We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (351)
Filter reviews
351 results
Traveler rating
149
121
45
20
16
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
149
121
45
20
16
Show reviews that mention
All reviews oast house round bed dog friendly room private garden evening meal and breakfast sunday roast very pleasant stay generous portions lovely meal historic rye shower cubicle large room full english breakfast cooked to perfection lots of character short stay night stay
Filter
Updating list...
222 - 227 of 351 reviews
Reviewed October 26, 2015

The Playden Oasts is just a wonderfully relaxing, welcoming inn.If you are looking for the bland big chain inns this is not for you. The decor is entirely fitting with the character of the place, it is warm and cosy. You get a lovely friendly welcome and nothing is too much. The bar and restaurant is comfy and is used by locals as well guests. The food is absolutely amazing.. the belly pork and lamb shank is fantastic!..and still there were two or three more dishes i would have loved to have tried! We were shown around the oast house rooms before we left and they were beautifully presented..the round bed and bath in the room looked lovely!

Date of stay: October 2015
1  Thank Hil L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 19, 2015

What a lovely place this is, the welcome is just so warm and nothing is to much trouble. We had 1 of the 'round rooms' complete with a round bed and a Juliette balcony, the room was very warm with plenty of space a good shower room. Having read other reviews we decided to eat in and were not disappointed. The evening meals were great, good portions and variety, breakfast also a varied menu with help yourself to cereal etc; The bar area is good well stocked and the locals friendly!! So if you want a small comfortable welcoming place to stay with great food then give this delightful hotel a try.

Room tip: the round rooms was quite large the shower not so big but adequate. the road was busy but did not keep us awake.
Date of stay: October 2015
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Sue B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 13, 2015 via mobile

This was the third time I've stayed, a really nice place with friendly staff.
The food was great, the beer excellent and a warm genuine welcome from the staff and locals who went out of their way to make you feel comfortable.
Warm and cozy, looking forward to next visit.

Date of stay: October 2015
Trip type: Traveled on business
1  Thank Spookybadman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 6, 2015

The Playden Oast Hotel, was wonderful. We went for a 3 night break just to chill out before the winter sets in. The Hotel is set off the Road. Pretty Gardens souround the Quirky Oast house. Our room was not in the main roundel building but to an extension at the side. We were in a very quiet area. The room was spotlessly clean, with a separate loo & shower room.

The Staff were all amazing. The breakfast were very hearty, we didn't have to have anything to eat until our evening meal . We only ate in the restaurant on the first night as we wanted to sample other places in the area. The food was lovely,hot and tasty with a good choice on the menu.
The lovely bar area was very quaint & friendly. It had loads of atmosphere .
The Playdon is about a mile from Rye but there is a steep hill to climbe on the was back. Would be ok in the summer months but not in the Winter.
We would defiantly return as we have friends that live in Rye Harbour.

Room tip: Ask when booking if they have a roundel room but they are upstairs. Pet friendly rooms are available .
Date of stay: September 2015
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank WENDY N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 29, 2015 via mobile

Arrived after a stressful journey to be greeted by wonderful hospitality, immediately shown to my cosy room and within minutes sandwiches and a large glass of wine! Bed was very clean and comfortable but sadly the room wasn't terribly clean with cobwebs on walls and in shower, bits on the carpet and bedside lamps needed a dust down. Having said this I would definately return as the hospitality made up for the dust and cobwebs!

Date of stay: September 2015
Trip type: Traveled solo
1  Thank ValCT57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews