We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A very good place”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
La Ferme Saint Simeon - Relais et Chateaux
Ranked #2 of 32 Hotels in Honfleur
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 3, 2012

Very nice property, great views, perfect rooms, wonderful restaurant. We really enjoyed. It's not as close to Honfleur donwtown as we expected, but not far either. I've lived in many places in Honfleur, and this one is surely number one.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andrey_Buzin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,202)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

232 - 238 of 1,202 reviews

Reviewed September 24, 2012

Lovely site, easy to find and closer to Honfleur than we were expecting. Walking distance to centre of town. Very nice location, good views of the estuary and the Normandy Bridge.

We booked using a special offer on their website where if you buy two tasting menu with matching wines at €190 each you get a free hotel room. Limited availability on this but good value.

Food is decent, but to be honest not exceptional and not really worthy of a star. Foie gras was over cooked so a bit granular in texture, pasta a bit thick, tiny portion of lamb.

Service was very poor on the whole. Grumpy maitre'd, extremely annoying that matching wines were late every single time even when I said so. If I'm having matching wines I want them before the course comes out, not after I've eaten it.

Breakfast was €30 which from the looks of it was a total rip-off. Coffee and croissant €4 in pretty town 10 mins walk away.

It's worth a trip on the offer but if I'd spent at least another €150 on a room for the night I'd have been feeling a bit short changed.

Room Tip: Even our bottom of the range room was very nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GastrofanLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 22, 2012

It's hard to imagine a more ideal location or a more perfect facility. This hotel is spectacular. Our room was amazing, the hotel grounds are amazing, and the spa is beautiful. Honfleur is a fantastic little town, and is conveniently located near other great spots in Normandie (we did a side trip to Etretat, which was amazing). Our experience at the restaurant was mixed, though. At dinner, it took an incredibly long time to get our food. And while the food was quite good, it was not what I expected from such a spectacular place. The hotel breakfast, however, was the best we have ever had. No exaggeration.

Room Tip: We had a suite. It was large, well equipped, and beautiful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PJT812
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 16, 2012

I don't write many reviews but my wife has insisted I try to correct the wrong impression some recent reviews have created. We stayed here last week (4th September 2012) for 3 days and it was wonderful. Having read the English reviews on tripadvisor we were becoming a little concerned - although I do take the occasonal bad review with a pinch of salt, but there seemed to be quite a few. Let me reassure anyone thinking of going to this hotel:
1- the staff are anything but rude. Very helpful, but try to speak a little French. It always helps!
2- the food and wine is expensive but wonderful!
3- in September you don't need air conditioning - just as well because there is none.
4- So Le Havre is industrial - it is away across the estuary and anyway the views are lovely.
All in all a lovely, quiet, pretty spot to dine very well and from which to explore Honfleur. Highly recommended.
I have no connection with the management of this hotel, so no financial benefit or bias.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LarkhallEagle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SIMEON14600, Propriétaire at La Ferme Saint Simeon - Relais et Chateaux, responded to this reviewResponded September 19, 2012

Dear LarkhallEagle
We thank you for your kind comment on Tripadvisor.com, following your recent stay at La Ferme Saint Siméon.
We were very pleased to welcoming you, and moreover that you enjoyed your stay. We hope having the pleasure to seeing you again for your next trip to Normandy.
Sincerely Yours.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 13, 2012

This Hotel is a perfect example of when the French do it well. The views across the water are not so wonderful in the daylight hours, but something magical happens after dark when the lights come on in an industrial area... you don't see the industry, just the beautiful reflective play of light on water. The Hotel is not for those who are watching their pennies... and I would probably not have the opportunity to stay there again as it is quite expensive, but for that feel of luxury, a short stay is recommended. Treat yourself, if only for just two nights!

Room Tip: The rooms in the main building are probably the least preferable as they can be a little noisy with...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AussieExpl0rer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 12, 2012

The ambiance, the service, the little touches all go to make this an amazing place. the staff were fantastic and the setting means its a 10 minute walk into Honfleur . The Spa is lovely and the food very special. Yes, its not cheap but if you are on a budget then maybe this isn't the place to look at because once you have been you wouldn't want to stay anywhere else in Honfleur.

Room Tip: Even the cheap rooms look good
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 84805PeterS84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 28, 2012

This was suppose to be a treat, the hotel is well placed for views and gardens are well kept, the
staff seem a bit short on the ground but it was the afternoon and the bar didn't seem to be open until 6pm. the room was cosy, hot and the outside humidity was high, but as the terrace was next to the fire excape we knew it would not be possible to have the terrace doors open at night, so we requested a fan. An industrial airconditioing unit appeared which took up about a third of the room space and when turned on made you feel sick with the noise. So it was taken away and a fan found. We went to have a drink - only to be ignored for around 15 minutes, we found a waiter, we got a drink, we waited for the menu to appear, we waited and eventually we found
the head waiter to say we were outside having a drink and wanted the menu. This was taken as major insult as we were late for our reservation!!
We ordered main courses are between 65 -125 euros, wine starts at 65 euros a bottle,
we waited and waited, the starters appeared, we waited and waited, one main course appeared, the other one arrived an hour later!
The staff were rude, unhelpful and unprofessional.
We did complain the next mornig and the duty manager was clearly taken aback and stressed he would deal with the situaltion.
It was a very expensive and disappointing stay in what could have been a scene out of faulty towers without the humour. Michelin 1 star I think not, better food ansd service in the town.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank yb1uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SIMEON14600, Propriétaire at La Ferme Saint Simeon - Relais et Chateaux, responded to this reviewResponded September 2, 2012

Dear Madam,

We just read your comments on tripadvisor.com, regarding your recent stay at la Ferme Saint Siméon and are a little bit surprised about it.

We do not ignore the bad experience you had during your dinner, for which we discussed together the morning of your departure. We again apologize for that, and it is the reason why we offered you a one night stay at la Ferme Saint Siméon for your next stay in Normandy. You were kind to answer to this invitation as follow:

“We have now returned home to England, and I would like to take this opportunity to thank you for your courteous response to our concerns. We appreciate the timeand conversation we had with you. May we also thank you for your kind invitation to return as your guest to La Ferme Saint Simeon. We hope we may take advantage of your proposal at some time in the not too distant future.
We send best wishes to you and wish you every success in realizing your ambitions for the hotel and for the team you lead. We have every confidence you will succeed and will look forward to hearing about your achievements.”

We know how to admit our errors, but your tittle “I don’t want to be negative but…” is probably wrong....

Sincerelyyours

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Honfleur
2.8 mi away
Auberge de la Source - Hotel de Charme
Auberge de la Source - Hotel de ...
#1 of 1 in Barneville-la-Bertran
551 reviews
0.4 mi away
Le Manoir Des Impressionnistes & Spa - Esprit de France
0.3 mi away
La Maison de Lucie
La Maison de Lucie
#1 of 32 in Honfleur
554 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Les Maisons de Lea
Les Maisons de Lea
#8 of 32 in Honfleur
607 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel l'Ecrin
Hotel l'Ecrin
#5 of 32 in Honfleur
552 reviews
8.2 mi away
Hotel Barriere Le Normandy Deauville
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Ferme Saint Simeon - Relais et Chateaux? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Ferme Saint Simeon - Relais et Chateaux

Address: 20 rue Adolphe Marais, 14600, Honfleur, France
Location: France > Normandy > Basse-Normandie > Calvados > Honfleur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Honfleur
Price Range: $258 - $461 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — La Ferme Saint Simeon - Relais et Chateaux 5*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
More than a century after being frequented by impressionist painters seeking inspiration from the magic light of the Côte Fleurie, the Ferme Saint Siméon still seems to still be nourished by tender nostalgia. Perched on the heights of Honfleur, this Normand-style building infused with the soul of yesteryear delicately embraces modern refinement. Facing the Seine river estuary, the rooms full of noble furniture, woodwork, luxurious fabrics,comfort and colours are spread like flower bouquets across the farm, the central building and the ‘Press’.Beneath the garden’s apple trees or in the refined decor of the gastronomic restaurant, guests will be delighted to discover the regional cuisine, after indulging in a relaxing treatment at the Spa, peacefully overlooking the sea. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz and TripOnline SA so you can book your La Ferme Saint Simeon - Relais et Chateaux reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Ferme Saint Simeon Hotel Honfleur
La Ferme Saint Simeon Honfleur

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing