We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A relaxing and delightful stay at a great place in a beautiful location”
Review of La Pluie de Roses

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
La Pluie de Roses
Ranked #7 of 14 Giverny B&B and Inns
Reviewed September 28, 2010

My daughter and I had a wonderful couple of nights at La Pluie de Rosesin Giverny, its located just a few minutes stroll from Monets house and gardens and the Museum of Impressionism. Our room was cosy, intersting, comfortable and very French. The garden was wonderland, and Philippe and Elisabeth's two little dogs were a delight. The service of our hosts was impeccable, charming, friendly and unobtrusive, and breakfast in the conservatory added to the experience. we thoroughly enjoyed our stay, and look forward to when we can return.

  • Stayed: September 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank pamantone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (260)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

122 - 128 of 260 reviews

Reviewed August 22, 2010

Excellent b&b, very nice owners. 3 guest rooms, comfortably furnished. Updated bathroom with jacuzzi. Lovely petite jejune breakfast on enclosed deck overlooking rose garden and pond. Just a 10 min walk to Monet's Garden/Home. One hr drive to Rouen, 3 hrs to Bayeux and invasion sites. Owner speaks English well and was helpful with dinner reservations outside of Giverny. Gated parking on site. Very good value. Highly recommend.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank barryhgt2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 11, 2010

We stayed in this charming accomodation for 2 nights while visitng Giverney. A taxi was easy to and from Vernon, probably easier than the bus. We were made to feel so welcome and enjoyed the garden and wonderful library. A few outdoor eating places just down the road made the stay even more enjoyable. Breakfast was wonderful overlooking the garden.Our room upstairs was very clean and attention to detail always appreciated.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Frankofile
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 12, 2010

Stayed for 1 night on our way down to the Loire Valley. The Owners are very charming and very attentive. We visited Monet's Garden which is a 10 minute walk away. The rooms are very pretty and clean with nice bathrooms. All in all a lovely B & B with lots nice touches.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MaudeHertfordshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2010

We stayed at La Pluie de Roses in order to visit the Claude Monet garden. We had considered other places, especially in Vernon, France. They had advertised that Vernon was within walking distance of Monet's Garden, but we found that it would have been a very long walk. Therefore, we were very happy we stayed at "A Shower of Roses". The house is very comfortable, and located very close to Monet's garden, the very interesting church, the museum, and several very good restaurants. The garden at La Pluie de Roses is worth seeing in itself. It's well planned with several separate areas for sitting in the sun, shade, walking, whatever. The view from the rear of the house is spectacular.

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rca010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 2, 2010

This is where my husband brought me as a surprise to celebrate a special birthday. It was exactly what I wished for. When we arrived out host offered us a cocktail and tourist information. The bed and breakfast is a short, extremely pleasant stroll along a lovely road to Monet's Garden. In May, flowers were blooming everywhere (including the red poppies) and the birdsong was amazing. The B&B has a large and lovely garden with a pond and many excellent places to sit and read, paint, or just idle. We had a very private, very large, room with a comfortable bed and direct access to the garden. The breakfast was abundant and the table setting pretty. The hosts invited us to a party in their garden and we were able to meet and converse with a number of Giverny residents.

If you are going to Giverny by train, be sure to check bus/taxi connections. We arrived in Vernon at about 5 pm and had trouble getting a taxi to Giverny.

All and all, a lovely bed and breakfast in a charming village.

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank McKinleyMac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 2, 2010

Rather than subjecting oneself to a day trip from Paris or as part of some massive and impersonal bus trip , one needs to be in the right frame of mind to visit the gradens of Monet. That can only be achived by arriving the evening before and staying at a lovely home in a beautiful setting. To truly enjoy the Giverny that Monet loved, "La Pluie de Roses" is just the place to rest and acclimate before venturing out. Elisabeth and Philippe were superb hosts. The grounds were peaceful and secluded, and the rooms were welcoming and nicely decorated. It is a great base from which to operate, as Philippe can provide passes to the gardens and house that save you from standing in huge lines. It is also walking distance to some very nice restuarants, at which Elisabeth was glad to reverve us a table- luckily, as the Hotel Baudy was very popular for dinner. Because Elisabeth had recommended us - we were treated like friends and regulars.

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lebouvier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Giverny
0.5 mi away
Le Jardin des Plumes
Le Jardin des Plumes
#1 of 2 in Giverny
296 reviews
0.9 mi away
La Musardiere
La Musardiere
#2 of 2 in Giverny
288 reviews
1.6 mi away
Hotel Normandy
Hotel Normandy
#1 of 2 in Vernon
234 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
Hotel Restaurant Baryton
Hotel Restaurant Baryton
#1 of 5 in Saint-Marcel
107 reviews
5.8 mi away
Domaine de la Corniche
Domaine de la Corniche
#1 of 1 in Rolleboise
1,091 reviews
0.4 mi away
La Dime de Giverny
La Dime de Giverny
#6 of 14 in Giverny
93 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Pluie de Roses? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Pluie de Roses

Address: 14 rue Claude Monet, 27620 Giverny, France
Location: France > Normandy > Haute-Normandie > Eure > Giverny
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 14 B&Bs / Inns in Giverny
Price Range: $157 - $221 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Old property from the beginning of the last century, tucked away between the valley and the hills, in the middle of an outstanding environnement, "La Pluie de Roses" sleeps lightly in a park (6000 square meters) planted with various resinous trees and rose garden.Elisabeth and Philippe Chauveau, the new owners, after an entire renovation,welcome you in a romantic atmosphere. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your La Pluie de Roses reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing