We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sunday Lunch”

The Playden Oasts Inn Restaurant
Ranked #1 of 2 Restaurants in Playden
Price range: $26 - $45
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Description: Boasting many of the original features, including the impressive roundels themselves, the Playden Oast offers a unique hotel experience in the heart of the East Sussex countryside. You can choose from eight traditionally styled, en-suite bedrooms including two large round bedrooms in the centre of the building. There are also two restaurants offering a wide range of locally sourced dishes, served daily. Families and pets are welcome.
Reviewed April 2, 2017

Second visit today for Sunday lunch as was feeling under par last time and the food was as good as I remember, even managed to fit in a dessert this time which was very tasty and well presented. Staff very friendly and helpful, nothing is too much trouble. May have to try again!!

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank tinac0llis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kim R, Owner at The Playden Oasts Inn Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded April 18, 2017

Thank you. We hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (164)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

28 - 32 of 164 reviews

Reviewed March 27, 2017

This restaurant was within walking distance of the Corner House and was totally delightful, both meal and decor...coming back in Sep 2017

Thank jeremcconnellbr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kim R, Owner at The Playden Oasts Inn Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded April 18, 2017

Thank you. Look forward ro seeing you again in September.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 20, 2017

We stayed for our 61st wedding anniversary, and booked into the restaurant for a celebration meal. We didn't have starters, but the mains were superb. I had a meat pudding which was huge and a selection of seasonal veg, my husband had the scampi which was cooked and presented superbly. We were given a complimentary bottle of wine by management for our special meal which was a lovely gesture. We also gad breakfasts each morning. I have cooked bacon for many many years, but never as good as they cooked it! I wanted to ask how they did it!! Would recommend.

    • Service
    • Food
Thank trish2665
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kim R, Owner at The Playden Oasts Inn Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded April 18, 2017

It was lovely meeting you. Hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 20, 2017

Went here for the first time in many years - Sunday lunch was well presented and very very tasty - have already bookekd again

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank tatianabobo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kim R, Owner at The Playden Oasts Inn Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded April 18, 2017

Thank You.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 17, 2017 via mobile

Just spent a night here while convalescing. Great room with good food in the restaurant. Setting is quiet layed in bed this morning listening to birds superb good breakfast. Only 5 mins from Rye can highly recommend we will use again

1  Thank Martin8858
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kim R, Owner at The Playden Oasts Inn Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded April 18, 2017

Thank you. We look forward to your return visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Playden Oasts Inn Restaurant also viewed

 
Rye, East Sussex
 

Been to The Playden Oasts Inn Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing