We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic, Magical Place”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Moulin de Hard

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Moulin de Hard
Ranked #1 of 1 Subles B&B and Inns
Salt Lake City, Utah
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Fantastic, Magical Place”
Reviewed June 26, 2013

The Moulin de Hard is a wonderful, magical place. We stayed for 3 nights while touring Normandy with our children (ages 9 and 12) and my mother and father-in law. Helene was a wonderful host, and her home is elegant and comfortable and warm. The breakfasts were legendary, homemade everything. I highly recommend the Moulin de Hard--you need a car to get there, but you need a car in Normandy anyway. The setting is so bucolic and peaceful--the kids loved staying here (and the adults too!) It is also a fantastic value compared to all of our other lodging. Thank you Helene, for a wonderful visit.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank utahm0m2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

89 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    84
    4
    0
    0
    1
See reviews for
25
51
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Albany, Australia
Level Contributor
40 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed June 23, 2013

We stayed in the Blue Suite (shared bathroom) for 4 nights in April/May and it was absolutley brilliant. The whole B&B is beautiful with the river running past, sheep and horses in the fields and the most relaxing setting possible. The rooms are excellent, the beds very comfortable and eveything is very clean.

For 2 nights of our stay we chose not to eat in Bayeaux and instead took back baguettes and cheeses for a picnic dinner in the downstairs lounge area reserved for guests as the view was just too lovely to pass up.

Helene is the perfect host, being available when necessary and extremley helpful with information but giving you space to enjoy her home without feeling intrusive. Despite her protestations to the contrary, Helene's english is very good, certainly better than our french.

The breakfast is fantastic with Helena making her own yoghurts, lemon cakes, jams and tarts for your selection, along with the usual cereals, fruit, croissants and breads being provided as well. You certainly never left the table hungry!

The location is just outside the village of Subles, about 5km from Bayeaux so a car is necessary but certainly worth it. It is only about a 5 minute drive to parking in Bayeux.

Honestly, the best b&b we have every stayed in.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank SKI_64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee
Level Contributor
307 reviews
93 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 188 helpful votes
Reviewed June 17, 2013

The B&B is outside of town (car is a necessity!) in a pastoral, idyllic setting. There are horses and sheep, a river running through the property, and beautiful gardens. The home itself is breathtaking and unique. The main entryway is built around the actual old mill apparatus. The living room is very large with the biggest arched picture window facing the river and the gardens that I've ever seen. Guests are welcome to use this peaceful room. Our bedroom, the yellow room, was upstairs overlooking the river and garden. It was nicely decorated, quiet, and had a comfortable bed. Breakfast, served in the beautiful big kitchen (with a fantastic stove), was delicious. Helene offered homemade yogurt, homemade cereal and breads, and many homemade jams. It was way more than we could eat but so delicious! Helene was a great hostess who spoke enough English to communicate with our just enough to communicate French. I thought the reservation process was a little loose - she required no deposit and just asked that we contact her 15 days before we were due to confirm our stay. It worked out well but it made me, someone who likes everything planned, a little nervous. I would highly recommend this B&B, particularly if you want to get "away from it all".

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kayteeMilwaukee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake Mary, Florida
2 reviews
Reviewed June 9, 2013

For being so patient with my pathetic attempts to speak French. We were there with our two sons (12,10) they enjoyed playing hide and seek in the yard while we enjoyed the nice blue room, great decor and fabulous breakfast. Highly recommend!

Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Robbieandjo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mesa (Mesa County), Colorado
Level Contributor
120 reviews
110 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
Reviewed June 6, 2013

Perfect in every way. Helene has created beautiful guestrooms in her amazing home, formerly an old mill. She has wonderful taste and her home has lovely touches throughout. There is tea and coffee waiting by the front door for whenever it's needed, and guests are welcome in the beautiful living area with a huge picture window overlooking the water wheel, stream and grounds. The setting is spectacular, just a quick drive from Bayeux. The photos don't do justice to the lovely landscaping and water features.

Our immaculate "Red Room" was huge with windows on both sides which should create a nice cross breeze when needed. (Cold and rainy when we were there). We had a very nice bath with both shower (excellent) and tub, plus a nice dressing table, small closet, and good lighting. Bed and linens were very comfortable. WiFi worked well.

It is evident that Helene likes to cook. We had 6 different types of delicious jams, tasty homemade yogurt, lovely breads and amazing fruit gateaus -- all created by Helene with local ingredients. What a treat!

Helene is the perfect hostess. She is very kind, thoughtful and helpful, but not intrusive. She is, of course, very knowledgeable about the area and created itineraries for us to visit Normandy beaches and museums, and offered good restaurant suggestions. She is fun to visit with, and takes great care to be sure you have met the other guests. It is obvious she cares about the comfort and positive experience of her guests. Even though the weather wasn't great, we wish we'd had more than three nights. We'd go back in a heartbeat, and will treasure our memories of Moulin du Hard. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: We loved the spaciousness of The Red Room. (Yellow and Blue rooms looked lovely, too--just not as l...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FourWinds_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plano, Texas
Level Contributor
111 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed November 13, 2012

This is quite simply the best B&B I have ever stayed in. Helene is a most gracious hostess, and is completely unobtrusive yet completely available for any needs. Our group of 10 took over the entire property and we loved it. Every detail is French Country perfect! The rooms are large and lovely, and the surroundings are beautiful. Helene serves a nice breakfast and will help guide you as to the myriad of options the Normandy area has to offer. It's location to Bayeux and the surrounding area is fantastic, yet you feel miles away from civilization. Can not recomend it highly enough.

Room Tip: The Red Room was my favorite
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Malcolm G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed October 16, 2012

The place is gorguous. It is calm and well-decorated and yet close to Bayeux. We spent two nights with Helene and tasted the most delicious yoghurt. The rhubarb jam made by her is unforgettable as well. Helene is so kind that she has even offered to do the laundry for us without charging us anything. Even if you are not planning to go anywhere, walking in her garden and feeding the sheep is fun. I simply enjoy having a cup of tea in the meeting room after going out for the whole day. It is so relaxing. Helene has given us lots of privacy and space in her place, which can hardly be found if one stays in a hotel.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TeresaKissKiss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Subles
3.3 mi away
Hotel Churchill
Hotel Churchill
#4 of 21 in Bayeux
1,099 reviews
3.3 mi away
Villa Lara Hotel
Villa Lara Hotel
#1 of 21 in Bayeux
925 reviews
3.4 mi away
Grand Hotel du Luxembourg
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
Hotel Chateau De Bellefontaine
3.2 mi away
Hotel Tardif Noble Guesthouse
3.1 mi away
La Tour Louise
La Tour Louise
#4 of 30 in Bayeux
298 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Moulin de Hard? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Moulin de Hard

Property: Moulin de Hard
Address: route de Saint Paul, 14400 Subles, Bayeux, France
Location: France > Normandy > Basse-Normandie > Calvados > Bayeux > Subles
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Subles
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Moulin de Hard is on edge of Bayeux (5km), ideally situated to visit D-Day beaches, and one hour from Mont Saint Michel and Deauville.A beautiful 18th milhouse with 4 luxuary rooms.All rooms have their own bathroom. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Moulin de Hard reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Moulin De Hard France/Subles, Normandy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing