We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Well located place with friendly stuff”
Review of Bistrot Fernand

Bistrot Fernand
Cuisines: French
Dining options: Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night
Reviewed September 2, 2015

After a long search of a place where we can eat fish and seafood at a reasonable price in a friendly environment, we found this bistro.
We were seated outside in a half sunny place what we were happy for, since it was really warm that day.
After taking the order, the food arrived quite fast and wast good. Not the best, but good. They advertise their potatoes as home-made - and they might be.
The price of the drinks was quite high, but I presume everywhere around was the same.
The stuff was friendly and helpful.

Date of visit: August 2015
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank emesemese
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (464)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

10 - 14 of 465 reviews

Reviewed August 10, 2015

The restaurant is located alongside all the others next to the road and port/harbor. All the restaurants were full, except this one, so you already know it's not going to be fabulous.

Some of the dishes were decent, the mussels were about 60% shut - so not edible. Service was fine and reasonably efficient, and the decor is that of an old fashion bistro.

Date of visit: August 2015
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Dutch-Mikey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 11, 2015

The restaurant's location is excellent, directly on the main boulevard with seating inside and outside. One more positive aspect is the friendly service one gets. But as food is normally a guest's main object in the choice of a restaurant this one cannot be recommended. Fish soup totally devoid of taste, chips dripping with fat, fish portions of minimal size - even with a lot of good will this reviewer cannot get himself to recommending this place, which can certainly only survive because Trouville attracts so many tourists who may go there once, but probably not much more often.

Date of visit: July 2015
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Jochen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2015 via mobile

We had steaks and burgers. The burgers were good, steaks average, fries the same. My haricots verts were frozen ones that had warmed up too long :-(
For 130 euo incl dessert it is OK but not more than that

Date of visit: July 2015
Thank Bent Asnæs K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 19, 2015

We stumbled across this place desperate for seafood, and we weren't disappointed. The assiette was fresh and delicious, along with the extra order of oysters! My friend's moules frites was also very delicious. I didn't have dessert, but my dining companions had iles flotante which they really liked. Nice aspect on the waterfront as well.

Date of visit: June 2015
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank gabriellek382
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bistrot Fernand also viewed

Trouville-sur-Mer, Calvados
Trouville-sur-Mer, Calvados
 
Trouville-sur-Mer, Calvados
Trouville-sur-Mer, Calvados
 
Trouville-sur-Mer, Calvados
Trouville-sur-Mer, Calvados
 

Been to Bistrot Fernand? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing