We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellant B&B in Giverny”
Review of La Pluie de Roses

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
La Pluie de Roses
Ranked #7 of 14 Giverny B&B and Inns
Fairford, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Excellant B&B in Giverny”
Reviewed August 25, 2012

Stayed for 2 nights in July, we highly recommend La Pluie De Roses. Having stayed in Giverny before this was the best so far, Phillipe & Elizabeth were really good hosts. Lovely breakfast, we had the Garden room which was very clean and comfortable with self catering facility provided. Lovely garden and within easy reach of restuarants and Monet's garden, Would recommend this B&B with two delightful hosts.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Keith E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

254 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    218
    29
    5
    0
    2
See reviews for
38
160
5
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed August 21, 2012

This was a great deal for your money! Beautiful grounds and our room was fine. The owners have two pretty dogs so this might not be the place for you if you have allergies. We walked down the street to a lovely dinner at Roseraine Ancienne. We ate outside on their pea gravel patio and the food was wonderful!

Warning: This hotel is HARD to find and my GPS didn't help AT ALL. D5 is the main street/hwy you will be driving on the get to the B&B. The signage and main entrance to the hotel is on a street "parallel" to this road. If you are on D5 going toward Monet's birthplace turn left to get up to what is really rue Claude Monet. I had read in an earlier review that the B&B was hard to find so I am not sure why the owners don't do a better job of giving directions! It took us an extra 20 minutes to find the B&B from D5.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AtlantaHappyTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 20, 2012

We highly recommend the La Pluie de Roses in Giverny. We enjoy our stay there very much. The place is beutiful and magical. The owners are very welcoming and helpful and their Hospitability is commendable. To sum up we highly recommend. Rachlin Family.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank E R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ponteland, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed August 8, 2012

Excellent 4 night stay with helpful and friendly hosts Phillipe and Elisabeth. Good breakfast, beautiful and clean accommodation. Restful and private shaded gardens a great feature in 30C + summer heat. A lovely area to visit too! High standards all round.

Room Tip: All rooms superb.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Andrew_M460
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brattleboro, Vermont
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed July 31, 2012

We agree with the many comments from other guests that Phillipe and Elizabeth's B & B is perhaps the finest we have ever stayed in. And because it is so beautiful and welcoming there is a "danger" that you don;t want to leave the gorgeous surroundings of gardens and deck chairs and a very comfortable and pretty bedroom. Moreover, the breakfast is fantastic as is the setting one has it in - nice opportunity to chat with the other guests. Both Phillipe and Elizabeth are charming and gracious hosts and each night the guests are offered a glass of wine on the terrace- a nice way to start the evening before going into town for a dinner at one of the great, small restaurants. It is also located far enough away from Monet's gardens/house that you can avoid the hubbub of that scene (after returning from a visit there yourself !). We highly recommend a stay here - it is just a 48 min. train ride to Vernon from Paris and a short and inexpensive cab ride to their place .

Room Tip: All 3 rooms are beautiful- it was difficult to decide which one to choose!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dianeml57192
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed July 25, 2012

We could only stay for one short night, but we absolutely loved this B&B. It was my husband's first time at a B&B and I told him he needs to lower his expectations from now on because this is the nicest one I've ever stayed in. The house is adorable, perfectly quaint, and totally French down to every last detail. Our room was very comfortable and roomy, and the bathroom was large and had an unexpectedly modern and nice shower. Breakfast was delicious- we loved the Camembert, apricot tart, bread and jams, fresh juice and fruit, and delicious granola. All in all you can't go wrong with this place.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank principessa320
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed July 16, 2012

Our stay last week was fantastic. Although we only stayed for one night, we were enchanted by the house. Philippe and Elizabeth were wonderful hosts, and the breakfast was incredible! The house is immaculate, and homely, and the room we stayed in was beautifully decorated. Their attention to detail is what made our stay so special, from lavender soap and cotton buds in the bathroom, to bottles of water on the dresser. I would highly recommend La Pluie de Roses, if you are travelling to Giverny.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jo S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Giverny
0.5 mi away
Le Jardin des Plumes
Le Jardin des Plumes
#1 of 2 in Giverny
281 reviews
0.9 mi away
La Musardiere
La Musardiere
#2 of 2 in Giverny
272 reviews
1.6 mi away
Hotel Normandy
Hotel Normandy
#1 of 3 in Vernon
221 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.8 mi away
Domaine de la Corniche
Domaine de la Corniche
#1 of 1 in Rolleboise
1,024 reviews
3.2 mi away
Hotel Restaurant Baryton
Hotel Restaurant Baryton
#1 of 5 in Saint-Marcel
104 reviews
0.4 mi away
La Dime de Giverny
La Dime de Giverny
#5 of 14 in Giverny
89 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Pluie de Roses? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Pluie de Roses

Property: La Pluie de Roses
Address: 14 rue Claude Monet, 27620 Giverny, France
Location: France > Normandy > Haute-Normandie > Eure > Giverny
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 14 B&Bs / Inns in Giverny
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Old property from the beginning of the last century, tucked away between the valley and the hills, in the middle of an outstanding environnement, "La Pluie de Roses" sleeps lightly in a park (6000 square meters) planted with various resinous trees and rose garden.Elisabeth and Philippe Chauveau, the new owners, after an entire renovation,welcome you in a romantic atmosphere. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your La Pluie de Roses reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing