We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“3 night stay” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of La Closerie Honfleur

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
La Closerie Honfleur
Ranked #18 of 33 Hotels in Honfleur
Andover, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“3 night stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 7, 2014

Booked this Hotel as last year we went top end of market. This hotel was fine, served a purpose and staff were really friendly. The location isn't a problem as only a five minute walk to centre....didn't do breakfast as Lidl just outside.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank digby2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

358 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    67
    176
    76
    27
    12
See reviews for
104
172
5
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
30 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 22, 2014 via mobile

Our family stayed here for 2 days in mid June. The room was clean and quiet, with plenty of space. The view of the Normandy bridge was lovely. The pool was very nice. Kitchenette was a surprise bonus. Location suited us perfectly as it made parking much easier being just outside the main attractions. Very easy to find off the motorway. We would stay here again.

Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank WorldTravelerTC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Middlesbrough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 20, 2014

Hotel itself was fine it if you like to sleep during the night don't bother staying! The beds are unsleepable!! Rock hard, cheap and nasty. Also it was a hot day and no air con. The rooms were clean though

Room Tip: Get a balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jane C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 12, 2014

Our experience was not like any of the other reviewers'. When we walked in, we were greeted with a musty smell that was present during our stay. There was an unusual stain on the floor next to the pull-out couch. The bathroom situation was strange. One bathroom, containing a shower, a sink, and a toilet, was connected to the living area, but the bathroom connected to the bedroom only had a sink and a bathtub. The beds were pretty uncomfortable. As others described the room as comfy and spacious, two out of four chairs were inaccessible at the table. The kitchen was small. When we first opened the refrigerator (we had no food in it,) it reeked of a moldy food smell and continued to smell like that for the duration of our stay. I would not recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank amanda_jones22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Honfleur hotels

London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
197 reviews
98 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 6, 2014

The hotel looks grand from the outside but is more like a luxury motel. There is no restaurant and one must venture into the town of Honfleur. One can walk it in 15 minutes but driving in the peak season and you will find difficulty to park (all charges apply).

My main misgivings were that the bed is very narrow and more like a divan to sleep on; there is no a/c and it can get unbearably hot in the summer. I had two good days of sunshine but found sleeping a problem. There is no proper shower but a hose connected at knee length in the bathtub. However the rooms are nicely equipped with a small kitchenette etc. the hotel serves breakfast but it is expensive for what is offered (continental but no French baguettes!)

The price I paid was too much for what is provided and not good value for money. Parking is free (but it is out of centre) and there is a swimming pool and free wifi.

If they could provide better beds, air conditioning and a decent shower, I wouldn't mind spending the high rates they charge, so only average from me.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dipex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ommen, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
24 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 23, 2014

The hotel is about 7 minutes walk outside Honfleur. Nice two room apartment close to a store where we could by our breakfast. Nice outdoor swimingpool. A bit expansive and the beds where stonehard but overall a good place to stay at during a visit to the beautiful Honfleur.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Annika508
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rosmalen, The Netherlands
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 23, 2014

Nice clean hotel with good rooms. Beds were clean with good matrasses. We had an appartment for 5 persons where the couch could be unfolded to a double bed. We didn't use the kitchen, but all seemed to be in place to cook properly when you want to (but who wants that close to all these nice restaurants..... ;-))
Breakfast was well organised, with enough choice. Only when more people have breakfast at the same time the breakfast room is maybe too small, and then you would need to wait.
Location is right at the entrance of Honfleur, so you're quickly in the center without having parking problems. We could advice this place to others for sure.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BotmanM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Honfleur hotels
0.6 mi away
BEST WESTERN Le Cheval Blanc
0.7 mi away
Hotel l'Ecrin
Hotel l'Ecrin
#4 of 33 in Honfleur
4.5 of 5 bubbles 464 reviews
0.2 mi away
Ibis Honfleur
Ibis Honfleur
#7 of 33 in Honfleur
4.0 of 5 bubbles 870 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Mercure Honfleur
Mercure Honfleur
#11 of 33 in Honfleur
4.0 of 5 bubbles 764 reviews
1.4 mi away
Le Manoir Des Impressionnistes & Spa
1.0 mi away
La Ferme Saint Simeon - Relais et Chateaux
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Closerie Honfleur? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Closerie Honfleur

Property: La Closerie Honfleur
Address: Rond Point du Port | Cours Jean de Vienne, 14600, Honfleur, France
Location: France > Normandy > Basse-Normandie > Calvados > Honfleur
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 33 Hotels in Honfleur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — La Closerie Honfleur 3*
Number of rooms: 45
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Fastbooking, Booking.com, Priceline and Hotel.de so you can book your La Closerie Honfleur reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing