We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent B & B”
Review of Moulin de Hard

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Moulin de Hard
Ranked #1 of 1 Subles B&B and Inns
Reviewed July 13, 2012

What a wonderful Bed & Breakfast. Close to Bayeux, yet peaceful and serene. Helen Fichot was a wonderful host. The Red Room was large by American standards and with the water running all night it was quite peaceful. We left the windows open all night and it was wonderfully cool. We will definetly stay here again when we return to France. The Normandy region was absolutely beautiful. As other reviewers state, a car is a necessity if you stay here, but driving in France was quite easy, especially if you like round-a-bouts!

Room Tip: Helen has a list of quality restaurants on a table by the door. We ate at three and they were the b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hobbyhorse55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (96)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

63 - 69 of 96 reviews

Reviewed May 9, 2012

I knew I wouldn't be alone in praising this place to the heavens - but, at the risk of being boring - I'm going to continue!!! If I was to give any advice to anyone who is choosing accommodation in this part of Normandy, I would say that no photo, no web site and nothing that anyone can write will come close to actually being at Moulin de Hard. It is a haven of rural peace and has a unique charm. Reserve a room ASAP!!

This too has been said - the location couldn't be better, just a short, short drive out of Bayeux but totally rural - and close to so much French culture and history. And yes, the Moulin is exquisitely furnished - my parents stayed in the red room, which is really special. We had the yellow room which was bright and gorgeous. The big room downstairs which overlooks the mill stream is wonderful. There are playing cards and a chess board and beautiful objects and books to look at and we spent a few late evenings feeling very comfortable there. Tea and coffee making is available downstairs, and this does invite you to use this communal space more than you might if the tea things were in the room.

The warm and homely kitchen is where breakfast is served around a big table - and the breakfast is truly superb and very traditional.

Of course, the Normandy countryside is filled with B & Bs - and I'm sure many of them have some of the above ingredients ... but only the Moulin de Hard has Helene! Her warmth and genuine concern about your comfort, and the way in which she tirelessly helps you to get the most out of your stay in Normandy are the best ingredient.

She's a wonderful hostess, and that's what makes Moulin de Hard hard to beat!!!

Room Tip: If you have a special occasion to celebrate or are treating someone to a stay at Moulin de Hard, I t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bibs28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 24, 2012

We stayed for three nights at the end of March and wished we could have stayed for three weeks! This is the finest B&B we have ever stayed in. The restored mill exudes character and the rooms are both spacious & impeccably furnished with antique furniture. Madame Fichot is a warm and hospitable host who goes out of her way to welcome you into her lovely home and make your stay perfect. Located in the quiet countryside just outside of Bayeux, it's the perfect location for your visit to Normandy. 'Do not' miss this place. My only reservation is that the more people who know about it, the harder it will be for us to get in the next time!

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rboren
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 23, 2011

My husband and I are staying here at the moment and it is one of the most beautiful places to stay and a wonderful B&B. A great find. It is set in the French countryside 10 minutes from Bayeaux. You need a car to stay here, but it is a beautiful renovated old Mill with the most amazing gardens, ponds and the rooms are huge and tastefully appointed. Helene our host is a "class act" and extremely helpful. We would highly recommend this as a 1 - 7 nights stay when visiting this region to see the most amazing tapestry or see where the battle of Normandy took place.. Bateaux is a quaint and lovely town -absolutely worth a visit!

Room Tip: All rooms are great
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank kazzie242
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 13, 2011

We are staying at Moulin de Hard right now and it is so good I don't care if we don't see anything else in this area. The location is perfect - only 8 km out of Bayeux and the setting is "to die for". I am sitting beside the biggest window in the guest sitting room looking at the horses grazing and a running stream whilst sipping a wine.
It is seldom everything connects in an accommodation choice but this one certainly does. The setting is superb and perfectly described by the previous reviewer. Presentation is perfection plus and hospitality by Helene - warm, welcoming and extremely genuine.
We have booked for 3 nights and I am worried it will go too quickly.
Even with the short drive to Bayeux i would rate this delightful property as a "must stay" if you are researching this area.

Room Tip: Easy to locate if you are using a GPS.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Terry C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 4, 2010

I simply cannot recommend this bed and breakfast enough. It is simply fantastic. If you have a car and you plan to stay in Bayeux, you MUST stay at this place. The pictures on the website do not do it justice. The entire place, inside and out, is just gorgeous.

It's a 7 minute drive outside of Bayeux, a little difficult to find, but once you get there, you never want to leave. The place is an old mill converted to a bed and breakfast situation on a farm. As you drive up the long drive, you see sheep, cows and horses. The stone structure of the mill is between two streams so all you hear at night is the gentle running of water. There are gorgeous flowers all over the building and the inside is amazingly decorated from Helene's own trips around the world. I spent a good hour just looking at all her things.

Rooms are exactly like they are in the pictures, but better. The pictures don't tell you how quiet the place is, or how the light comes into your room just right, or that you will be lulled to sleep by the sound of water flowing in the stream. You'll wake up refreshed to a breakfast of homemade croissants and preserves that Helene makes each day.

Helene does speak English but it is limited to hotel details and tourism around the area. She is very pleasant, though, and does an excellent job at making you feel welcome. Our only gripe? That we couldn't stay here longer! We just had no idea it would be so awesome. It was the highlight of our Paris, Normandy, Amsterdam, Sweden trip.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jenny M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 15, 2010

My husband and I, along with a few other friends stayed at Moulin de Hard for a week in June. I was concerned that the property was outside of Bayeux, but it couldn't have been more perfect. The location was great. It was less than 10 minutes outside of Bayeux (by car) and the property, inside and out, was MAGNIFICENT. The rooms were huge and the entire house was decorated beautifully. Helene Fichot, owner and operator, could not have been more accommodating or charming. Helene makes her own bread, yogurt and preserves to serve each morning. Delicious. We loved our stay and can't recommend this place enough!

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank tdeetodd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Subles
3.5 mi away
Hotel Chateau De Bellefontaine
3.4 mi away
Grand Hotel du Luxembourg
3.1 mi away
Hotel Le Bayeux
Hotel Le Bayeux
#4 of 21 in Bayeux
1,409 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
Hotel Churchill
Hotel Churchill
#6 of 21 in Bayeux
1,207 reviews
3.2 mi away
Hotel Tardif Noble Guesthouse
4.4 mi away
Chateau de Damigny
Chateau de Damigny
#1 of 2 in Saint-Martin-des-Entrees
285 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Moulin de Hard? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Moulin de Hard

Address: route de Saint Paul, 14400 Subles, Bayeux, France
Location: France > Normandy > Basse-Normandie > Calvados > Bayeux > Subles
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Subles
Price Range: $142 - $213 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Moulin de Hard is on edge of Bayeux (5km), ideally situated to visit D-Day beaches, and one hour from Mont Saint Michel and Deauville.A beautiful 18th milhouse with 4 luxuary rooms.All rooms have their own bathroom. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Moulin de Hard reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Moulin De Hard France/Subles, Normandy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing