We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A disappointment” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Le Breard

Le Breard
Reserve with
Le Breard is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #7 of 160 Restaurants in Honfleur
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $35 - $63
Cuisines: French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Special occasions, Romantic, Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Visa, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Description: The restaurant is located in the heart of the historic center of Honfleur in the "Square of Arts", 2 steps of the Church of St. Catherine and the Vieux Bassin. The restaurant has two small rooms with light decor, beige and brown, master paintings and sculptures adorn the fully decorated by English designers restaurant. Unique in Honfleur the restaurant has an indoor garden covered and heated for a total capacity of 60 seats. Ability to accommodate groups, please contact us for an offer. Gallery Tourgeville exhibited his works at Breard.
Oxford
Level Contributor
31 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“A disappointment”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 11, 2012

We chose Le Bréard primarily because many of the other restaurants in Honfleur were closed on Sunday evening and, frankly, wish we hadn’t. We ate the most expensive Menu Sensation at 55 Euros which, although not particularly expensive for this level of dining in France, was underwhelming to say the least. While amuses bouches and the first courses were OK in non-spectacular way, the veal sweetbreads were raw in the middle and cold to the touch. And I wonder who thought it was a good idea to serve a rather stale piece of turbot with a sweet almond sauce. It wasn’t. The pretentiously named Déclinaison autour du chocolat, version 2012 was, well, just chocolate, and Le Croque agrume was just oranges and lemons in a tart to us.

Service from the black-clad staff was clinically efficient if less than warm and welcoming and, all in all, the place was a disappointment. We hear from other guides that Le Bréard is in the running for a Michelin star. It has, in our view, a bit of a journey ahead first.

  • Visited June 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank DoctorOxford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

851 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    496
    236
    83
    23
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Canterbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“A twist on classic French Style”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2012

The style of Le Breard is essentially casual, but the standards of service and cuisine would pass muster at far more pretentious restaurants. Each course took classic dishes as their basis, but added a twist, often with a Japanese influence. I began with a steak tartare presented as a long rectangle covered over with a sort of ultra-light sesame-snap biscuit and with mustard ice cream that smacked more of wasabi. This was followed by thin strips of duck breast marinated in tea with a vegetable maki tempura. I chose a reasonably priced 2005 Lalande Pomerol which was very harmonious. The cheeses were the usual Normandie suspects, but fine examples and dessert was an exceptional fruit souffle with accompanying finely chopped fruit salad, almost a light compote.
I left the restaurant feeling enegized and mildly euphoric - partly the reasonable price paid, no doubt, but also a tribute to the very high standard of ingredients and cuisine at this exceptional restaurant.

  • Visited May 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank jaccuse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
182 reviews
160 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Good food and haute-cuisine”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 11, 2012

We had dinner here with Easter. There was a hick-up regarding my reservation (could not be found, but instead of 8 pm we could come bu at 9:15 pm). We ordered the 4-course menu for euro 55 each. Great variety of courses and haute cuisine. Also had a Sancerre and Saint-Emillion. Good level of service by staff. We had a great evening!

    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Nimbus71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
44 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Much better than St Simeon”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 27, 2012

Great french restaurant - excellent food and service. Well worth a visit and the souffle is memorable.
We were staying at the St Simeon which is not what is was 10 years ago!

  • Visited October 2011
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Adder26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hastings, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
89 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Beautiful Honfleur and it's restaurants”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 25, 2011

We stayed at the Hotel de Leah just 40 paces from the door of this superb restaurant. The food was the best I have tasted since visiting The Fat Duck five years ago. French cooking at it's very best, pidgeon and more game, salmon, beef, delicate vegetables, amazing sauces, Potato mousse!. Sea Bass. Amuse bouche to start and chocolate morsels with coffee. Plus a half bottle of red wine What dining value! £75. for two

  • Visited September 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank wreford-channelx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Le Breard also viewed

Honfleur, Calvados
 

Been to Le Breard? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing