We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Treasure in Giverny”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Giverny
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Les Jardins d'Helene
Ranked #1 of 14 Giverny B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Tucson, Arizona
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Treasure in Giverny”
Reviewed June 9, 2013

I stayed at this lovely B&B with my friend on our grand european adventure. We were warmly greeted by Gilles in the early evening when we arrived at this treasure in the most charming village imaginable. Our double suite was perfect with our two rooms and separate baths. The view from my room looked past a lilac to the misty hills of the countryside. It was decorated in lovely french country style with an ambiance of warmth, and beauty I will dream about for years to come. It is situated on a quiet road lined with lovely old homes and the most wonderful restaurant "Hotel Baudy" where we dined on delicious French cousine before walking back through a neighborhood filled with gardens of brightly colored flowers. Our breakfast was memorable and Gilles was the most attentive of hosts making the morning meal both delectable and enjoyable. I would highly recommend this gem in the village that is home to the wonderful house and gardens of Monet that we came to experience, just a short walk away.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cindy A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

528 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    456
    65
    3
    4
    0
See reviews for
107
308
11
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed June 5, 2013 via mobile

Thank you Gilles for a wonderful host in your home. We enjoyed the decorated room, the great breakfast and the spoiling bathroom. The b&b is really a gem in this village. Also many thanks for your recommendations And tips for the area. Hope to visit there again in our next trip.

Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank barakl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed June 3, 2013

We had a warm welcome at Les Jardins d'Helene last week. The B & B is beautiful and comfortable with a lot of authenticity. Our hosts were warm and kind and spoke English. Breakfast was delicious, the garden was beautiful, and everything was perfect to set us up for a great day at Monet's home and garden, just a few minutes away.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sarah R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviewed June 2, 2013

I highly recommend this lovely B&B. We arrived behind schedule and very jetlagged from New Mexico. Gilles, the owner, could tell that we were very tired from driving and navigating our way to Giverny. He asked us if we would like some tea? He served us Darjeeling tea with chocolate in the living room and we met his cat Absinthe. He recommended that we not go to the garden that evening because we would be too tired. He recommended a really good restaurant for us to eat at that night. We stayed in the family suite which was lovely and suited our needs perfectly. The rooms were so quiet we did not even know there were other guests at the B&B. We met the other guests over breakfast. The breakfast was divine with homemade jam, honey, croissants, and yogurt and fruit. The other guests were friendly and fun, we enjoyed meeting them. Gilles sold us tickets to the garden which saved us a LOT of time, even if you get to the garden when they open, there is already a long line. We were able to skip to the front and go in right away. Gilles helped us with our parking for loading and unloading luggage and gave us a safe place to park during our stay. He helped us with a fast checkout too. I only wish we had spent more than one night so we could take advantage of all the very relaxing nooks Gilles and Claire have set aside in their large yard/garden for people to stop and smell the roses so to speak. With a nice bottle of wine, it is really a nice place to hang out. We actually stayed in May 2012 and I am very belated in writing this review.

Room Tip: I like the family suite for friends -- there is one room with twin beds and the other bedroom has I...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mojuba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guernsey, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed June 1, 2013

Have just returned from a wonderful stay at Les Jardins d' Helene. We stayed in the two bedroom family suite which was perfect for our needs. The rooms were quiet and comfortable. Gilles was a fantastic host and a true gentleman he arranged tickets for Monets Garden to help us beat the queue and even organised some wine and a toast to help celebrate a special birthday, all this and he provides amazing breakfasts too, outstanding. The place is within twenty minutes walk of some nice restaurants and the gardens themselves. Would happily stay here again and have no hesitation recommending Les Jardins d' Helene to anyone.

Room Tip: Get tickets from Monets GArdens from GIlles
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank David R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Poole, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
48 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed May 29, 2013

we stayed one night at Les Jardins d'helene to see Monet's Garden which is just a short walk away. We had the most beautiful ground floor comfortable bedroom with the most gorgeous and unusual bathroom I have ever used. We were greeted by Giles and made to feel so welcome, I had no idea that staying a b & b could be this luxurious. The breakfast did not disappoint either, truly French. I wish we had more time to enjoy the charming garden, I am so looking forward to return one day.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Amanda N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson, Arizona
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed May 26, 2013

My friend and I stayed one night. We were in the family suite, which was perfect. We had 2 bedrooms and a bath to ourselves. The rooms were a nice size and the beds were comfortable. I couldn't hear anyone else in the house. The views from the windows are fabulous. Gilles is a wonderful host. Breakfast was so relaxing, you didn't feel rushed at all. The house is on a quiet street at the opposite end of Monet's Gardens. It is about a 20 minute walk down a quaint village road. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AZreader
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Giverny
1.0 mi away
La Musardiere
La Musardiere
#2 of 2 in Giverny
272 reviews
0.5 mi away
Le Jardin des Plumes
Le Jardin des Plumes
#1 of 2 in Giverny
281 reviews
1.6 mi away
Hotel Normandy
Hotel Normandy
#1 of 3 in Vernon
220 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.8 mi away
Domaine de la Corniche
Domaine de la Corniche
#1 of 1 in Rolleboise
1,023 reviews
3.1 mi away
Hotel Restaurant Baryton
Hotel Restaurant Baryton
#1 of 5 in Saint-Marcel
102 reviews
0.4 mi away
La Dime de Giverny
La Dime de Giverny
#6 of 14 in Giverny
89 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Les Jardins d'Helene? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Les Jardins d'Helene

Property: Les Jardins d'Helene
Address: 12 rue Claude Monet, 27620 Giverny, France
Location: France > Normandy > Haute-Normandie > Eure > Giverny
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 14 B&Bs / Inns in Giverny
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At the gates of Normandy,75 kms from Paris, Giverny the heart of Impressionism offers beautiful landscapes and the charm of the french countryside. Definitely "givernoise", this house, once known as 'the house at the beginning of the village', then the "gatekeeper's house", "the milkman's house" and finally the 'mayor's house', is now a one of its kind bed and breakfast.Les Jardins d'Helene are open all year long, and a one hour drive will take you to Honfleur, Deauville (sea side) or Versailles, and you'll find castles, gardens, parks in the neighborhoods.Bicycles are at you disposal for a short ride or more if you prefer the Greenway. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing