We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Enjoyable stopover with pool, short walk to town, kind staff” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of La Closerie Honfleur

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
La Closerie Honfleur
Ranked #18 of 33 Hotels in Honfleur
Surrey, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
55 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Enjoyable stopover with pool, short walk to town, kind staff”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 16, 2013

Handy, comfy family suite, warm outside pool, clean white sheets and super comfy beds after three weeks camping!
We stopped over on our way from the Charentes Maritime to Calais, as we love Honfleur but hadn't been back for about 8 years and just wanted to take the children for a good bowl of moules and a ride on the carousel.
This was the only affordable family room that we could find near enough to walk into the town. It was a fifteen to twenty minute walk, and not the most picturesque walk to start with, but it got better as we neared the port, and it meant my husband wasn't going to have to drive back home and so could relax with a glass of wine over supper.
It was good to have separate rooms for the kids and us; they're a bit big now to double-up for long. And although we only used the fridge and coffee maker (having bought some coffee from LIdl - or was it aldi - opposite) in the kitchen area, we would've found it useful had we stayed for a day or two. Do take paper filers with you for the coffee maker though - we didn't and I had to go and ask at reception if they had a couple of spares - they weren't sure if they did, but found some for me, which was very kind, but I think I was being a bit cheeky and it was not quite the done thing!
The outdoor heated pool was a welcome addition, and the sauna/steam rooms attached indoors were really nice treats after a long drive.
I can't thank the staff enough for their courtesy in sending my iphone charger to me in the UK. I rang up when I got home as I realised it wasn't packed - we'd left it plugged into the mains in the bedroom - so I expected to be told it wasn't found. No, they had it, and they were happy to send a package home to me! Above and beyond what was expected.

Room Tip: The ground floor suites opened up into little gardens next to the car park, kept private by the high...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PedantiqueWretch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

358 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    67
    176
    76
    27
    12
See reviews for
104
172
5
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
134 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 10, 2013

We booked here whilst waiting to catch the CAT back to the UK from Le Havre.
Rooms average with microwave, fridge, hot plate and coffee pot.
Shower head has to be hand held, no wall fitting.
Breakfast OK but pricey at 12 euros. No restaurant so eating out is an option or going to Lidl opposite for supplies to microwave.
Parking is available.
Do not get a room at the back as a compressor runs all night and the view is of a run down industrial building.
It is a short walk to the town along a grass verge.
All in all not recommended at the price.

Room Tip: Get one at the front of the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rick_Goold
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Honfleur hotels

San Jose, California
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 16, 2013

The La Closerie in Honfleur was a great hotel! My family and I stayed there for two nights in July. The rooms are lovely but a bit small considering I was sharing them with my two sisters. They had great service and spoke good english. The town is a very short drive away. The rooms were very warm and the bathrooms were very nice. I would say that you should pack conditioner (if you use it) if your going to this hotel! They only offer shampoo, shower gel and soap!

Room Tip: Ask for and room by the pool! And defiantly sign up for the breakfast! it is wonderful!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Bridget M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
shipley derbyshire
Level Contributor
342 reviews
98 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 149 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 4, 2013

The welcome at this Hotel arriving at 9am was warm and very helpful despite the early time.The rooms are clean ,cosy,and very well appointed.Parking is free and easy.This can be a problem in Honfleur!
It is a short walk into town and there is a real ambience to the place.Avoid high season if you can as it is alive with coach tours
Breakfast is of very good quality and worth paying that little bit more..We did not use the pool but it looks good.
We ate lunch at the Auberge du Vieux Clocher which was excellent.
The Boudin Museum was worth a visit in spite of the sour faced receptionist.
Best thing is to wander and enjoy the setting and architecture.
Roger and Sara Mitchell

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lorenzo01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
84 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 22, 2013

Set on a roundabout on a main road into the old town we were not at first sure if we liked what we'd chosen but we were soon reassured. We were 2 parents and a teenage son and we chose a two room apartment with shower room/toilet, sitting room with balcony, eating area, television,sofa bed and well-equipped kitchenette, double bedroom, separate bathroom and more wardrobe space. The hotel offered breakfast but we preferred to get our own in our own time and a Lidl across the road provided most of what we needed to buy, plus we still had supplies from staying in a gite further South. The kitchen area included coffee-maker, toaster, kettle, dishwasher fridge/freeze,hob and microwave so one could self-cater as much as one wished, for example by buying cheeses pates, quiches and salads at local markets, and eat out lunchtime or evenings in local towns either in a simple creperie/pizzeria or enjoying a feast of local seafood in a typical Normandy restaurant. The rooms are clean and modern - you need to be tidy and organised about putting the sofa=bed away before you use the sitting room as a day-room, but it worked for us with an older teenager and it would work well with young children too. The hotel offers a laundry room, a spa area, small garden and a dellightful, if small, heated pool - very welcome in a cool Summer - with decked seating area and loungers. The road is busy during the day but quiet at night and while there is no pedestrian crossing - you have to take care of yourself and children, pushchairs etc - there are plenty of breaks in the traffic and you can then walk along a waterfront path into the town of Honfleur iin less than 10 mins. Not beautiful but immensely practical and we are going back again this September for a few days' Gallic break on our way back from a wedding. It's only a short drive to the ferry at Caen so very convenient

Room Tip: A balcony gives you extra space and somewhere to enjoy your aperitif
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mhallcool
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wiltshire
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 29, 2013

We stayed here last summer and we very impressed with the value of what we paid for.
We had a one bed apartment and it was perfect for our family.
Very new facilities and you could self cater if you wanted quite well in the kitchenette.
Laundry was a bonus on site. Breakfast was lovely and you could sit outside when the weather was good. Nice choice and all fresh.
Pool was fantastic, but steam room not that hot.
It is a bit of walk in Honfleur, but it wasn't that bad. We managed with a pushchair in the rain!
It's not insecure. Most hotels in France are like this. I don't think crime is a problem in Honfleur.
We had a lovely view across the river.
Hope to be back again one day as Honfleur is enchanting and we didn't stay long enough.

Room Tip: Rooms at front can be a bit noisy with windows open, but road is quiet at night and views across the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank franniebabes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakville, Canada
Level Contributor
317 reviews
70 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 144 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 28, 2012

This hotel is new and has lots of amenties. The rooms are spacious and clean. However it is a bit of a walk into the heart of Honfleur (15 to 20 minute walk along a very busy road, with no sidewalks in many places). Another downside to the hotel is the lack of staff in the evening and lack of a night security guard. One of our friends misplaced their key and after returning at 930pm had to spend over an hour trying to contact somebody to let them into their room. I have never stayed in a hotel before that did not have a night security guy available for emergencies. We stayed for a few nights and other than lack of staff at night it was a fine hotel, breakfast could have been better but it was OK.

Room Tip: make sure you ask when you book to have breakfast included (if you do it will be a no charge)
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Travellers-Ont
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Honfleur hotels
0.6 mi away
BEST WESTERN Le Cheval Blanc
0.7 mi away
Hotel l'Ecrin
Hotel l'Ecrin
#4 of 33 in Honfleur
4.5 of 5 bubbles 464 reviews
0.2 mi away
Ibis Honfleur
Ibis Honfleur
#7 of 33 in Honfleur
4.0 of 5 bubbles 870 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Mercure Honfleur
Mercure Honfleur
#11 of 33 in Honfleur
4.0 of 5 bubbles 764 reviews
1.4 mi away
Le Manoir Des Impressionnistes & Spa
1.0 mi away
La Ferme Saint Simeon - Relais et Chateaux
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Closerie Honfleur? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Closerie Honfleur

Property: La Closerie Honfleur
Address: Rond Point du Port | Cours Jean de Vienne, 14600, Honfleur, France
Location: France > Normandy > Basse-Normandie > Calvados > Honfleur
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 33 Hotels in Honfleur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — La Closerie Honfleur 3*
Number of rooms: 45
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotel.de and Fastbooking so you can book your La Closerie Honfleur reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing