memorable but instead it was just pretty good so not a great value.

The rooms stink. Ours was very small and dark. And hot and stuffy. We went in late May and it was not that hot out but we boiled the first night.

Second night we had them set up air conditioning which is a big affair. Please note that none of the rooms have AC systems so they have to put a large free standing unit in your room. This unit then has a duct that requires you to keep the balcony door open (so all bugs and insects are welcome to enter and of course you get some light in). See photos.

I would add the bathroom has issues too. The shower is extremely small (like it's a physically very tight space for 1 person) and it's very easy to have water pouring out of the glass shower enclosure/door if one is not careful (or aware that it is not at ALL water tight).

Next the service. Somewhat stereotypical rude French service. I would add that I lived in France and I can speak fluent French but that was of no help. The best example was our attempt at spa services. In the morning we changed the time of our spa services to noon (which worked much better than the late afternoon we had previously planned). We arrived at noon to the pool/spa which had absolutely no one there or working there (we went to the pool the previous day and it was also a self service affair). We waited 5 minutes and called the front desk who said someone would be there shortly. Another few minutes went by and I called again and told them that if no one came we would be soon leaving. As we were about to leave, someone came and told us to wait a few more minutes (at this point it was 12:15PM). We told them that it was now too late and we would be canceling our massages. She then told us we would be charged and we just left. So we had to call the front desk from our room and were given a sob story about how the main spa manager was sick and they had a replacement (sorry about the manager but this is a large, expensive property that should be able to handle such an issue without providing a lesser experience). An unpleasant pain.

Anyway, Honfleur is a great place to visit but I just wouldn’t bother staying at the Ferme which most certainly is not a five star property despite their promotion to the contrary.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Scott J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 2, 2014

We did not stay here, but dined here, knowing the beauty of the spot and its reputation for fine food. We spent $481 on a meal for two, without extravagant wines. While the staff certainly treated us with impeccable courtesy, it was the kind of courtesy that has no soul in it -- just an efficient machine. And the food is good, but it is not great. We ate at Le Dauphin in Le Breuil sur Auge twice this week and both those meals were exquisite, whereas the much more expensive St. Simeon was merely ok to good. For example, compare the to-die-for warm foie gras in vinaigre de xeres sauce that Le Dauphin offers with the pallid foie gras chaud offered by St. Simeon. To me, a great French restaurant lives or dies by the sauces it prepares for its meats and fish. My husband had lamb and I had beef. Both sauces had great pretensions to being special when you read them on the menu, but in actuality they were practically without taste and watery thin. Thus we did not enjoy our meat dishes. And for these prices, could they not give us some vegetables! None except potatoes. Three thin pieces of artistically placed radish on the beef plate. French chefs in these fancy places need to learn that people need and want some serious vegetables. If you're touring and eating in restaurants every night, what are you supposed to do?
We left St. Simeon smelling the gorgeous banks of white roses and looking at the sunset over the Seine, but we felt cheated for having spent 354 euros for such little value in the meal.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
2  Thank maryofthehills
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David_Vigier, Directeur at La Ferme Saint Simeon - Relais et Chateaux, responded to this reviewResponded June 9, 2014

Dera Maryothehills,

We were very surprised to read your large comment following your dinner in our restaurant.
I won't discuss with you the different dishes you had, for instance the Foie Gras, which is one of the specialty of the House, gives evidence of the numerous wonderful comments of our customers on this site..
The only think which need to be corrected, I guess, is the large variety of vegetables proposed with each dish.
So with the Langoustine a large part of carrots will be proposed to you, with the lobster Artichokes and small vegetables, with the Sole fresh spinach, with the lamb, mashed carrots, cabbage roll pack Choi and tabbouleh vegetables, with the beef, Girolles and potatoes, and I will stop here, as I am so curious and sincerely not sure you really came in our restaurant one day!..
Did you read our menu?
I sincerely hope to welcome you in our beautiful resort, as I am sure to find the menu susceptible to delight you. And this time, make your choice in our lovely rooms!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 31, 2014

The hotel is beautiful, as are the grounds and the view. But for the price and the attitude, it's not up to par.
We had a suite, and unlike all other five star hotels at which we have stayed, there was no welcome treat when we arrived in the room (bottle of wine, champagne, cake or fruit plate) - at some others there is something even with a standard room.

The room was beautifully decorated, had a wonderful view on three sides, and the bed was comfortable.
The pool, jacuzzis and spa are wonderful.

But...

The fold out couch was ancient and creaky, and the mattress was extremely thin, perhaps five cm - thank goodness it was for our five year old, as anyone heavier or taller would have been extremely uncomfortable and unable to sleep.

The towels and robes were threadbare and fraying.

The room service was very, very slow (over an hour two nights in a row), the food arrived cold, and the menu is extremely limited.
After asking for a turn-down service to make up the couch, we had to wait almost an hour.
Housekeeping forgot to clean the suite (after knocking at 10am and being told that we would leave in fifteen minutes).
It's really not a child-friendly hotel - no robes in their sizes, no children-friendly menu options, no children-friendly drinks or snacks at the bar.

If you intend to use the pool (and don't want to walk through the garden in a robe), book a room in the Pressoir building.

Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
1  Thank mirirab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 26, 2014

We finished our French road trip by spending a night at San Simeon being fully aware of the cost due to the many reviews by trip advisor contributors. The question being "is it worth the price?". On balance the answer is probably yes. The hotel stands on high ground and overlooks the Seine with the industrial skyline of Le Havre in the distance. The grounds are immaculate. We were greeted with a complimentary drink on the terrace and then shown to room 27, a junior suite. The room has great views, the bed is incredibly comfortable and the shower is terrific with good overhead pressure and body jets. The spa was busy on Saturday evening and can be described as good but not great. Dinner was better than some contributors have suggested. The hot foie gras was as good as I have eaten anywhere in France Kim's tartar of tuna was less impressive. The mains of sole and pigeon were well cooked and beautifully presented. The cheese board was the highlight, easily the best that we were offered during our stay in France. The wine list is expensive but, contrary to some of your previous reports, there are plenty of choices under 100 euros a bottle. The staff were superb throughout the stay. We left feeling better than we did when we checked in, so if you have 1200 Euros to spend on a night away this is a very good choice.

Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Ian P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David_Vigier, Directeur at La Ferme Saint Simeon - Relais et Chateaux, responded to this reviewResponded June 9, 2014

Dear Ian P,
We thank you very much for you nice comment on Tripadvisor.com, following your recent stay at La Ferme Saint Siméon.
We were so glad you appreciated your room with the great view, the comfortable bed and the terrific shower, the quality of your dinner, the kindness of the staff throughout your stay.
What else would be better?
We sincerely hope to welcome again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 22, 2014

We stayed at La Ferme St. Simeon for 6 days in May while touring the Normandy region. We were booked into another Honfleur hotel that proved inadequate for us. We called Ferme St. Simeon to see if they had a room. Not only did they have a room, but the manager came to pick us up! Talk about service!! We had a Junior Suite overlooking the river and estuary, beautifully furnished with every amenity we needed. A very special bonus was waking each morning to the call of owls and cuckoos! We only had time to eat in the restaurant one evening, but found the food and service first class. If we ever go back to Honfleur, Ferme St. Simeon will be our first reservation!

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank tomstrophy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David_Vigier, Directeur at La Ferme Saint Simeon - Relais et Chateaux, responded to this reviewResponded May 30, 2014

Dear Tomstrophy,

I red with a great pleasure the very nice comment you shared on Tripadvisor.
All the staff and myself are glad to know you enjoyed your lovely junior suite in the historical main house, the view on the river, and its beautiful furniture.
I was quite happy to pick you up to the hotel, and all the staff is delighted you appreciate the high quality of the food and the service.
I really wait for your call, on your next trip to Honfleur, to be your first reservation.
Best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 16, 2014

My partner and I had the pleasure to stay here for 1 night in April. Located walking distance to the center of Honfleur, this place is an oasis. The grounds were amazing and there is a very luxurious spa. The rooms were very large by any standard and decorated marvelously. I wish we could have stayed longer. My only criticism with the hotel, and I make this reluctantly because it is so exquisite otherwise, is that the restaurant prices are astronomical for what you receive. I cant help but compare it to a meal we had at another chateau we stayed at, Domaine Hautes Des Loire which was also very expensive but completely blew us away. My suggestion - stay at the hotel yes, but perhaps eat in town.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BVD1977
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David_Vigier, Directeur at La Ferme Saint Simeon - Relais et Chateaux, responded to this reviewResponded May 30, 2014

Dear Bvd1977,

We want to thank you very much for your kind comment following your last stay at La Ferme Saint Siméon.
We are delighted that you specially appreciated our luxury Spa Center and your large room marvelously decorated.
We hope to welcome you again on a next trip, and we will be sure you will love the new Menus our Chef will present for the summertime.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Honfleur hotels
2.8 mi away
Auberge de la Source - Hotel de Charme
Auberge de la Source - Hotel de ...
#1 of 1 in Barneville-la-Bertran
540 reviews
0.4 mi away
Le Manoir Des Impressionnistes & Spa - Esprit de France
0.3 mi away
La Maison de Lucie
La Maison de Lucie
#1 of 33 in Honfleur
551 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Les Maisons de Lea
Les Maisons de Lea
#8 of 33 in Honfleur
597 reviews
0.5 mi away
Best Western Le Cheval Blanc
4.0 mi away
Hotel Le Manoir de la Poterie & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Ferme Saint Simeon - Relais et Chateaux? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Ferme Saint Simeon - Relais et Chateaux

Address: 20 rue Adolphe Marais, 14600, Honfleur, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Normandy > Basse-Normandie > Calvados > Honfleur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Honfleur
Price Range: $235 - $1,662 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — La Ferme Saint Simeon - Relais et Chateaux 5*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
More than a century after being frequented by impressionist painters seeking inspiration from the magic light of the Côte Fleurie, the Ferme Saint Siméon still seems to still be nourished by tender nostalgia. Perched on the heights of Honfleur, this Normand-style building infused with the soul of yesteryear delicately embraces modern refinement. Facing the Seine river estuary, the rooms full of noble furniture, woodwork, luxurious fabrics,comfort and colours are spread like flower bouquets across the farm, the central building and the ‘Press’.Beneath the garden’s apple trees or in the refined decor of the gastronomic restaurant, guests will be delighted to discover the regional cuisine, after indulging in a relaxing treatment at the Spa, peacefully overlooking the sea. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz and TripOnline SA so you can book your La Ferme Saint Simeon - Relais et Chateaux reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Ferme Saint Simeon Hotel Honfleur
La Ferme Saint Simeon Honfleur

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing