We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Friendly, beautiful”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Giverny
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Marie et Gilbert Therin B&B
Ranked #7 of 13 Giverny B&B and Inns
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
28 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Friendly, beautiful”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 2, 2010

Very friendly and nice. Mr & Mrs Therin did ecerything they could to keep our visit as pleasant as possible. Great breakfast with delicious homemade jam, fresh fruit, youghurt. A very nice place to stay at.

Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank JeanneDiamond
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

152 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    142
    9
    0
    0
    1
See reviews for
20
113
6
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
363 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 147 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 31, 2010

Marie and Gilbert were the hosts you can only dream about. They were born to run a B&B! What incredible value-for-money. Marie's home-made jams for breakfast on hot croissants are only a small part of the spread which arrives on the table. All the fruit from which the jams are made is home-grown and the table cloths hand-embroidered! I had a fractured ankle when I arrived and Gilbert rushed off to get me an ice-pack and a little stool for elevation purposes. They couldn't do enough for me. Marie sold us discounted tickets for the Monet Museum and the House and Garden, so we didn't have to queue. Our room extended out onto an outside terrace, where we ate our breakfast and where we relaxed on lounges enjoying the garden which was beautiful and well-tended by Gilbert. We highly recommend a visit to Giverny and Monet's Garden and Home and staying at Marie & Gilbert's when you do.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Houlihan2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 28, 2010

Marie & Gilbert were the perfect hosts. Their house was beautiful and spotless. The breakfast was plentiful a beautifully presented. We had a lovely time. I would recommend the Baudy Hotel to eat, it's only a short walk away. Go early to Motet's garden it is worth it.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LondonPandDlondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 24, 2010

We had the pleasure of staying here for one night only and felt like we went to visit our grandparents - Marie & Gilbert were so welcoming, perfect hosts and put on the most amazing breakfast. We so wished we could stay another night. Such lovely people, fab location and great room. The garden is gorgeou to sit and enjoy the summer. Would highly recommend to all out friends. Make sure you get you tickets to Monet's garden & the impressioninst museum from then as it is 3.00E eachcheaper than at the door and no cues.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cruzo08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 6, 2010

We spent 2 nights here in early June. Marie and Gilbert were excellent hosts in their private home. Our bedroom/bath was quiet and very private (private entry off a nice patio area in the rear of the house). A fantastic breakfast served on the patio the first morning (including homemade jams) was delightful. A little rain the second morning made breakfast in their dining room a unique experience, as we were able to see their beautiful furnishings. Marie and Gilbert obtained tickets for us to Monet's gardens and house. I can't tell you how much this was appreciated, since we were able - at their suggestion - to by-pass the extremely long line of people waiting to purchase their tickets. Although English was not a common language, we were able to communicate adequately. The entire experience was delightful and we highly recommend Marie and Gilbert Therin B&B.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank paull523
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 5, 2010

I read about this B&B on trip Advisor last year and it had high reviews, I certainly wasn't dissapointed..
Marie and Gilbert welcomed me like family, it was really lovely to feel so cared for when travelling alone, they made sure my stay would leave beautiful lasting memories and it certainly has.. They welcomed me into their lives in Giverny, with still giving me privacy.
The cottage is just divine, and the breakfast and little etcs leave you feeling very special.
I loved Giverny not only for the stay at this B&B and Monets garden and home, but for the beauty and pride they take in their village, I certainly reccomend you staying if you just would like to relax and escape from the hustle and bustle of the cities you will leave with some lovely memories....

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Zberry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northern Ireland
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 29, 2010

This is an idyllic spot, a comfortable, spotless bedroom and bathroom full of thoughtful items to accommodate every guest's needs. Marie and Gilbert are the most delightful couple, helpful, kind and offering to do anything they could to make our stay as enjoyable as possible. Marie makes three different homemade jams to die for.....!! and she sets a delicious breakfast outside in the little courtyard, looking onto a gorgeous garden on a bright, sunny morning. Gilbert, with a twinkle in his eye, adds a truly French sense of humour. A really memorable experience staying with them.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lilyflora
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Giverny
0.8 mi away
La Musardiere
La Musardiere
#2 of 2 in Giverny
4.0 of 5 bubbles 252 reviews
0.3 mi away
Le Jardin des Plumes
Le Jardin des Plumes
#1 of 2 in Giverny
4.5 of 5 bubbles 266 reviews
1.8 mi away
Hotel Normandy
Hotel Normandy
#1 of 3 in Vernon
3.5 of 5 bubbles 208 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.6 mi away
Domaine de la Corniche
Domaine de la Corniche
#1 of 1 in Rolleboise
4.0 of 5 bubbles 945 reviews
0.2 mi away
La Pluie de Roses
La Pluie de Roses
#5 of 13 in Giverny
5.0 of 5 bubbles 253 reviews
0.4 mi away
Moulin des Chennevieres
Moulin des Chennevieres
#4 of 13 in Giverny
4.5 of 5 bubbles 210 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marie et Gilbert Therin B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marie et Gilbert Therin B&B

Property: Marie et Gilbert Therin B&B
Address: 43 rue Claude Monet, 27620 Giverny, France
Location: France > Normandy > Haute-Normandie > Eure > Giverny
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 13 B&Bs / Inns in Giverny
Number of rooms: 1
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Marie and Gilbert welcome you in a country setting surrounded by the song of birds. The property is located in the heart of the village, near the church where the Claude Monet's tomb is and at a few steps of his famous house and gardens. Nearby you will find the "Musée des Impressionnismes" showing very interesting exhibitions. The large double bedroom with bathroom is facing the garden and the hill and is very quiet! It benefits from a private access and a sunny terrace for relaxation . When the weather is fine, you will enjoy tasting the delicious and copious French breakfast with homemade jams. Private and free parking on the property. Possible welcome at the Vernon - Giverny station, on request. Italian spoken Free WIFI ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing