We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Avoid,dirty,could not wait to get out!.”
Review of Playden Oasts Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Playden Oasts Inn
Ranked #1 of 5 Playden B&B and Inns
Reviewed July 29, 2012

Dirty room,and bed,cobwebs everywhere,cat hairs on chair in breakfast room as well as loads of flies,chips in cups and plates,dirty cutlery,i could go on but i am trying to erase the costly 95gbp stay in room 7 from my mind,worst stay in hotel ever! steve,orpington.

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank gizapound
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (270)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

227 - 233 of 270 reviews

Reviewed July 1, 2012

Arrived at the hotel and thought how lovely and unusual it looked. we were given a very friendly welcome and taken to our "superior" double room

Unfortunately, that's where the positive comments end

our room was the round one over the dining room. very shabby decor, big stain on the mattress which can be seen when you're in the room, mismatch of furniture and an incredible blue window blind that's too long and not wide enough!

Sheets and towels were spotless but this isn't enough for a room that cost £110 per night

To make matters worse, we could only get BBC 1 and 2 on the TV and were told it had been like that since the digital changeover and needed to be retuned. we couldn't hear it anyway, due to the deafening noise from the dining room below.

What;s with the boxes of tissues/ We had 6 boxes in the room and 1 in the loo!!

Breakfast wasn't any better - no fruit and no brown bread, just white "pappy" sliced stuff. the scrambled egg was like slush - not a great culinary experience.

The final complaint - old furniture left out on display by the car park - more stained mattresses - yuk!

Maybe someone should arrange for the "Hotel Inspector" to visit or maybe not, as we were told they are booked up pretty much every weekend. We've just come back from a family run hotel in Croatia which puts this one to shame.

Potentially it could be lovely but definitely needs some tlc - not worth the money!

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Mike F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 28, 2012

Has the potential to be a really good hotel.
Has 2 circular rooms in the old oasts which would be appealing to some guests.
We stayed in one of the garden rooms which was very nice especially as the weather was hot and the rooms were well shaded and cool.
The staff were good and helpful. Due to an imminent medical process I had special dietary needs on one of the days and the chef could not have been more helpful.
The pub part is comfortable with local beer, cider and wine.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pambill2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 6, 2012

My fiancee booked this stay as a surprise for us, and what a wonderful surprise it was!

We arrived last Sunday only to discover that we'd forgotten an essential item for our 5 month old baby, I was contemplating driving home (about an hour and a half) when one of the staff, Charlotte very kindly offered to drive home and lend us her one, what a wonderful and kind gesture....smiles on all three of our faces (hope she enjoys the chocolates we left for her).
The owners and ALL the staff were extremely attentive in every possible way, from ensuring we had everything we needed to even listening out for our dog whilst we dined in town for a couple of hours.
The food and wine was very desirable and rather encouriging to notice how many locals visited to dine and drink...obviously a very good sign!! The dinner menu was pleasantly aphoristic and varied utilising plenty of local fayre. The breakfast options covered everything you would desire and very generous in portions.
The exterior is very charming, with the oasts set on top of a hill that leads down to the town centre, a very pleasant walk, albeit slightly hard work pushing a pram, on the flip side, a good way to walk off a hearty breakfast!
The bedroom interior is dated (can only comment on our room) BUT we both agreed that this added to the Inn's charm, quirky and very clean.
All the staff were very busy but always found time to stop, chat and attend to our needs...above all, thay always smiled, sadly, something lacking in today's society.

We were greeted very warmly and sent off very happy, we will certainly be back!

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John and Sara G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 29, 2012

This little hotel has so much to offer and would make an excellent, enjoyable get-away. The bar and restaurant inside the two oast houses with their exposed brick walls, various ancient metal farm items, the dried flowers hanging from the timber ceilings all add to the charming atmosphere. The 8 rooms have comfortable beds and furniture and are clean and friendly. Even though there is only one staff member on duty at the bar and restaurant who seems to double up with reception, serving, and just about everything else - they are pleasant and eager to help. What spoils it is the abysmally slow service in the dining room. There is one chef on at a time and he apparently has no helper - so he battles his way through each guest's order one at at time. On both the two nights we were there, the first of our two courses took around 45 mins. to arrive. You then wait another 20 - 30 mins for your dessert. The hotel was not full - apart from ourselves, perhaps one other room was occupied. There were about half a dozen other people who were simply dining there. So, if the kitchen were adequately staffed, the waiting time could have been much shorter.The food is reasonably good and nicely presented. The breakfast chef was considerably quicker but he only had 2 or 3 guests to deal with and cooked and served it himself.
Another disappointment were the cheap fittings in the bathrooms! The loo paper and shower cubicle were about the cheapest quality you could buy. The wash basins are in the bedroom without adequate surfaces to put your toiletries on. On our arrival for our 30th anniversary stay, the heating in our bedroom could not be turned down and the room was like a furnace. The helpful staff who was on multiple duty, as described earlier, suggested we switch to the room next door. Having unpacked and settled in, we lugged all our stuff out of the drawers and trudged off to the room next door. The heating worked here but when we tried to use the shower that evening prior to going in to dinner, to our dismay there was no hot water. So we had to report that too, and were told that as the plumber could not be called out till the next day we could use the shower in the room next door (the one we had just vacated). The next day they tried to contact their plumber several times and he didn't appear, so for two nights we juggled between the two rooms for sleeping and showering. The staff were apologetic, and the owner did knock £20 off the bill. But what could have been just a perfect anniversary break was not without these little inconveniences. Having said which, most nice hotels having been informed at the time of booking that you were coming there to spend your wedding anniversary might have added some little personal touch to your stay, to have made it a little special. I think, here, the overworked staff would be hard put to cope with any such niceties! We thought if the owner could see his way to hiring some help in the kitchen or perhaps a general help who could assist the main staff, the general quality of service in this delightful small hotel would be much improved. It needs it. The Playden Oasts has great potential for making it into something very special. It is disappointing that this is not explored sufficiently by the owners.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank happylanding2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 19, 2012

Our room in the annexe was tired and in need of refurbishment, but at least the bed was clean and comfortable. The doors to the loo and shower did not close properly, the plug in the basin did not work, there was no light above the basin, the carpet had not been vacuumed and there were insufficient hangers in the wardrobe. The staff were very polite but our dinner in the bar was dreadful (Chef's night off?) with a Leek & Potato Soup so thick and glutinous that you could just about stand a spoon up in it. Both of our battered fish were burnt at one end, probably as a result of not having been properly thawed before frying and then having been placed under a grill to rectify this. The grim experience was made even worse by the proprietor nonchalantly sitting at a nearby table smoking, without any concern for his guests. Breakfast was generous but uninspiring.

Room Tip: Try somewhere else
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank bleakmidwinter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 9, 2012

Although we didn't stay here, some family did and said the rooms were very clean and comfortable. We did see their breakfast being served which looked great....very jealous. The reason I am doing a review is because we held our wake here after a funeral at the church next door. The service and attention given to our guests was excellent. The quality of the food and wine they supplied was very good. The staff couldn't do enough for us, they were friendly; efficient and professional. Without exception all of our family and friends commented on how well they were looked after and if a wake could be successful, then this one was. Thanks to all the staff and as we are local, we will be making more visits here and enjoying the friendly surroundings and service. The score really is based solely on the restaurants and bar, not the bedrooms.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stoker177
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Playden
1 mi away
The Mermaid Inn
0.9 mi away
Rye Lodge Hotel
Rye Lodge Hotel
#5 of 9 in Rye
821 reviews
1.1 mi away
The Hope Anchor Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1 mi away
The George in Rye
2.5 mi away
The Flackley Ash Country House Hotel
0.4 mi away
The Kings Head
The Kings Head
#8 of 39 in Rye
336 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Playden Oasts Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Playden Oasts Inn

Address: Playden Oasts Rye Road, Playden, Rye TN31 7UL, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Rye > Playden
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Playden
Price Range: $107 - $135 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Playden Oasts Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Playden Oasts Inn is a friendly family run, B&B, Restaurant & Bar just one mile from the historic Cinque Port of Rye and four miles from the sandy beaches of Camber Sands. All rooms are En-Suite with TV & Tea/Coffee Facilities. Free WiFi. Ample Parking. Beer Garden & Terrace. Dog Friendly and ideally situated for bird watching & walking. Featured in the Good Food Guide. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets and Agoda so you can book your Playden Oasts Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Playden Oasts Hotel Playden
Playden Oasts Inn Rye

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing