We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disgracfull!”
Review of Hotel de l'Europe

Hotel de l'Europe
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Lisieux
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hotel de l'Europe
Ranked #12 of 13 Hotels in Lisieux
Reviewed May 30, 2012

This hotel is a disgrace! In my room there was no bathroom light or lock, this was made worse by the dead cat in the shower. The food was very poor and inculded RAW chicken and was served by a 3 year old waitress! One night the vegiterians got nothing but rice. The beds were rock solid and i hurt myself jumping on it. Overall Very Poor Indeed!

Room Tip: Just don't go!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank TheCube1998
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (9)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

2 - 8 of 9 reviews

Reviewed May 23, 2012

This hotel had to have created 5 of the worst days i have experienced in France, we had pulled up outside of the hotel to see a broken sign and also that it was 1 star and last rated in 2004. There was no help in this hotel as there was only 3 staff members. As soon as me and my group walked into the reception we noticed a very uncomfortable sofa and a broken and unhygenic refrigerator, filled with canned drinks, i hoped things would get better but then I entered my room, the beds weren't made, the pillows were lumpy and worst of all there was fesces spread across the bathroom radiator, me and my room mate were scared to even get a shower, we went to somebody with a cleaner bathroom, but even then it was hard. My main problem had to be the food, there was 3 members of staff bringing uncooked and shop bought food, the only thing anyone ate was bread as it was the only thing that could be eaten cold and everything else was uncooked. On one of the days we recieved chicken and rice for our evenin meal, I immediately took a bite out of my chicken drumstick to find it was pink and still bleeding, I did not continue to eat my meal as i was disgusted at the level of effort put into our food, many of us got mcdonalds when we had left as we were so hungry. If it is bad they only had 3 members of staff, it's worse that 1 of these 3 were 10 years old, there was also a dog which was constantly in the kitchen, or near us whilst we were eating. I have come to the conclusion i will not be visiting again, i hope this review has helped with your hotel decision

Room Tip: Don't go
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank Oliver V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 23, 2012

this hotel allows you to have a pleasent stay using expesnive ROCK HARD bedding and -5 star food. The workers who are around the age of upcoming pubety are always helpfull bringing chicken legs (cooked rare) and EVERYTHING is bought from the local supermarket. Enjoy the fine musicaly squeek from the bed as you lie on it and enjoy the sound of a dog barking from the room bellow. BUT WAIT, vegatarians are still included in the wonderfull package! THEY GET RICE WITH DOG HAIR IN IT! furthermore, enjoy a slice of stale rock hard bread! :D Also enjoy showers while mould surrounds you filling the air with a wonderfull sent of rotting dead skin! i hope this is helpfull, ENJOY YOUR STAY AT THE WORST HOTEL EVER!!!!!!!!!

Room Tip: no good rooms to stay in unfortunatly
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank GusTheFox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 17, 2012

I went with my school on a trip. The first inpression said it all: a broken TV, a fire extinguisher hanging off a wall, and a damp bathroom. Our beds weren't made. All food was shop bought, and there was always a dog in the kitchen. The waitress was ten years old. We paid 10.50 per evening meal and as an example we got served a chicken leg with rice. The vegetarians got rice on its own. After every course we got plain baguette after every meal. The beds were rock hard and it was VERY NOISY. I wouldn't wish that 4 night stay upon anyone

Room Tip: All rooms are awful
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
12  Thank Henry C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 17, 2012

We were in disgust when we stayed at this hotel last July for a school trip. The location was okay, but overall, the cleanliness was awful, the food was stale and the rooms were not cleaned to perfection.

Room Tip: Dont stay here, pay the extra and go for a nice hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank jamesewoods
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 2, 2012
Google Translation

Room Tip: les chambres doubles sont économiques
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Matthieu G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 3, 2012
Google Translation

  • Stayed: September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Ben G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lisieux hotels
1.6 mi away
Premiere Classe Lisieux
Premiere Classe Lisieux
#4 of 13 in Lisieux
186 reviews
0.4 mi away
Comfort Hotel Cathedrale Lisieux
0.2 mi away
Grand Hotel de l'Esperance
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Ibis Budget Lisieux
Ibis Budget Lisieux
#1 of 13 in Lisieux
381 reviews
1.8 mi away
Hotel Kyriad Lisieux
Hotel Kyriad Lisieux
#6 of 13 in Lisieux
23 reviews
1.5 mi away
Hotel Mercure Lisieux
Hotel Mercure Lisieux
#5 of 13 in Lisieux
290 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel de l'Europe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel de l'Europe

Address: 34 rue de la Gare, 14100, Lisieux, France
Location: France > Normandy > Basse-Normandie > Calvados > Lisieux
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 13 Hotels in Lisieux
Number of rooms: 24

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing