We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent B & B”
Review of The Corner House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Corner House
Ranked #4 of 5 Playden B&B and Inns
Reviewed January 9, 2013

Excellent B & B near Rye.
Nice rooms, and the most silent plumbing ever known to mankind.
It is bed & breakfast, no evening meals, (when we stayed), but that's not a problem as there is a great pub with great food just over the road, so you can walk back over the drink walking limit....!!!
Nice place to stay for a few nights... to see Kent and East Sussex around the Rye area.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Les R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (36)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

23 - 29 of 36 reviews

Reviewed September 14, 2012

Our second visit to this B&B was as pleasant as the first one, some three years ago. Our room with private bathroom as well as the en-suite room our sons stayed in, were very clean and cosy, both with a view on the beautiful garden. We'd stayed in the front room before, but the traffic on the A268 didn't really bother us. The breakfast was excellent, not to fat. The landlady Yvonne is a very friendly lady indeed. The Playden Oasts Inn down the road is a nice place to have a meal, although they were out of bitter, and not everything on the menue was available. Still, Rye is only five minutes from the B&B.

Room Tip: We've used three room up until now. All three were nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Luk V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 5, 2012

While the decor might not be to our taste, we cannot fault ths place in any way at all. The owner (and local friend who helps out) could not have been more friendly and helpful, you get a hearty (fry up)breakfast to start the day which sets you up perfectly for a days adventure as well as a great selection of cereals and beverages. Absolutley stunning garden which we ventured into to bask in the sunshine. The location is close enough to many local attractions and we hope to return soon.

Thank you Yvonne

Room Tip: Talk to the other guests, they might have some good tips...Room 6 overlooks the beautiful garden
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BrianFLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 10, 2012

We have stayed at the Corner house for many times over the years. Yvonne, the host, is absolutely wonderful and generous. She is an amazing cook, in fact I have never tasted a better English breakfast. Her breakfast is low fat and started with a healthy and fresh fruit salad and selection of cereals. Just delicious, just perfectly cooked.
Nothing is too much trouble, she even started serving cream teas in her beautiful country garden.
The rooms a spotless and enjoyable. This is a British B&B at its best, pretty flowery wallpaper and flowery teacups on the hospitality tray. All the rooms are pretty, we know as we have stayed in all of them. The beds are very comfortable and the linen fresh and crisp.
I nothing negative to say, and after staying at B&B's for 20 years I can say without hesitation that this is truly the best one!
Location is also a plus, Rye is a beautiful town and the Corner house is situated just a mile outside of the ancient city walls. There are a few pubs within walking distance serving delicious food. We especially recommend the Oats Inn, about 500 meters from the Corner house. If you ask Yvonne she will gladly book you a table for dinner.
We will no doubt stay again very soon, and looking forward to it already!

Room Tip: all rooms are great
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ula_bru
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 15, 2011

I, my husband and friends stayed at The Corner House for the week-end, using it as a base to explore the local area and to go walking.
We were greeted by the very friendly and informative landlady, Yvonne, who showed us to our two very pretty, spacious en-suite rooms. The bed linen was fresh and crisp and the whole property was immaculately clean. The property is situated approximately 1 mile outside of Rye town and offered peace and tranquility, although the main road at the front of the property was slightly noisy with the occasional speeding vehicle, but this too was quiet at night.
Traditional full English breakfast was tasty, satisfying and not at all greasy. A selection of fresh fruit and cereals was also offered.
There is a cafe, bar, bistro restaurant next door called the Peace and Plenty at which we enjoyed a dinner on the Saturday evening, but there is also a further restaurant a five minute walk away called the Oast House, for more formal dining.
All in all an ideal location to feel 'away from it all', but within easy reach of Rye town and local walks.
Would highly recommend and hope to revisit.

Room Tip: Room 6 (ensuite twin) was towards the rear of the property and overlooked the pretty garden.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Pepster56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 15, 2011

We stayed here with friends for a weekend break. We knew Rye fairly well, but our friends didn't know the area. The Corner House was an excellent find, and a great choice for exploring.

The rooms are fresh, clean and comfortable, with good ensuites and tea and coffee-making facilities. Yvonne was very welcoming, and showed us round when we arrived. Unusally, bedroom keys are not normally provided - though they can be supplied if requested. This actually made us feel more 'at home' and trusted, and made the lovely house feel less like an impersonal hotel. In the breakfast room there is a wealth of useful information about the area, including walks and Yvonne will also recommend places to visit as well as good local pubs and restaurants.

Breakfast is beautifully cooked, and superb quality, with a wide choice of fruit, cereals and home-made preserves. If like us you are animal lovers you will quickly make friends with Mia the cat, and when you explore the beautiful gardens you will also see the family horses enjoying the freedom of the fields. It is a beautiful spot for them, and for human guests!

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank WerdnaHampshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 21, 2011

Delightful place to stay. Only negative comment would be the road noise but this was not toomuch of a problem.

  • Stayed: May 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank WandererPreston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Playden
1.2 mi away
The Mermaid Inn
1.1 mi away
The George in Rye
1.3 mi away
The Hope Anchor Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
River Haven Hotel
2.4 mi away
The Flackley Ash Country House Hotel
0.2 mi away
Playden Oasts Inn
Playden Oasts Inn
#2 of 5 in Playden
259 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Corner House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Corner House

Address: Rye Road, Playden, Rye TN31 7UL, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Rye > Playden
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Playden
Price Range: $117 - $121 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Friendly B and B just one mile from Rye. Pretty en-suite rooms with everything you need for a comfortable stay, delicious hearty breakfasts, beautiful garden, off road parking, country pub nearby. A very warm welcome awaits. Ideally situated to visit and explore many interesting and historical towns and places of interest. Hastings, Battle, Canterbury just a short drive away and the beautiful beach at Camber Sands just three miles away. Also many gardens such as Sissinghurst, Great Dixter are nearby.We have been welcoming guests from around the world for 35 years and hope to welcome you soon! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your The Corner House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Corner House Playden, Rye

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing