We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“never disappoints”

Gaffer's Restaurant
Ranked #3 of 7 Restaurants in Lockport
Price range: $10 - $30
Cuisines: Seafood, Steakhouse, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Winnipeg, Canada
Level Contributor
22 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“never disappoints”
Reviewed September 4, 2013

we live close so we try and visit a couple of times a year. Wonderful soups, great ribs and they do a wonderful Mother's Day Buffet every year

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank kat58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

76 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    26
    27
    12
    6
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Lockport, Canada
1 review
“Amazing Ribs”
Reviewed August 21, 2013

My wife and I go to gaffers a lot, best ribs I have ever had, I recommend them to anybody! Very underrated restaurant. Check it out

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jeremy Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg
Level Contributor
55 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Satisfied”
Reviewed August 8, 2013

We went to Gaffer’s Restaurant in Lockport, Manitoba August 1st, 2013. We were there with a large group. The restaurant made up a special menu. There were 4 choices: Sirloin Steak with choice of potato or rice, BBQ Back Ribs, BBQ Chicken Breast, and some kind of salad.
I had the steak with a baked potato and my wife had the chicken breast with rice. It also included a small amount of steamed vegetables. Everything was very good. The steak and the chicken breast came as ordered. Both were nicely spiced. Before the main entree we had house salad with garlic bread sticks. Service was excellent. The servers were quite attentive. One of the guests complained about the tea being cold, the waitress brought new hot tea immediately without complaining.
According to the people who ordered the ribs, they were tasty and the meat tender.
All in all a wonderful experience. We’ve been there before and most of the time we left satisfied with the meal.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank hegro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg, Canada
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“disappointed”
Reviewed July 24, 2013

My family has been going to Gaffers for years and have been fairly happy with the food and service. The menu has a good selection of meals that makes everyone happy. On our last visit we were very disappointed. I had ordered the Boston prawns and the waitress double checked that I wanted the entree and I had said yes. But when the meals came everyone except for me got the correct meal. I received the garlic shrimp which is an appetizer rather than the entree. I am not one to complain so I ordered a side salad to make it a meal. My husband questioned the waitress of the mix up and she had the manager come and see us. She took off the kids soft drinks off the bill and said that the shrimp appetizer and salad was cheaper than the meal I had ordered. She left it at that. We couldn't believe that. We won't be going to Gaffers for awhile and I am looking for another restaurant in the area. We were celebrating our anniversary.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
5 Thank wpgdiana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg, Canada
Level Contributor
22 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Pretty average”
Reviewed June 24, 2013

Quite large portions for the price. Taco salad was huge.Veal cutlet was also huge portions. However, I personally was not really keen on the sauce and flavor of the cutlets or the quality of the fries.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Lionel B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gaffers_restaurant, Manager at Gaffer's Restaurant, responded to this review, June 26, 2013
Hello Lionel,

I just wanted to take the time to thank you for reviewing us on trip advisor. The more reviews we have the more accurate our average will be.

I am dissapointed that our Veal Parmesean was not to your satisfaction. If you choose to visit us again I am certain there is something on our menu you will love. In fact we even have an alternate creamy mushroom sauce for the veal that is actually my preference over the tomato sauce.

Please say hi next time you come in, or ask for me if you are making a reservation. I will recommend a meal you cannot resist and personally see to it you and your comapnions have a great experience.

Sincerely Danny & the Gaffers Team (204) 757-2350
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Gaffer's Restaurant also viewed

 
Gonor Station, Manitoba
 

Been to Gaffer's Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing