We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Welcoming and comfortable”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Grand Hotel de l'Esperance
Ranked #2 of 13 Hotels in Lisieux
Certificate of Excellence
Chatham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
122 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Welcoming and comfortable”
Reviewed August 10, 2012

With very friendly, polite and helpful staff together with it's central location the Esperance is a good place to stay. Although the rooms are on the small side - especially the bathroom - they are kept clean and provide the necessities of a hotel - a comfortable bed. As part of a coach tour we had menus which I presume were put together specifically for us but this is not a criticism. We had a choice of two starters, two mains and two desserts each night. The food was well cooked with the chef adding his/her own spin on the meal. Although not to everyone's taste I thought the food was excellent given the rates that must have been negotiated by the tour company. I have no hesitation in recommending this hotel.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank John H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

145 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    49
    64
    12
    14
    6
See reviews for
29
64
5
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Bexley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed June 13, 2012

A family owned hotel, the staff are very helpful and rooms small but nicely decorated and comfortable. I went with my elderly father and they got a wheelchair for him to use whilst we were there. Although not well adapted for the disabled (no ramps etc) they carried the wheelchair up and down the stairs for us and arranged a step for dad to access the shower. The restaurant is very good too but a little pricey (however most of the decent restaurants in the area are surprisingly pricey for France!). The hotel is central and a short walk from most of the St Therese attractions, the market and the shops. I booked by phone and asked quite a few questions about the area, all of which were answered by the staff who also speak very good english.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kiddo50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guildford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed July 31, 2010

As a transit stop this is a good value,central, comfortable and presentable hotel. Rooms are small but adequate (shower room but no tub). .A gratis safe is a comfort though Lisieux is a peaceful and secure spot. The hotel's location is good (although a street side room can be a bit noisy) and most attractions are within easy walking distance. We found easy pay/display parking in the street was convenient although the hotel's own offstreet adjacent parking would probably be a better bet at Euros 10 per diem. Reception staff were pleasant and helpful (Samantha is English but has lived in Lisieux for many years).The dining room is enormous but was not tested by us although it seemed popular with one of the US touring groups which uses the hotel as a transit hotel.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Imholidayman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 29, 2010

The Grand de l'Esperance in Lisieux, France immediately attracts the visitor. Walking up the few steps and pushing open the door of its elegant entrance brings the guest to a warm greeting at the welcoming desk. The key to your room is presented. The restful color in newly decorated rooms helps overcome jet lag and begins a vacation or pilgrimage in the footsteps of St. Therese. An unequaled spread for breakfast starts the day joyfully. Tasty meals served in a smartly appointed dining room delight the palate. The friendly staff brightens the day at the hotel located in the centeer of the sights made famous by St. Therese. Year after year I return most pleased with everything at the Esperance. K.M. Loughman NY USA

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank napzs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed September 22, 2009

Don't expect any comfort from this hotel. It is 2 star and very basic. On a trip to Lisieux with my mother and aunt to trace the footsteps of St. Therese we booked this hotel online seeing pictures of nice looking rooms and we were expecting it to be basic enough. However on arrival, the snooty manager checked us in, we were on the 3rd floor and when we opened the door of the room we were shocked. This hotel was decorated in the 1950's it seems and nothing has been done to update it since then and our room looking nothing like the pictures we'd seen on the internet. We had 3 single beds which were very uncomfortable. The sheets and bedding were clean. The bathroom was clean and adequate although we nicknamed the shower the 'sharp shower' as the little spray that was coming out was like needles! There was a television mounted near the ceiling with a few french speaking channels. A small wardrobe - we ended up using 2 chairs to store our clothes. There was one plug socket right beside the door handle so we had to let our camera battery charger 'hang' from this. Breakfast wasn't great. The interior design of the hotel is gaudy with flourescant lighting. We ate in the restaurant on the first night and it was dreadful. The service was ok but the food was disgusting. We were given some bread and pate to start - it was like cat food, I had to spit it out. The main courses had no flavour whatsoever. We parked in their garage at a charge of €9 per day. The hotel is in a great location and has huge potential if it were redecorated and the staff were given smiling lessons. We had booked in for 4 nights, but left after 2. On the second day we found an incredible restaurant around the corner called 'Aux Acacias' on 13, Rue Résistance. It was quite simply the greatest meal we have ever eaten! The service was impeccable, the restaurant was quaint and beautiful and the prices were fantastic. This restaurant was the highlight of our trip!

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JCarbonara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed September 5, 2009

The building looks lovely on the outside but on entering it is without atmosphere. Our room on the fourth floor bore no resemblance to the photographs on the web but it was clean and functional. We were awakened throughout the night by the lively mice in the attic. This activity increased when the pigeons began playing on the roof in the morning! Ariving down to breakfast at 9.45 (breakfast ends at 10.00 am) we were greeted by a woman who was clearly not happy with our time of arrival. She duly showed us where we could make our own coffee and boil our own eggs!! This has the potential to be a great hotel -the building is lovely and well situated - but it neds a lot more effort from management and staff.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Toowrist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sussex
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 15, 2009

A large hotel with a family-run atmosphere, this really is a good place to stay! Centrally situated, very welcoming, comfortable rooms and a very good restaurant. Groups are well catered for from the initial enquiry to the actual stay. Particular requests are efficiently handled, the staff feel committed, and look after their guests with a personal touch – none of the detached attitudes of the big chains. Since I last stayed here around 12 years ago, it has improved enormously. We left with happy memories.

  • Stayed May 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Communar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lisieux hotels
1.7 mi away
Ibis Budget Lisieux
Ibis Budget Lisieux
#1 of 13 in Lisieux
343 reviews
1.5 mi away
Hotel Mercure Lisieux
Hotel Mercure Lisieux
#6 of 13 in Lisieux
243 reviews
0.2 mi away
Comfort Hotel Cathedrale Lisieux
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel La Coupe d'Or
Hotel La Coupe d'Or
#7 of 13 in Lisieux
46 reviews
1.6 mi away
Premiere Classe Lisieux
Premiere Classe Lisieux
#4 of 13 in Lisieux
155 reviews
0.2 mi away
No photo provided
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel de l'Esperance? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel de l'Esperance

Property: Grand Hotel de l'Esperance
Address: 16 boulevard Sainte Anne, 14100, Lisieux, France
Location: France > Normandy > Basse-Normandie > Calvados > Lisieux
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 13 Hotels in Lisieux
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Grand Hotel de l'Esperance 3*
Number of rooms: 100
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your Grand Hotel de l'Esperance reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Lisieux

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing