We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nothing too much trouble”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Le Fer a Cheval
Ranked #5 of 15 Hotels in Trouville-sur-Mer
Wellingborough, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Nothing too much trouble”
Reviewed May 12, 2014

Lovely comfortable hotel centrally located in the up market seaside town of Trouville-sur-mer. A very warm welcome received from the owners. Spacious and comfortable room with great shower. Ample continental breakfast which was prepared early on our day of departure with no fuss. Thank you. Would definitely use again.

Room Tip: Try to get upgraded to large rooms on first floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank huw2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dutant V, Responsable commercial at Hotel Le Fer a Cheval, responded to this review, May 17, 2014
Dear Guest,
We thank you very much for your nice comment. We are very pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us.
Looking forward to welcoming you for a future stay,
Best regards,
Virginie Dutant
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

323 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    100
    156
    53
    8
    6
See reviews for
66
174
20
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed May 7, 2014

Stayed here for 2 nights in May with 3 mates as a base for golf break around Deauville. very friendly and helpful hosts, including arranging breakfast 30 mins early to fit with our golf plans. Think we were upgraded without asking, as hotel was not full, and facilities and breakfast were really good all round. Recommended.

Room Tip: With balcony overlooking the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alwyn D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dutant V, Responsable commercial at Hotel Le Fer a Cheval, responded to this review, May 10, 2014
Dear Sir,
Many thanks for your very nice review on our hotel, we really appreciate it. We are very happy that you had a good stay with us. You have indeed been upgraded to Superior rooms.
We hope to welcome you again for a future stay,
With our best regards,
Virginie Dutant
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belgium
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 7, 2014

The hotel was really good situated in the center. Parking space is a problem.
We had a very pleasant stay. The breakfast is good. You have enough choice and fresh products. The room is mall, but you have everything you need for a short trip.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
Thank Marlies H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woking, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
270 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 116 helpful votes
Reviewed May 6, 2014

We visited on a French Bank Holiday so everything was very busy. The rooms in the hotel were small but provided all we needed. We were there on a golfing holiday so did not really spend time in the room. Lack of a bar is a little bit of a downer but there are lots of bars and restaurants within a 5 minute walk. Great breakfast by French standards. If you want a clean, comfortable and friendly base of operations in Trouville, this is for you.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Norman J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dutant V, Responsable commercial at Hotel Le Fer a Cheval, responded to this review, May 10, 2014
Dear Sir,
We thank you for your nice comment and we are very happy that you enjoyed your stay with us.
Looking forward to welcome you for a future stay,
Best regards,
Virginie Dutant
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Den Bosch, The Netherlands
Level 6 Contributor
477 reviews
161 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 214 helpful votes
Reviewed May 1, 2014

With two couples, we stayed at Le Fer a Cheval for an extended weekend. The hotel is conveniently located very close to the casino, beach and boulevard. That was basically why we liked it. Even though we had booked a 'superior' room, the rooms were extremely small. So small, that we couldn't even store our two suitcases (they also didn't fit under the bed). Furthermore, and we have seen more remarks about this from other reviewers, there was a very strong smell in the room. The street was very noisy, particularly at night, as it is the connexting street between the casino and the town center. Bathroom amenities were far from plentiful: two small sachets of bath gel per day and no shampoo. Breakfast was very basic but okay. The hotel has a small parking for a maximum of three cars. Parking outside the hotel is difficult and expensive 22 € per day).
Unfortunately, we had some unpleasant financial suprises. When we booked the hotel, a quote was given and we booked under these conditions. Upon checking out, the price turned out higher. The argument was that this was because of Easter and that it was mentionned on the confirmation. We said, however, that we were given a quote and that we booked on the basis of this. So far, we have not had any response to our request to get back the money we feel the hotel has overcharged us.
Another frustration was that first, our credit card was not accepted so we paid by debit card. The machine failed two times according to the receptionist. The third time it worked. However, upon getting home it turned out the amount had been charged three times. It took more than a week to investigate and get two of the three payments reversed.
All in all we would try another hotel next time in Trouville.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DeKokkies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dutant V, Responsable commercial at Hotel Le Fer a Cheval, responded to this review, May 10, 2014
Dear Sir,
As discussed wih you during your stay, we well had booked two superior rooms for you which size was between 16 and 17 sq meters and both of them had balconies. For your information, our standard rooms are around 13.50 sq meters and don't have balconies. We also explained you that our biggest Superior rooms are equipped with twin beds, whereas you asked for double beds. We proposed you to visit one of them for a future stay (as the hotel was full to change the rooms) but you refused.
Your rooms were located on a quiet and little street, however this was a very busy bank holiday week-end so this is probably why you have been disturbed, but this is a very rare occurance.
Regarding bedroom amenities, we will change our products from 2015 and propose something more sophisticated. For your information, the sachets you had in your bathroom are two in one (shampoo and shower gel).
We have developped our buffet breakfast since january and are proposing now also eggs, ham and cheese in addition to the traditionnal french breakfast and we have good feedbacks on it.
You are talking about parking outside which is payable whereas you were lucky enough to park your car in our little courtyard which is free.
Regarding the room price, we made a mistake on our quotation but the room price on our reservation confirmation was good and we have since reimbursed you the difference.
Upon check out, your credit card has been refused two times and as you are mentionning, you have been charged only one time.
Staying at your disposal for any further information, Best regards,
Virginie Dutant
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kelowna, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed August 25, 2013

I stayed in this hotel in Trouville in early July for 3 nights. It was prior to school holidays starting and therefore the hotel and the town was still quite quiet. Not tons of tourists about.
I arrived at the train station, coming from Paris. To find the hotel, it is really important to come out of the train station and bear to your right and cross the small bridge.Turn left and stroll along the road to the right of the canal, heading towards the large yellow casino that is ahead. The street leading to the hotel runs off to the right as you near the casino. The reason why I am stating these directions is because I asked a policeman directions as I exited the station, and he erroneously directed me to Deauville which is the town to the left of the station. Apparently that town too has a Rue Victor Hugo!!!!
There was a lady from England working at the front desk during my stay, and I found her very friendly and helpful.
My room faced a street (not Victor Hugo)... and I found it quite noisy with traffic at times of the day. In fact, the hotel itself was quite noisy ( I guess due to its age)... I could hear toilets flush, showers run, floors above creak, sounds from rooms nearby. I had to wear earplugs in order to sleep... something I never have usually to do. Also, the light from the streetlight outside my window shone through the curtains, making my room quite bright at night. I also had to wear a nightshade.... also a rare occurrence. The mattress was comfortable, the pillows so-so.
What I liked about the hotel was its location... a quick walk to the street lined with cafes, close to the boardwalk and beach, 10 min. walk to station, etc.
As well, I enjoyed the breakfast... the pain au chocolat. mmmmm... was warm and delicious.
Would I stay here again? Yes, it's all part of the experience and the positives outweighed the negatives.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nutmeg06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Herzelia
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed August 25, 2013

My wife and I stayed in this hotel for four nights in August 2013, and we liked it a lot.

The main characteristics in our mind are:
Family atmosphere - welcoming attitude and great service
Well designed rooms
Very clean
And it is located right at the centre, close to the beach, Casino, shopping and restaurants.
The only difficulty was the parking which is a bit limited (some days we got lucky), but this is very common in Trouvile.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kobi B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Trouville-sur-Mer hotels
0.0 mi away
Hotel Les 2 Villas
Hotel Les 2 Villas
#1 of 15 in Trouville-sur-Mer
334 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Mercure Trouville Sur Mer
Hotel Mercure Trouville Sur Mer
#4 of 15 in Trouville-sur-Mer
414 reviews
0.1 mi away
Cures Marines Trouville Hotel Thalasso & Spa
Cures Marines Trouville Hotel Th...
#2 of 15 in Trouville-sur-Mer
891 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Le Flaubert
Le Flaubert
#8 of 15 in Trouville-sur-Mer
212 reviews
0.2 mi away
Soleil Vacances Beach Hotel
Soleil Vacances Beach Hotel
#15 of 15 in Trouville-sur-Mer
1,538 reviews
0.5 mi away
Best Western Plus Hostellerie Du Vallon
Best Western Plus Hostellerie Du...
#3 of 15 in Trouville-sur-Mer
630 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Le Fer a Cheval? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Le Fer a Cheval

Property: Hotel Le Fer a Cheval
Address: 11 rue Victor Hugo, 14360 Trouville-sur-Mer, France
Location: France > Normandy > Basse-Normandie > Calvados > Trouville-sur-Mer
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 15 Hotels in Trouville-sur-Mer
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Le Fer a Cheval 3*
Number of rooms: 34
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Le Fer a Cheval reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Fer a Cheval Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing